1994 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 3.1 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

When it rains, I get leaks on the front driver and passenger side.

Check engine light comes on when driving at or above 55 mph.

Early morning in the winter the electric locks make noise and will not lock/unlock.

The set trip calculator never worked since I had it.

The back brakes started locking up at approx. 156,000.

My heating core needed to be replaced at approx 120,000.

Tie rod replaced at approx. 157,000.

Other than that, normal things such as tires and brakes and such...

Love the car, main concern is the back brakes locking up and no one seems to know what it is.

Also a bit worried about the leak.

All other stuff I can definitely live with. We also have a 95 Beretta, which is also a great car, has the exact same issues.

Overall, they are both very dependable and great to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2010

1994 Chevrolet Beretta z26 3.1 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Just bought the car and went on a mountain drive and we we're able to pass other cars doing 120K.

General Comments:

Handled like a dream and had the performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2006

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Base C/L V6 3.1L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance122200 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Reliable, sporty, and is a good drive.

Faults:

At 118,000 miles, it over heated and needed radiator fluid.

New front brakes at 111,000 miles.

New brake lines, also shocks were gone/rusted away by 105,000.

Burns a quart of oil every 2 months.

When wet/damp the power locks do not work.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever driven! It has required only minimal maintenance. After going through 2 Dodge Daytonas (and thousands in repairs for them) the Chevrolet has been a better quality, less costly and more reliable drive.

The v6 performs above expectations, is quick to go and handles even better with the addition of an anti-sway bar. With mpg 24+, it is very economic.

However it has on a few occasions turned over, drove for a few seconds and then died. The cause of this is still unknown.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2006

1994 Chevrolet Beretta 4 cylinder, 2.2L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder, 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

I'm disappointed, I was expecting a good American car, but now I've lost faith in our country

Faults:

It leaked anti-freeze for a while once, it did this a few times actually, then I had the heater core replaced and it was fixed.

Seats have worn terribly, they're all ripped up.

It had all kinds of electrical problems, I've gone through 2 CD players, whenever I used the defrost, the power locks would stop working, a lot of the little inside lights went out, the heat and air stopped working, the fan that normally blows the heat and air only worked a few times and hasn't worked in a very long time, the brights never worked, I had the started replaced and the new one broke within 4 months.

General Comments:

It is a terrible car, other than the fact that it gets good gas mileage.

Nothing worked and it was incredibly unreliable. I never knew if it was going to start or not.

If you want good gas mileage in the crappiest package it comes in then buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

1st Jun 2006, 11:18

What do you expect out of an eleven year old car with 165,000 miles on it?? I hate to tell you that with the exception of the heater core, the rest of your problems sound pretty minor to me. If you want perfection buy a brand new car.

1st Jun 2006, 18:45

Any car of that age and mileage is liable to have those problems. If it was a new car your complaints would be justified.

1st Jun 2006, 22:28

I thought your car had low mileage seeign that how you were complaining, but seeing your high mileage...geez. I would just suck it up and be happy. Plus how hard is it to change a few light bulbs that burn out???

2nd Jun 2006, 13:07

And do us all a favor, don't lose your faith in the US over the crappy Beretta.

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3100 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carnone none

Summary:

This one can steal your heart

Faults:

Alternator died after jump starting a corolla (probably my fault)

Heater Core leaked, replaced for $120.

Leaks Coolant, top it up once every 3 months

Probably heater core leak. (again)

Left-turn flasher does not flash anymore.

Car overheated once and a coolant pipe sprung a leak. This was due to a bad coolant temp sensor. Replaced sensor and pipe.

Radiator fan sometimes does not come on (temp rises above 50%). I turn on the A/C to force it to come on.

Normal wear (plugs, brakes, A/C freon)

Shocks and Struts are very weak, Will not replace now...

Wiring is a bit low quality on this car, a few electrical problems (radio, clock, turn signal)

Doors freeze in the winter, handles can easily break off if forced.

Dashboard is warped with the Florida sun.

No car repair shop can set the alignment right!

(its only a little off)

Check engine light comes on when decelerating from 55mph, this is due to a bad EGR valve and/or a blocked EGR passage. (Tried cleaning the passage twice to no avail)

Water leak from unknown location, rear carpet gets about a half inch of water. Front carpet is soaked too.

General Comments:

Love it even though it has quite a few minor problems. Learnt to live with them.

Get between 19 and 21 miles/gallon in the city.

Styling is cool.

Overall quite reliable.

Very good acceleration when floored, gets upto 110mph easily. (governor is set at 110)

Very strong body, however there is a know issue with missing side panel reinforcement on this year model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

30th Apr 2006, 22:14

Reviewer here, Just wanted to add...

- Interior roof lining sagging everywhere, Took a hooked needle and thread and fixed it :)

- 3 of the V6 spark plugs (rear ones) are really difficult to change. Alternator change is not a simple matter either, there is a trick involving getting leverage with a long metal rod.

- Wheel bearings starting to go bad, left rear at 11200, right front at 115000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews