1994 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Chevrolet Beretta larger 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission larger 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Spectrum

Summary:

Two Thumbs Up

Faults:

Replaced the alternator at 90,000 miles.

Replaced the clutch at 120,000 miles.

Replaced the Battery twice (once as a result of alternator issues).

Heater core Replaced at 160,000 miles.

Three brake pad and caliper replacements (more than likely my fault).

Minor oil and coolant leaks.

Major wear on drivers seat, otherwise upholstery has fared well.

Minor rust spots on the interior of the door runners.

Spoiler and roof paint fading.

General Comments:

More than I ever expected for what I paid for it. having bought a 5 year old car, I never expected to be still driving it seven years later. There are little things here and there that aren't quite right, but they've almost become like "personality quirks". My Beretta has been reliable, quick, even fun and a car I trust to get me and my family where we need to go safely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2006

1994 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

This Beretta is the Chosen One

Faults:

I blew the transmission at 94,000 miles because I was too rough on it at first.

The alternator quit at 110,000 miles.

The front tires always go bald for some reason or another.

General Comments:

This car is sweet in every way imaginable.

I have upgraded it several times with no problems.

I have an intake and dual exhaust featuring flow-master mufflers.

It also was very easy to install a killer audio system as well as z26 rims.

The car is getting old, but even with its high mileage, I have never lost to any Honda Civics or Accords.

I love messing with the import kids, just put your toys away, American cars all the way!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

19th May 2005, 23:33

Our family bought a 1989 Beretta new in that same year. While it has required work to keep it in good condition, it is an excellent vehicle.

30th Apr 2006, 22:07

That balding may be due to unbalanced tires, or a bad alignment.

5th Jul 2006, 11:32

I have the same issues with my front tires on my 94. It's a front wheel drive vehicle... Glad to hear you like your car!

1994 Chevrolet Beretta 2.2 Liter from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Good, reliable, fun first car

Faults:

CV joint needed to be replaced at 55,000 miles.

Coil pack blew at 79,000 miles.

Clutch went out at 81,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has been a really good first car. I've only had minor breakdowns. The clutch did go out on me (but that was partially my fault). I did blow a coil pack on my way home from school once and I drove home on 2 cylinders. The CV joint boot was cracked when I first got the car. Other than that the car has held up really well for it's age and it is still running extremely well. The valve cover it leaking lots of oil, but that's normal in a Chevy. I just need to get around to sealing it. It's very fuel efficient, and it's pretty quick. I've won against a lot of civics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Coupe V6 3.1 SFI V6 4-speed Automatic from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI V6 4-speed Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

A Memorable First Car

Faults:

The transmission was a little funny at first. Dealer serviced it on request prior to purchase and we never had another problem with it.

The A/C failed about a week before we traded it in, after two years of perfectly frigid operation. We were told that it needed a new compressor. GM wanted $796, our mechanic wanted $500-$600.

Alternator failed, a common issue on most GM cars. The alternators are not strong enough. We bought a replacement from Auto Zone that came with a lifetime warranty for a little over $100.

A lot of fuses blew due to the person at All-tel plugging the phone system into the wrong fuse causing an overload. Fixed easily though, and not the fault of the car.

General Comments:

I wasn't interested in this car when I first looked at it because most of the Berettas that I had seen were beat-up trash cars. However, mine was an ultra-clean one-owner car.

Mine had EVERY option except for the flip-up roof, and they all worked without error! I had power everything, cruise control, ABS, 4-speed automatic, 8-speaker sound, CD player, A/C, theater dimming interior lights, rear deck lid spoiler, power trunk release, and it was a non-smoker. (All of these things are big for a 15 year-old). It was also bright red. I enjoyed the front reading lights in the rearview mirror too.

Upgrades by the previous owner included 17" Cobra R rims, and a K&N air filter. The car did not need anything else. It had the looks and more than enough performance to back them up. It never returned less than 27 MPG with me either, and I had, and still have, a heavy foot. I typically got more like 29-30 MPG out of this car.

I beat so many Mustang GTs and Camaros off of the line that it was insane. The car seemed to have a perfect power/weight ratio because it had no problem hauling ass. It was smooth and quiet while doing so, too.

My friends always wanted me to drive when we went out because I had the best car, and mine did not even cost as much as some of their cars did! People used to think that we'd paid 3 times as much as we did because the car looked like it was brand new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2005

7th May 2005, 16:30

You probably took a few V6 Mustangs and Camaros, but try not to over-state the performance of this car. It might say the K&N filter can add up to 20whp on the box, but it doesn't actually do that.

9th May 2005, 18:57

To the comment above: Are we a sore Mustang or Camaro owner? 1994 happened to be the year that GM stepped up the performance for all Beretta engines. The V6 increased in horsepower by about 45 since its introduction in the late 80's. My Beretta held it's own against my friend's Mach 1 Mustang, especially around the curves.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews