1994 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Very reliable, and fuel efficient

Faults:

When I bought the car it had a bad transmission in it. We bought a used one that had a little less miles on it than the original.

We do have leaking in the passenger compartment when there is a heavy rain. Still not sure where it is coming from.

The driver side seat is worn to the point where we are having it replaced.

General Comments:

I love the handling of this car. It has the perfect balance, to the effect that there is barely any body roll.

I love the safety qualities of this car.

It is sporty and roomy at the same time.

I would recommend that if you want a sporty looking car, that has the same qualities as the sedan, that you buy this one.

The car has been very reliable. We drive it at least 200 miles just on the weekends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1994 Chevrolet Beretta 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

It is better than taking the bus

Faults:

The vehicle runs well enough for the purpose of taking the kids to school or going to do the food shop.

Items that have been replaced:

Air conditioning system-one time.

Alternator-three times.

Battery-three times.

Fan motor-one time.

It leaks coolant and oil.

Transmission reacts slow while reversing.

General Comments:

The interior is faded and tearing.

The lining of the overhead area is sagging.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

3rd Mar 2006, 16:39

All of the problems that you listed are minor.

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Unbeatable value with a little style to boot

Faults:

Water leaks into the passenger compartment through the heater box during heavy rain.

The transmission is a little hesitant to shift out of overdrive, making highway acceleration a bit sluggish.

My A/C system has a slow leak and the compressor clutch is noisy, it rattles and scrapes until it heats up.

General Comments:

An excellent vehicle for the money. In only 18 months of ownership, I have put over 53,000 miles on this car (and am currently driving it through its second Western New York winter), and aside from normal maintenance (brakes, fluid changes, etc) I haven't had to fix a thing - reliability has been unbeatable.

The oxide coating used on these bodies makes them unbelievably weather resistant (there are parts of my under-body that have had the paint scraped away, and yet after one salty Northern winter and another underway, there's not a speck of rust on the bare metal, nor anywhere else on the car). Also, it appears that GM fixed the peeling paint problems that plagued earlier models, because my original coat, though badly scratched in some areas, is still intact.

The 3100 V6 runs like a dream, a perfect blend of power and fuel economy; I use this car to pull a twin jet-ski trailer in the summer and it doesn't bat an eye.

The body and interior are smooth and aesthetically pleasing, not those of a full-blown sports car, but much more tasteful than a bare-bones economy vehicle.

The cargo area is surprisingly roomy for a mid-size sedan, and the front legroom is ample. The rear seat is cramped for the average adult, but all seating in the car is comfortable and supportive.

All in all, this is an excellent general purpose vehicle that appears to be very durable and well designed; I have driven this car extremely hard, and it has not required a thing in return except for a minimum of normal maintenance. I'd recommend one to anyone who wants a step up from a pure economy car without paying a lot more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

5th Jul 2006, 11:38

Very thorough review! Sounds like you are pleased with this car. You are not the only Beretta driver that has previously driven a Dodge Daytona!

1994 Chevrolet Beretta v6 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles

Summary:

The 3.1 V6 is the best all-time bang for your buck

Faults:

I had to replace the crank shaft at around 110,000 miles. The heating and cooling system has been a minor problem, right now I have no a/c.Other than that, I have had no major problems.

General Comments:

I bought this car for 8900 dollars. I would have to say I have gotten my money's worth out of it. I do not think there has ever been or will not ever be a better all around car. I wish my next car could be a brand new Beretta just like mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

More than the sum of its parts

Faults:

This car has been very reliable. The previous owner kept detailed repair and maintenance lists, and the only recurring problem is a transmission that sometimes will not engage reverse for a minute if cold (overnight). A slight warmup is all that is needed.

General Comments:

This car has a fine engine, and a low curb weight which makes for surprising pickup. I also drive an 11 second street car, so I know the difference between "fast" and "noise". The interior is standard Chevy, but has held up surprisingly well for an almost ten year old car.

The real beauty of this car is what cannot be seen. The car handles well, has great pickup, and possesses what has been proven to be a bulletproof platform for reliability and safety. I trust this car to my wife and son knowing that the terrific brakes and standard airbag will keep them safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1994 Chevrolet Beretta Base Coupe 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82500 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Wish I had bought something else

Faults:

Replaced the battery 2 weeks after buying.

Replaced 2 parking lights one month after buying.

Horn doesn't work, even after taking it to two places to have it "fixed".

Driver's seat track broken, seat would not stay in place, kept rolling back (bad thing when you're on the highway).

Many things that were not the cars fault: backed into by old couple, dented the driver's side door. Backed into a garage, ripped the driver's side mirror off. Pulled over by police for having "loud exhaust" which was on the car when I bought it.

General Comments:

This car is cheap and economical.

Slow to respond, but of course, it is now 7 years old.

Front seats are very uncomfortable; flat and offer no back or leg support.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews