1995 Chevrolet Beretta Z-26 3.1 V6 from North America


Right when I bought the vehicle (used) I had to replace the turn signal lever, a ball joint on one side, and a few vacuume hoses under the hood.

Replaced the other ball joint at about 105 thou. and both tie rods.

Spark plugs and wires. Coolant drain and flush along with the transmission at 112 thousand.

General Comments:

This car is just a solid, sporty piece of work. Drives like a dream every day of the week. After the intake and exhaust upgrades it sounds like a beast. A awesome first car, and enough to please any motor head.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

1995 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1L V6 from North America


A high performance


The alternator had to be replaced during the initial warranty period.

The accessory belt needed replacement after 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has excellent acceleration and handles extremely well at high speeds.

The only modification made to the car was the replacement of the steel wheels with 15" cast aluminum wheels and Michelin Pilot tires which better suit the car's performance abilities. This minor modification is necessary to appreciate what this car can do. The stock wheels and tires held back this vehicle's performance.

After 106,000 miles, this car and every component works as well as it did when brand new. Living in a very warm environment, I have never even had to have the A/C serviced. It still blows very cold air! This alone is a testament to the uniquely sound construction of the vehicle and all of its components.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Base 2.2 from North America


Great first Car!


Problem with air conditioning.

Needed new head gasket at 82,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great pick up, I'm also oddly enough a volunteer fire fighter and I have recently bought a Beretta.

Handles well.

Good gas mileage.

Quite reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Beretta 2 Door Coupe 2.2 - 4 Cylinder from North America


It runs and feels great!


Just under the 3 year - 30,000 mile warranty, I had to have the transmission rebuilt. I split the cost with the dealer ($1000.00 my cost)

In the year 2001, I had the transmission rebuilt again!

Replaced the brakes and bought new tires.

In 2003 bought new spark plugs and wires.

Again in the year 2003, another transmission.

Believe when I say "I am not tough on the car".

Besides the transmissions and the normal wear and tear items, This is a great car!

General Comments:

I bought this car brand new from my local car dealer. I am the original owner.

I love this car. It runs and feels great!

As with other comments on similar cars, it is fantastic in the snow. This car is very dependable. The seats are starting to show a little wear, but it adds character. The engine is very peppy and rides smoothly. The steering in nice and tight. What can I say, This is a great car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

5th Jan 2012, 19:39

If your Beretta was under the 3/36 warranty still and it was not a clutch (which is a wear and tear item), it should have been replaced for free by the dealer!

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 3.1 Litre 6 cylinder from North America


A gorgeous beauty with performance to spare


Power Steering hose broke at 117,000 miles.

Driver side door handle was broken when I got bought her. Had to replace it, cost me $110.

Check Engine light keeps turning on for no reason, I've had it checked.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. I have no complaints. I love my Beretta and expect to own for the rest of my life.

This car is seriously quick and the sport's suspension makes it a smooth and fun ride.

The Beretta handles like a dream, makes it hard to spin out.

The body is gorgeous. I have never seen a more beautiful lady in black. I get tons of compliments from friends and neighbors. Its slick and sharp design makes it the most beautiful car on my block. My hat goes off to the designers.

This car is built like a tank. A very strong and durable body.

A great first car, cheap to maintain, not too bad on gas for a V6.

The seats are comfortable and durable. Even after 8 years they still look like new.

The backseat is small.

However the trunk is huge. Fits all my guitar gear with room to spare.

I highly recommend the Beretta. Cheap and easy to maintain. A great first car for any new driver, or just a fun ride for anyone who enjoys great speed at a cheap price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

21st Oct 2004, 06:48

Beautiful car. Everyone I know loves my car. I agree with everything mentioned, the gas mileage, maintenance, body style, and the suspension. The Beretta should be made again. A word of advice, when installing a larger, more powerful stereo, upgrade the alternator.

28th Feb 2005, 12:00

Hi thanks for writing a great review, I test drove a Beretta Z26 the other day, and I was astonshed at the acceleration that the car had. I agree that it is a very attractive car. After reading this review and a few others, I am dying to get one! Thanks a lot!