1995 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 from North America


Great Entry car


Really I have had no problems with my car. My parents owned it before the only thing that went wrong is transmission went bad at 80,000.

General Comments:

This car is a great first car or second. My car looks great it looks the same as the day we bought it. This car has good handling and great acceleration and can easily pass any one on the high way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.1 from North America


A better car than the Stereotype dictates


I went thru numerous alternators in this car. I bought it with a bad alternator. I had alternators last anywhere from 9 months to one drive cycle in this car. I later decided the cheap-o Wal-Mart battery had a loose plate, and it would short sometimes, burning out the diodes.

The radiator clogged my first month at college. I had some old man do the deed, and he didn't get all of the cleaning chemical out of the tanks. I started the car, and as soon as the chemical got all thru the system, the seal in my water pump was eaten up.

I put brakes on the car all around, and replaced a rear wheel cylinder on the driver's side.

The intake gaskets leaked oil, but I never got around to fixing that. Had I kept the car longer, I would have fixed the leaky suckers.

I broke a door handle on the outside, which didn't surprise me at all.

General Comments:

This was a peppy little car. Most people give Beretta's no respect, but this car would run right along side my little brother's Probe GT that was 2 years newer, and 4 times the purchase price. It didn't handle well, but he never passed me that I couldn't catch him.

I spent a lot of time and money on this car. I had a Flowmaster muffler installed, built a K&N cold air intake, and had a stereo with 2 amps running all the speakers. I put a guage cluster out of a Z26 in the car, since the Base model didn't get a tachometer and full instruments.

I hated to get rid of this car, but I bought a pick-up and really didn't have a use for it anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.1 V6 from North America


Great looks, cheap and fast!


Needed plugs/wires/sensors and fuel injectors to stop engine from surging.

Needed new ignition lock assembly.

Just put on new alternator.

Driver's seat back upholstery is rotted.

New brake pads at 70000.

General Comments:

The V6 Base Beretta has nice handling & swift acceleration.

Other than tune-up items, it has been pretty reliable.

It is fun to add features to; I have installed custom wheels/16" tires, tach dash, solid grille, performance muffler, K & N filter, putting Z26 seats in later this month. Very easy to work on, I do it all myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 V6 3.1L from North America


An excellent value


Remote electric trunk release sometimes does not operate.

Daytime running lights are always on.

Back seat has hardly any legroom.

General Comments:

This car has power and can easily pass anyone on the highway. Cruise control at 80 feels slow.

It's an extremely solid feeling vehicle, but not clunky. The doors are very heavy and substantial.

Nice suspension; it has a good blend between performance and a smooth ride.

Bucket seats are 4-way adjustable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

29th Sep 2004, 02:11

The "Daytime running lights are supposed to be on, that is why they are called daytime running lights."

21st Oct 2004, 06:40

I have a used 1995 Beretta Z26. The only problem that I have come across, is the belt tensioner. One day I started the car and it just broke. Excellent car in all other ways. If adding a speaker system I recommend upgrading the alternator.

1995 Chevrolet Beretta GT-Z26 3.1 Litre from North America


Solid Power


I have had to replace the Alternator five times in the eight years I have owned 'The Beretta'. Although I don't think I can entirely fault GM. The 500 watt stereo system, cellular telephone, and alarm system I had installed were likely more than it could handle. Since removing said stereo and telephone, the problem seems to have been vanished. Voila!

I had the transmission rebuilt at 80,000 km, but thankfully this was covered by the extended warranty.

One of the front fog-lights burnt out at around 100,000 km. Unfortunately, because of the Z26 body trim, I am unable to access the bulb unless I remove the front bumper.

I can't seem to get the parking-brake to work. Each time I change the rear brakes, I have to loosen the cable to allow the wheel to turn freely. This then means the parking-brake is too loose to engage.

And now I think I have a problem with the lock-up torque converter. Whenever I come to a stop with the car still in gear, the engine revs low and creates a low rumbling noise. I believe this is because the torque converter is not disengaging the transmission when stopped.

General Comments:

I have to say that GM built a pretty solid car! I had previously owned a '94 Beretta until it was destroyed in an accident. I was t-boned at a four-way stop by an early-eighties Camaro doing a police-estimated 90 km/h. The car was a write-off, all the windows were smashed, the side of the car was pushed-in beyond the width of the wheels and I was removed from the vehicle via 'The Jaws of Life'. All five passengers were unharmed, other than some cuts-n-bruises, and a great deal of shock. So, when the insurance came in and the dealer said he had a '95 Beretta available, I bought it.

Now, as this is my 'first' car (excluding the four months I owned the '94), I must admit I beat the **** out of it (as one look at the exterior will prove). It's been through more torture than any vehicle deserves, and it won't stop kicking. All I've done is give it regular maintenance, and kept feeding it plenty of quality fluids. It definitely has a solid drive-train.

The greatest complaint I'd have about the car is the company that made it. Or rather the dealers that represent GM. I couldn't believe what classifies as 'Service' in their minds. Every time I see an ad for 'GM Good-wrench' I just shake my head. I've been to every GM dealer in Greater Vancouver and will never return. This car hasn't seen a GM dealer since 40,000 km., and that's probably why it still runs so well!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

3rd Jun 2004, 17:32

GM's are notorious for thier alternator problems. I went through a few in a couple of years. Always opt for the more expensive model when replacing it yourself. The price isn't that much different and you'll have less hassle later on.

Regarding the transmission issue. I had a similar problem with my Beretta. Took it to a local shop (it was long out of warranty by that point). He thought it could be the solenoid (sp?) that was the problem. Turned out to be nothing more than pieces of a filter screen that had broken off and gotten stuck in the solenoid. Ended up getting out of the shop for under $200.

If you have a transmission shop that you trust you may not have a major problem if you get it taken care of relatively soon.