1995 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1 V-6 from North America


This car was a high priced wanna-be sports car


My motor mounts broke one week after I got the car.

The transmission does not want to shift smoothly.

General Comments:

This car has worn and hardly no leg room for the passenger.

This car is fast and handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

11th Feb 2007, 08:53

You can't very well blame those very problems on the car itself. The motor mounts maybe have been improperly installed if previously replaced. Also, someone could've been hard on the car and ran it in the dirt which could cause some transmission problems.

1995 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1 from North America


The Beretta is a performance sleeper!


I had to replace my alternator at least 3 times.

Replacing the front brakes every 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

The Beretta performance and handling is quite adequate for its style, the 3.1 V6 engine has one of the highest horsepower and torque ratings in its class. I wish Chevrolet hadn't discontinued the Beretta.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

10th Apr 2004, 00:51

If you are replacing the brakes every 20k miles, take it from someone who's owned a 1992 3.1 Beretta for 10 years, it's probably your master cylinder which is filled with sludge and causing the calipers to stick, causing the rapid wear. I know, I did exactly the same thing for 4 years before it was diagnosed.

1995 Chevrolet Beretta 2 door 2.2 from North America


A great car, good, long lasting, I will keep it forever or till it blows up!


Hmm, well the heater core went out, the water pump cracked, and the radiator cracked as well. It was determined that it was a block in the water lines that caused this to happen (darn old STP sealers).

Tape player jammed up (it happens when coke gets spilled into it).

General Comments:

I am a volunteer fire fighter and I need a good car. The 95 Beretta has been a good car and it has plenty of horse power. I have never had a problem with going from normal driving to Code 3, she runs like a dream and is built like a tank.

I was hit in the side by an 18-wheeler @ 65mph, slammed into a wall dividing the freeway, and all it did was body damage. Estimated cost of repairs from that was $800.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

26th Feb 2004, 17:39

I also have a 1994 Chevy Beretta Z-26 with the 3.1 litre engine. Great car!!! And, I was reading the crash test reviews on another website and they rated it 5 stars, which is probably the reason why they didn't change the body style for so many years. Also... where are the inlet lines to the heater core for the hoses? Mine were by-passed by the previous owner, and I can't seem to locate where the hoses go. Any help would be ever so helpful!!! E-mail me at drummer1@stx.rr.com.

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.2 V-6 4 speed from North America


Good car as long as you take care of it


Left blinker, doesn't reset. It's a recall.

Seats ripping.

Trunk leaks after a car wash.

General Comments:

It has some serious pick up. Perhaps too much.

Due to the power that she has, the tires usually have a hard time gripping in rain or snow.

Little things break off that don't mean much until the problems compound. Then it just becomes annoying.

The rear seats seem to be cheaply made, they don't fold down but because of how flimsy they are, it shouldn't cost much to replace them.

It is a good first car. If you want to make it sporty you have a nice clean pad to work with. There are so many kits available and spoilers to choose from. They all enhance the look of the car. Keep in mind it was originally built for racing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

19th Feb 2001, 19:23

A 3.2 automatic, what kind of racing are you talking about? How about the 2.3 stick and some nitrous?

16th May 2001, 05:51

There were no 3.2's only 3.1's, and isn't a bigger engine faster???

24th May 2001, 18:01

There were 3.4's made in 96 I believe, and no, bigger doesn't mean faster, take in account the weight of a bigger engine, compression ratios and add on's like superchargers and turbo's (which you can get for the 3.1!!!) and you get an infinite list of arrangements!. At 180lbs/ft of torque and 135hp, the base 3.1 factory model (of course) is the best engine out there, Quad four's are just too fragile and have much less torque!

17th Jul 2001, 02:21

Acutally the quad4's had 180 HP and only slightly less torque than the 6's (about 150 ftlbs).

The fastest Beretta combination is the quad4 with the 5 speed stick. There are people running 14's with that and a shot of N2O.

1995 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 3.1 V6 from North America


Cheaply made wannabe sports car that costs too much to support and maintain


Suspension is bad.

Motor needs to be rebuilt.

Dealer gave me 4 bad tires, University Auto Park.

Water leaks in constantly from a factory defect, but it still smells terrible.

Transmission went out twice.

Coil, spark plugs and wires were all replaced.

Flowmaster exhaust was installed.

New fuel filter tension arm was also replaced.

Is not reliable, but looks damn good.

General Comments:

Chevrolet made this car very cheap I think. It looks very nice but performance and overall, it is a hunk of crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

2nd Feb 2001, 15:37

I too have noticed the leaking in my '95 Z26. However, it has seemed to have gone away lately.

I also have had problems with carbon building up in the EGR valve.

In general, I have found my Z26 extremely reliable. It performs very well.

11th Feb 2001, 19:45

That's funny, I bought my 95 Z26 with 59k miles on it, it now has 83k, the suspension and handling is awesome.

It looks great, and I never had any water leaking into the car, and no signs or smells of it.

It is very reliable, and still has a lot of power and the transmission is strong, you must have gotten a lemon one.