1993 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1993 Chevrolet Blazer S-10 Tahoe 4.3 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles

Summary:

Its nice when its working, but we are very afraid of our daughter being in an accident

Faults:

Fuel Emission Spider has had to be replaced.

The Valve has been replaced.

Changed Alternator.

It ran rough until we replaced the EGR valve.

General Comments:

It will lose power steering and power brakes sometimes when driving. The engine won't kill, but the steering and brakes act like it does if the engine would kill.

Currently it will not start when least expected and when we try to start it, you have to wait 10-20 minutes before trying and it starts immediately.

Our 18 year old daughter drives this vehicle and these are very serious problems, especially the loss of power steering and brakes.

The rear lock on the hatch will not open, we cannot turn it to open the door and its permanently locked. We have not been able to get into the back because of this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

7th May 2004, 06:50

I had the same problem with the rear hatch, and I had to take the whole thing apart and replace the locking mechanism. The brakes on mine are now just starting to go on the front left.

10th Mar 2012, 15:57

Regarding your Chevy Blazer truck; did you ever find out why it was not starting, and then 20 minutes later starting for you? We are having the same problem with ours, the mechanics are stumped too! Please give feedback on this truck, we are desperate!!!

22nd Apr 2013, 20:48

I have had a 1993 S-10 for many years and have worked on it myself. My truck is still running well at 533,000 miles (yeah, you read it right!!).

I think your problem is a throttle position sensor (AKA TPS). A bad TPS in this model will cause a low idle speed, which in turn will cause a "soft" brake pedal due to a loss of vacuum in the brake booster. This will make braking difficult, just like the brake shoes are bad. Also this issue will cause the engine to behave erratically with idle, and the vehicle may stall when coming to a stop.

1993 Chevrolet Blazer S-10 4.3 Liter Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Liter Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good SUV

Faults:

Fuel pump was replaced at 133,000 miles: $250.

The fuel Injector assembly (CPI), fuel lines leading into the injector and the upper intake gasket were all replaced at 133,000 miles also: $600 for the parts alone.

The 4WD doesn't always engage. I have to try it a few times. I haven't gad this problem addressed yet.

The rear window hatch squeaks which can be fixed by a piece of duct tape wrapped around the window part of the hatch.

The door paneling also rattles, but can also easily be fixed.

General Comments:

Overall I like this SUV. The 4.3 liter Vortec engine runs very well.

From reading several reviews on this vehicle it sounds like the fuel system is a common problem after 100,000 miles. The fuel injector alone costs $500. After getting the injector replaced it idles very smoothly. You can barely tell it's running.

Handles good for an SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

1993 Chevrolet Blazer S10 Tahoe Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Decent car, but too many complicated repair problems

Faults:

Car had miss at idle-ended up being a leak in intake, but $300.00 later we finally figured it out

Had to replace just about all sensors.

You name it, we probably replaced it.

General Comments:

Car is pretty good, but when something goes wrong with it, it is difficult to find the problem.

Research has found that many of these cars have had similar problems and everyone had to replace all the parts I did as well to figure out the exact problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

4th Jun 2004, 08:18

I have had problems keeping my Blazer running without dumping extra cash into it. Overall the little Blazer is a great get-around car, but when something goes bad, it seems to snowball (rebuilt engin needed at 100,000 miles due to a leaky head gasket). I also had trouble with the EGR valve. It seems like the repairs needed are always on the steep side. On the other hand, the Blazer now has 130,000 miles on it, so some preventative maintenence would go a long way to avoid more costly problems.

15th Aug 2005, 22:31

I agree, it's great when its running. Replaced the injector at 150,000, the ECM box, Fuel pump& relay at 160,000. For some reason they didn't put a screen in the EGR valve and carbon gets stuck in it. I've had it towed several times to the shop. It has somewhat high miles on it, but runs great and I would expect things to wear out, but it just all happened too close together. I really like it especially the digital dash, but I just can't trust it very far.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews