1997 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 11 of 24

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Has turned out to be a MONEY PIT

Faults:

I am the original owner of a 1997 Blazer LT 4x4 with only 54,000 miles to date.

I just ran across this site while attempting to research my latest Blazer problem – oil cooler hoses/lines leaking. As another writer put it (in response to their Blazer problems) “it is like I wrote them myself"– I sure agree!!

I will not discuss every problem that I have encountered, as that would take way too long and be redundant with other comments on this board. The two problems that occurred in 2005 (at ONLY 49,000 miles) 1) Electronic Brake Control Module replacement ($$$) and 2) rusty transmission filler tube resulting in a complete transmission rebuild ($$$$) really earned it the name – MONEY PIT!!!

Both the Dealer and Chevrolet Customer Assistance insisted that since it was past the warranty in years (not miles) they would NOT provide any assistance. I was ensured that there was no recall or problem with the manufacturing of the product. I am interested in the message on 18th Feb. 2004 that talks about a recall for the rusty trans filler tube as I never received one and was told NO by both Chevrolet and the Dealer.

GM can count me as yet another loyal customer lost to the foreign competition!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

18th Jul 2006, 20:24

To author of “Please do not waste time complaining about Rubber Hoses”… (dated 7/13/06 15:39)

Firstly, oil cooler lines are NOT a “Routine Maintenance Item” – check any GM maintenance program. Secondly, if that were the only problem I had experienced with this vehicle I would NOT have complained, written in, or given it the name MONEY PIT!!!

You neglected to comment on the two major problems I mentioned

1) Electronic Brake Control Module replacement ($$$) and 2) rusty transmission filler tube resulting in a complete transmission rebuild ($$$$) – I suppose you consider them routine maintenance as well, and would not mind paying for the replacement and rebuilding – if so, you deserve to own this vehicle and to be a GM customer.

Yes, I am realistic, and will be very realistic in my next choice of Motor Vehicles. It will NOT be a General Motors product!!!

22nd Jul 2006, 19:26

I am a recent purchaser of a used 1997 Chevy Blazer LT... it has about 140,000 miles on it... I noticed the rust in the transmission filler tube as well... any input on this would be greatly appreciated...

Concerned Mopar fan with a last resort GM product.

Thank you all.

24th Jul 2006, 19:18

To author of “Rusty Transmission Filler Tube”… (dated 7/22/06 19:26)

Replace that rusty transmission filler tube NOW!!! The rust from the tube got inside the transmission and caused extensive slippage and wearing of the gears - per the Chevy Dealer. I have read other comments on this board that have had this same problem with their 1997 Blazer. The Chevy Dealer (and GM) insisted that there was no recall and they make a good product…RIGHT!!!

So…GET THAT TUBE REPLACED. GOOD LUCK!!

It is amazing you have 140,000 miles on your Blazer!!

27th Jan 2007, 05:44

I own a 1997 chevy blazer LT with 124,000 miles on it. The truck runs great. Never had a problem with it. A couple of months ago I drove it into and on top of a guardrail and the truck continued running.

1st Aug 2007, 14:05

Had the same problem turns out the EGR valve mounted on the front of the block was leaking... BAD... never the less all of the above problems rust dip stick, 6 heater cores, oil cooler lines, upper ball joints broke in half, rear end which may have been a fault of mine not chevy for once, oh and the Dex-Cool problem, there is a class action lawsuit involved in that ordeal... But the Rusty dip stick was recalled, along with the ball joints, but if you have over 100,000 they won't fix it...

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

Chevy made this vehicle to sell, and now they must be making a bundle on the parts

Faults:

Wouldn't start on day 3, ignition switch.

Engine light coming on for no reason.

Accelerator was stiff causing vehicle to JUMP forward.

Front end needs replaced, can't even get an alignment it is so bad.

On a weekend trip had to spend night in auto parts parking lot & replace own alternator next morning.

SUV Transmission got wet in normal driving now no reverse and hard shift from 2nd to 3rd.

Ignition is now "keeping the key", so when I go to doctors appointments or work I have to keep extra key to regain entry.

Passenger handle turns "on" overhead, thief's saw my stereo and easily broke in. I didn't bother having repairs done. Now I can break in and use key stuck in ignition.

Thief's are smarter than me they won't even steal it.

General Comments:

Bought the Blazer for body ergonomics. I was in auto accidents and can't get in & out of smaller cars.

With the last of my money and money from sale of my Nissan truck I bought the Blazer. A month later I went to the Chevy dealership and they let me know that it needed $4000.00 worth of repairs. I purchased from a Honda dealership. They played me against each other saying not their problem. Most certainly mine.

Now I have no money, poor health, and this hunk of GM that barely gets me to my medical appointments.

This has been a real eye opener, you always think it won't happen to you.

I wish I had seen this site before my purchase. I will definitely check before my next!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

30th Mar 2006, 20:54

I understand this reviewer is frustrated, but he hasn't attempted to fix the problem. It does no good to ignore a problem like this and then complain of the consequences of your own lack of action. Parts break - just fix them. This is most likely an ignition switch problem or other electrical problem that a dealer could diagnose and fix in one day.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 89 reviews