1997 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 V6 from North America


After reading all the other reviews I'm a little worried about what I got myself into!


I can't really complain I bought the truck pretty cheap. However, I am having a few problems that I thought someone else may have had. First I can't get the dome light in the back to turn off. When I first got the truck the fuse was unplugged & I wasn't able to open the back gate. So we plugged it in & realized why they had it unplugged. Second there is a vibration when driving over 50 mph. The check engine light just came on and flashing transmission codes. I will take it to a shop for that to find out exactly what that problem is. Also the rear wiper isn't working, the fluid will come out, but the wiper won't move. It moved a little bit, but that was it. Is this the motor? Any help is appreciated!!

General Comments:

I haven't had it long enough to form a real opinion on the vehicle. It seems to run good and strong. It is very clean and generally so far I like it other than these few minor problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

8th Feb 2008, 14:06

I have recently purchased a 97 Blazer 8 months ago. I have had no problems so far and am keeping my fingers crossed after seeing some of the posts.

It's a great vehicle for towing trailers and handles deep snow really well.

I hope mine is the exception to what seems to be the rule.

8th Apr 2011, 19:32

I have a 1997 Blazer LT and couldn't be happier with the purchase! It hasn't let me down. I've had it for over a year, and it has 151,000 miles. Best vehicle I've ever bought!

13th May 2011, 23:39

'97 2wd, 4dr., just tuned 208,xxx on the odometer. 18 mpg in hard stop & go traffic.

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 V6 from North America


Engine st-opt running during regular driving. Light with "check gages" came on.

If you start the engine, the control panel lights, light up after 4-5 seconds instead of immediately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

27th Apr 2006, 19:42

Interestingly I've had the same problem with my truck. It was a love hate relationship. Without going into too much detail I learned that the ignition switch was the culprit. I'm not certain how, but the problem caused 3 alternators to fail. As of today, my truck runs like a champ. I hate to sell it, but I have to thin out the fleet a little.

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LT 2WD 4.3 from North America


GM and Chevy earned an A+


LT 2WD - I replace the Master Cylinder, Water Pump, Alternator at approximatly

80K miles. The Air Bag lite came on about 80K miles as well. Dealer wanted about $500 to $600 to replace the brain, I said no. This I consider normal wear.

General Comments:

The car is easy to maintain which I do myself and I follow the manual that came with the car. The engine runs strong and no other mechanical problems. I drive it 40 miles a day. I will purchase another vehicle when I have between 150k to 200k miles in approx 3 years. I get about 19-20 mpg back and for to work. About 15-16 mpg around town with AC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LT from North America


I have 151,000 miles on my blazer with the original trans.

I also have had to change the ball joints twice 75,000 & 140,000.

Water pump and air conditioner at 100,000.

Electrical window wiper at 150,000.

Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

1997 Chevrolet Blazer LS from North America


A great car to own.


I have had no problems with this car. It has been a very reliable car.

General Comments:

It is a comfortable car to drive in.

The 4-Wheel drive works perfectly.

I have had no engine problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

1997 Chevrolet Blazer from North America


Worst ever with no redeeming qualities...Don't fool yourself, don't buy domestic autos.


I had probably every engine problem that you could think of. Chevrolet did fix it every time, but came at me with "I don't know why its happening... these are good little rigs." Whatever. Besides that the driver side power window failed to roll back up and had to have the motor for the window fixed three times. Lastly I had to have the electrical looked at. Things were not operating when I needed them to, but always seemed to work at the most inopportune moments.

General Comments:

I was a student looking to purchase my first car. It looked cool and I liked it on the lot.

It took all of 2 miles to inspire second thoughts. I bought it with only 29k miles, and it ran like it had 200,000. I could not depend on the car at all. It was totally a cheaply assembled auto that Chevy must have slapped together with no regard for the consumer.

Massive engine issues, with a very spotty electrical system. When you are on hills the air conditioning cuts out and nearly quits and the engine is so loud that conversation almost has to cease until the acceleration is over.

I now have a Honda CRV and its the best SUV I have owned. Nevertheless, I will never buy a Chevrolet product again and could not reccomend the blazer or brand to anyone...ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

24th Feb 2005, 15:51


You did not even drive this vehicle before you bought it?

You don't really specify all the problems you claim to have had, and you did keep the truck for four years. Suspect that you are exaggerating the problems you had with it.

25th Feb 2005, 14:31

If this Blazer was your "first car" why does your review say you owned a Honda Accord before?