1999 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews

1999 Chevrolet Blazer ZR2 4.3 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.3 Manual

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Air intake hose split.

Front differential is going.

Passenger seat bolt stuck on mount.

Doors leak, and plastic is broken throughout the truck.

General Comments:

Great off roading, but you feel every bump.

Not good on gas in city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2013

1999 Chevrolet Blazer gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Junk... not worth it... no wonder they went broke, and Ford didn't

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong with this car? And the sight lines are extremely dangerous.

I have and still use my Ford Bronco II; well over 250,000 miles, and it still goes and goes and goes. It never had the issues that this crap of a car has had.

General Comments:

Very poor built car... and the amount of plastic in it is totally unreal... cracks in cold winters...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2012

25th Feb 2012, 11:08

It must not be that horrible if you have kept it for 13 years and put 150,000 miles on it. If it's really that bad, I would have sold it long ago.

16th Apr 2013, 17:15

He kept the Ford Bronco II. He got rid of the 1999 Chevy Blazer, which was a smart move. The 1999 Chevy Blazer is a money drain and pain in the behind.

25th Jan 2014, 13:35

I'd give this review a little more credence if the writer actually listed some of the problems this truck had, instead of "What hasn't gone wrong?".. This is more of a rant than a complete review.

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

OK car, that I would take on long trip a state away

Faults:

Oil pan gasket twice at 80,000 and 90,000, but nothing since.

Transfer case leak at 70,000.

Alternator at 80,000.

Water pump at 80,000.

Intake manifold at 90,000; typical for any V shaped motor.

The four wheel drive works well under the auto four wheel, but is making noises like tin cans; I think it's the bearings in the transfer case.

I put about 8,000 miles on it a year for 5.5 years.

Had one leak in the cooling system. Fixed it by tightening a transmission cooling line.

P.S. had all the worn out parts in the front end replaced at 98,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd April, 2011

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

It has been a terrific vehicle

Faults:

Front wheel bearing around 80,000 miles.

Heater core blew around 110,000 miles.

Vacuum lines to transfer case rotted out around 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very few problems with this car. Has never broken down or been towed, not even once.

Still has the original ball joints, shocks, steering linkage, and trans fluid even after 140,000 miles.

Just starting to burn oil after over 12 years of daily use.

Has held up very well through the salty Michigan winters, not much rust.

Interior still holding up well after many spills, rain, snow, and road salt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2011

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance183000 kilometres
Previous carGMC 1/2 Ton

Summary:

Hoping it gets stolen over night!

Faults:

148,000 - the alternator blew, leaving me stranded in 30 below weather.

149,000 - the leaf springs were apparently so worn, they could not handle passengers in the back seat.

150,000 - blew a brake line.

155,000 - driver's side wheel bearing went.

158,000 - drive shaft completely fell off with no warning.

160,000 - passenger wheel bearing went, with no warning.

165,000 - transmission blew with no warning, while 500 kilometers from home.

167,000 - every fuel filter is clogged and each needed to be changed, costing 500 dollars.

168,000 - front differential seized in the 4x4 position.

170,000 - brake caliper seized.

172,000 - seat handle broke off.

174,000 - ANOTHER passenger side wheel bearing.

174,050 - wheel bearing sensor on driver side blows, tripping off the ABS at every stop, even on dry pavement.

180,000 - while in park, key removed from ignition, and doors locked, and park brake engaged, the truck rolled down a hill 15 feet, stopping inches from another parked car, mechanics, feel it is fluke, "just don't park on a hill" they all stated.

183,000 - more problems with front differential, will need to be rebuilt.

Repairs costing to date $2600.00 for 13 months of driving!

The truck has been in the shop consecutively once a month for 13 months with other minor issues as well.

Currently, both seat levers are broken, for no reason.

The check engine kicks on when it wants.

It is stuck in 4 wheel drive.

Air bag light some times comes on for no reason.

At times it refuses to start for no apparent reason.

After 13 months, it's rusting all over, when at purchase there was not one spot of rust.

The gear indicator doesn't say what gear you're in.

The 4x4 makes a loud noise during disengagement.

4LO does not work, very well at all.

The driver window leaks.

Cool air comes around every single door handle.

EVEN THE TIRE JACK BROKE AFTER ONE USE!

The brake protective shields have rusted completely off.

Whats worse is the truck goes no where! Never seen the bush, can't take it out of town for fear it will not make it.

General Comments:

Quick good looking little truck.

Depreciates fast. After one year the truck is worth half the price I paid.

Unreliable for a college student who has a tight schedule, and having no time to be calling for a tow truck!

Will never buy another Chevy product again, am currently pricing out Fords!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2010

5th Aug 2010, 20:53

I'm with ya my friend. I have a 1999 Chevy Blazer, and I can't tell you how many times I've replaced wheel bearings, the heater (in which the whole dash had to be torn out) and too many numerous other things I don't have time to mention at this moment. I've had this vehicle for some time now, and have spent a fortune repairing the vehicle.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 80 reviews