1999 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 21 of 22

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance55700 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

The car is just OK

Faults:

Driver's side door sagging at 42k. The alternator went out after the second year. Battery replaced after two years. Right front wheel bearing went out at 55k, $600.00. Throttle cable sticking causing the gas pedal to stick.

General Comments:

The vehicle has been an OK car. It seems as though it nickle and dimes you to death right when the warranty expires. The problems I have listed are common for the blazer and GM or Friendly Chevrolet in Springfield, IL will do nothing to help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Decent SUV

Faults:

Driver's door was sagging so the pins were replaced at 38K miles

Batter was replaced when only 2 yrs old

Oil cooler lines were replaced at 40K miles

Rear rotors/pads replaced at 55K miles. Rotors were so pitted that they tore up the pads. The front pads are still original at 60K miles.

Passenger seat back recliner lever broke at 59K miles.

General Comments:

The blazer is comfortable and has plenty of room. Fuel economy is not bad for a mid-sized 4WD SUV. My reliability has not been too bad, but not great either. Overall, I like the blazer, but wish it was a bit more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.6L Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A great family

Faults:

The battery went dead when the truck was only 2 years old, but it was easily replaced.

General Comments:

This Blazer was bought as a family car that would be safe, have decent gas mileage, enough power to merge on a busy highway, creature comforts and at a fair price. It is still accomplishing these goals.

The only thing we would add would be a 3rd row seat since the blazer can easily handle 4 people or 5 in a squeeze.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

30th Dec 2002, 10:56

If you add a third row of seats it completely defeats the purpose of a mid-size SUV. If you did how much room would that actually leave you to move.

1999 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Good comfortable vehicle, with excellent miles per gallon.

Faults:

Computer went out at 12,000 miles leaving me stranded in the middle of nowhere.

The instrument cluster went out, started flashing like a pinball machine at 28,000 miles.

Now, the fuel pump is going bad at 62,000 miles. I priced a new pump at the dealership as well as other sources. The new pump will cost at least $500 dollars, plus labor. The fuel pump also failed on my '93 and '96 Blazers, but they only cost around $100. Does anyone know what makes the fuel pump so expensive on this model? It'll make me feel a lot better if it's gold plated, or guaranteed to last the next 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

I really like the ride and handling of the blazer and am considering purchasing the new Trailblazer.

However I am really concerned about getting ripped off on parts replacement costs, like the fuel pump price on my '99.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

6th Aug 2002, 19:23

I recently bought a used 1999 Blazer with 42,000 miles on it. and today I had to pay $500.00 plus labor for a new fuel pump! Henry Ford must be turning over in his grave! Cheaper cars for the masses ha!

4th Sep 2002, 02:18

Um, just thought I'd let you know, henry ford made FORDS, not Chevrolet.

1999 Chevrolet Blazer S-10 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Purchase the extended warranty or be prepared to dip into your 401k

Faults:

At 10,000 and 12,000, the seat back adjustment handles broke clean off.

Inside spare tire assembly makes more noise than a heavy metal concert.

At 60,000, ball joints needed replacing.

At 65,000, both front wheel bearings needed to be replaced.

At 70,000, full electrical meltdown.

Replaced the battery at 27,500 and 55,500.

I keep a sleeve of spare batteries for the keyless entry system.

General Comments:

I purchased the vehicle to handle heavy snow related driving and it has performed this task without hesitation.

My father advised me not to purchase a Chevrolet product as I would be endlessly reaching into my pocket, and he was dead on correct.

I no longer take the time to return my gas card to my wallet.

I am dumping this pig before it has the opportunity to create more sleepless nights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

24th Jun 2002, 21:29

What kind of gas mileage did you expect from an SUV? The Blazer's gas mileage is competitive with the other small- to mid-sized SUVs with 6-cylinder engines.

20th Sep 2002, 15:41

Where do I start with our problems with our 1998 Blazer S-10 4x4. Yes, we were dumb and did not purchase the extended warranty. We bought it used and within one week replaced the starter. Within two months both of the front seat handles that recline the seats broke totally off. At 58000 miles we had the head gasket replaced along with a $700 tune up. At 65,000 miles replaced the transmission. Now at 67,000 miles we have the tac jumping around. Did we purchase a lemon or is this standard?

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 80 reviews