1989 Chevrolet Camaro RS 2.8 V6 from North America


It has the looks of HP, but the engine is more designed for economy


Transmission would not shift out of 1st gear.

The headliner has torn spot around the T-roof.

The tilt steering wheel does not securely lock into place.

The back hatch pull down has failed.

The rear hatch shocks had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This engine is far from gutsy. You have to allow it to wind up. On the highway the speedo has hit 110mph, but not sure as to the accuracy of the actual speed.

Seems to be higher geared and is not a sprinter.

Engine will rev to redline, but under load becomes mushy - at 3500 rpm the engine has a hard time pulling to redline in OD.

Back leg room is minimal whereas front legroom is great even for those over 6ft tall.

No glove box - just center console for passenger compartment storage.

Nice to have t-roof as it adds a sporty flare.

Handles pretty well as to cornering, fairly abrupt stops, swerving actions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

26th Jul 2004, 18:10

DUH You don't redline v6 moron. Your peak HP is at 4,800rpm you should not be allowed to drive this car.

11th May 2006, 10:29

I agree the legroom up front is great for tall people. I have to also agree about the T-roof giving it a better sporty look. These Camaros are great cars my dad bought me one a little over a year ago and haven't had any truble out of it yet.

26th May 2006, 23:52

I love the car it's awesome never had a car that handles so great. no matter how fast I go into a turn or how quick I have to turn it always does it for me.

1989 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 TBI from North America


Best sports car out there today


I had to have both front wheel bearings replaced.

The transmission replaced once.

The alternator was replaced.

The back wheel cylinders burst and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is fast for a 5.0 and handles exceptionally well. I was pleasantly surprised by gas mileage, this car gets between 25 to 30 miles a gallon on the highway.

The interior is too plain and not nearly as nice as some of the foreign cars, but i'd pick it over a foreign car any day.

This car is as reliable as you could ask for, with proper maintenance you could expect this car to far surpass the 200,000 mile mark. I've had an 83 Camaro and that car is still running strong at 290,000 miles. If you're good to the car and treat it right it'll treat you even better.

The only major problem I have with Chevy is that they don't make nearly enough stick shifts and that their security system sucks. I've had problems with the computer chips in the key, but I just ran a wire from the starter to the dash and now I don't have to worry about that anymore. So this car is definitely a great piece of machinery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

2nd Jan 2004, 03:24

Fast and TBI do not belong together... Nuff said...

14th Jul 2004, 14:42

All I have to say is that there is no way that a car that is over 15 years old that can be the best sports car out there. And another thing is how do you drive an automatic any better than anyone else? All you have to do is put the pedal to the floor.

1989 Chevrolet Camaro RS Convertible 5.0L TBI from North America


This is my gunmetal baby


1 Thermostat

1 Exhaust system

1 Convertible top

2 Struts

1 Spindle

4 Tires

1 Transmission

1 Rear

2 Brake Pads.

Most of these things were changed before they actually needed to be because I replaced them with high performance parts.

General Comments:

The car handles really well, although, the high performance suspension parts I have on it help tremendously.

It's too slow, the TBI is lethargic at best. It gets great gas mileage though.

The convertible squeaks and rattles a lot more than a t-top or hardtop model.

The 700r4 automatic is very indecisive when it comes to gear changes, which prompted me to replace it with a manual.

The dash is ugly and is put together very poorly.

I love this car and will never ever sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

9th Jan 2003, 16:19

I also have an 1989 chevy camaro rs with T tops and I agree 100% with your statements about the dash and power of the motor. Good review.

13th Feb 2003, 11:34

Call summit racing at 1-800-230-3030 and get the world products heads, and the crane camshaft they recommend . It made my 89 Camaro RS smoke through a set of tires and still pass Ohio's e-check!

19th Mar 2003, 01:08

I have to agree. A set of Torquer 305 heads, a cam and an exhaust will put you nicely into the 200hp+ area. You will be able to run with auto 5.0 Mustangs, and beat them sometimes.

I own an 89 RS LO3 auto... man it is a slug. But I plan on this. Performer RPM Air Gap intake manifold, Holley 670CFM TBI, Energy cam 268, Torquer 305 heads, full exhaust, chip... hopefully that gets me up to around 270-300 area and ready for nitrous!

Go on www.thirdgen.org to find out more...