1996 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1996 Chevrolet Camaro 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Fun to drive when it's not broken

Faults:

The car has had the following problems since I've owned it:

Alternator

Starter

Water pump

Heat

Ignition coil

ABS

A/C

Tie rods

Leaks coolant and oil

General Comments:

Besides breaking all the time, the car is fun to drive, even though it is not all that powerful.

The interior is comfortable as long as you are in the driver's seat. The passenger has a big bump in the floor from the catalytic converter, and the back seats are tiny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

1996 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Sexy car with expensive parts

Faults:

Got my beautiful green 'maro at 180,000km. At 185 the transmission blew...

Had to replace 2 coil packs in the span of 1 month.

Windshield wipers from the factory were $50 a piece.

Windshield wiper arm broke in half, $80 part.

Oil was leaking into the coolant which meant new intake manifold, so I decided to sell it.

General Comments:

Beautiful sports car, mine had leather and t-roof. Had complements all the time. V6 provided decent power and decent gas mileage. Parts for the car were very expensive. Make sure if you buy an automatic with higher mileage that it has a rebuilt tranny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2007

1996 Chevrolet Camaro RS V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Its speed will surprise you

Faults:

The Clutch went out at about 128000 miles.

This is most likely due to incorrect operation of prior owner.

General Comments:

This car is without a doubt the most bang for your buck out of any "small" sports car.

It easily out powers any car in its class, and has a significant amount more power than any v-6 I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2006

1996 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.8 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fun, sporty car you can attract ladies in

Faults:

Replaced Coil Pack at 115000 miles.

Transmission started showing signs of going out at 120000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall I love this car. It's a beautiful car and I believe Chevrolet makes the most beautiful cars.

I may have to sell it soon, because I am leaving for the military next June, and I need a reliable car. The Camaro can be reliable, it's just my transmission is starting to go out (having a hard time changing gears, burnt transmission fluid) and I don't feel like putting $1200 into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2005

25th Jun 2005, 20:09

Maybe you should have changed the transmission fluid every once in a while!!!

1996 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe 3.8L from United Arab Emirates

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good value-for-money sports car

Faults:

@50,000 kms:

Check engine light came up, and car started mis-firing at speeds above 80 km/hr. The problem was traced to the spark plug cables, which got short-circuited, and was then replaced.

@60,000 kms:

Car started heating up more than usual. I ignored, and the problem got worse. I finally had to change the water-pump.

From last 20,000 kms:

Vibrations felt above 100 km/hr. My mechanic suggested change in tyres, as they are more than 60K kms old. I have yet to do that, to confirm if it solves the problem.

Apart from the above, it has been only wear & tear parts viz. battery, brake pads etc.

General Comments:

Pros:

Very good performance. crisp acceleration & can easily beat Mustangs

Excellent handling

Head turning looks

Very rugged and tough.

I suffered 2 accidents with virtually no damage to my car

Low maintenance costs. Just fuel up and change oil/filter every 5K kms.

Decent fuel economy (about 9.5 kms/ litre)

Excellent sound system (factory-fitted Delco Bose)

Cons:

High road noise.. maybe due to low profile of the car. Wind-noise also high beyond 120 km/hr

Some rattling sounds from the dashboard console

Vibrations above 120 km/hr (maybe due to tyres)

High insurance premiums (even for 3rd party insurance)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2005

3rd Jan 2006, 04:29

I absolutely agree that my Camaro V6 is good enough to beat only V6 Mustangs. But then there are always V8 Camaros to beat the Mustang GTs :)

1996 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7LT1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired91400 miles
Most recent distance93600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

The 1996 Z28 is an American icon and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

The only problems that I have with the Z28 is the interior parts, like the door switches, they are a little cheesy and fragile.

General Comments:

Other than the switches in the interior of the Z28, the car is a sleeper ready to be unleashed on any of the foreign cars. The other cool thing about the 1996 Z28 is that it looks like its little brother the V-6 so all the cars get a surprise when you leave them at the light. Plus the bolt on performance is quite vast to bring the Z28 up in horse power, if you feel the need to do that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews