1996 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1996 Chevrolet Camaro z-28 5.7L LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L LT1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Zoom zoom!! and then some

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong with the car are the water pump went at around 100k and the fuel pump went at 105. The trans needs a little work, but that is due to hard driving, other than that the car is solid.

General Comments:

The 96 z-28 with the 6 sped trans is a car you just have to drive to understand, this car is a great car to drive. For it being a sports car it has a lot of leg room and comfort for the taller people, but not really meant for the shorter people (the clutch lever is hard to get all the way to the floor). Other than that I would just say drive it and you will know what I'm talking about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

16th Jun 2004, 00:27

The 1996 Z28 is a great car, handles well, but does not like any bumps on the road or irregular pavement, one feels that very strongly when it drives over this type of roads.

LOVE the power of the engine.. really nice and is quite economical for it's size.

1996 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Fun to drive, expensive to keep

Faults:

My transmission was rebuilt within 3 months of buying.

Rear defrost works for about 20 seconds and cuts off.

Alternator was replaced at 70,000 miles.

Water pump and power steering pump replaced at 75,000.

Left outer tie-rod replaced at 75,000.

Radiator soon to go.

General Comments:

I recommend owning a fast and sporty car at some point in your life, but not a Camaro. Although I love my car and I have a lot of fun on the road with it, I'm beginning to feel like I could just give it to someone off the street because of all the problems it has. This car does have great pick up and surprisingly good gas mileage. The handling is horrible in bad weather, unless you buy top of the line tires. My suggestion - Borrow your friends Camaro and have fun for the day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2004

1996 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carChevrolet F-150

Summary:

A Z-28 without the killer insurance

Faults:

The only big problem I had with my RS was a slight rattle in the catalytic converter that was fixed with a quick weld around 120,000 miles.

I also had to replace a hydraulic trunk lift at 95,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall the car was excellent.

It handled incredibly and had power unsurpassed by any V6 I came across, especially Mustangs!

The interior was very comfortable and roomy for a sports car and the sound system superb for a factory system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

8th Apr 2005, 15:38

Would you recommend this car to someone else?

25th Jan 2008, 12:19

Please do not embarass us Camaro Z28 owners by claiming your V6 Camaro has unsurpassed power. My husband has a 2007 Maxima SE that would leave your 6 cylinder "sports car" in the dust.

1996 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A Practical Performance Car

Faults:

Had to replace hatch struts at 60,000 miles.

Had to replace factory CD player at 59,000 miles.

Had muffler replaced under warranty at 31,000 miles.

General Comments:

The 3800 V6 has great performance, and is an overlooked gem.

I've gotten 31 miles per gallon on the interstate with the air conditioning running.

My car has the performance handling package, so all it lacks from the Z28 is the 350 engine and the high insurance rates.

It does have a lot of rattles inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

19th Dec 2003, 14:56

I'd like to how a V-6 Camaro runs against a V-6 Cougar.

6th Jul 2004, 13:38

Lol a cougar it would cream it. lol your funny.

19th Aug 2004, 14:07

Yeah, the Cougar would get creamed. I would like to see the V6 Camaro go against a 1995 V6 Mustang. The Stang does have fewer horsepower and torque, but it is a lot lighter.

1996 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92500 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPontiac 1997 Pontiac Grand A

Summary:

Crazy fast for a great price

Faults:

Window panel loose on the door.

Steering wheel squeaks in turns.

General Comments:

The car has crazy torque and horsepower. It will keep up with newer LS1 corvettes.

It is also very easy to buy after market performance perts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 23 reviews