1999 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1999 Chevrolet Camaro SS 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carBuick Electra

Summary:

Fun daily driver

Faults:

Front rotors had to be replaced. Dealership refused to replace. Replaced with aftemarket slotted rotors.

T-Top lock on passenger side fell out. Had to purchase retaining lock and replace in T-Top.

General Comments:

Fun vehicle, but not for family use. Good handling and adequate power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Camaro SS 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance16700 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A stellar automobile

Faults:

The rear pinion seal leaked a few times.

General Comments:

This is the most amazing car I have ever owned. It is ballisticly fast and surprisingly well mannered in traffic. It also handles great and is comfortable.

The Camaro is definitely a big bang for the buck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

3rd Jun 2005, 21:01

I agree although I'm more of a mustang guy, I've raced many SS's in my 2000 Saleen and they've almost beatin me, and not to mention they're cheaper, but I'm partial to Stangs, but still one hell of a car for the price and horses.

10th Mar 2006, 15:16

I have owned and gone through a lot of Mustangs and Camaros in my life, starting in about the late 70's, but I recently got into the newer sports cars, I bought a 2001 mustang in the summer of '02 it wasn't quite a Saleen, but with the upgrades I have done to it, it beats the '07 Shelby's 0-60 by about 1.4 seconds, and it quarter mile, but 0.8-1.1 depending on the road condition. I love supercharger's so when I was thinking about a Chevy, my friend mentioned the Camaro, it took awhile, but I finally ran into a '99 Z-28 I've generally done the same to that as to the Mustang, but that is initially faster, but at least 1 second on everything (I haven't had the chance to take it to the track yet). Now, my mustang is pushing about 675 horses with about 720 lbs. ft. of torque, my Camaro is only about 640 horses with 665 lbs. ft. of torque, but with the streamlined design and in the long rune the Camaro is generally lighter than the mustang, which gives it a big advantage, both my cars are manual so I can give it some extra power. So in the end I like the Camaro better it is more exciting to drive that the Mustang, and awfully roomy for a sport scar.

1999 Chevrolet Camaro Convertible 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

High maintenance

Faults:

Catalytic converter had to be replaced.

Something else underneath broke after the converter was replaced, and rattled upon acceleration.

Brakes were very, very noisy - squeaked every time they were used.

Front rotors had to be machined once, and replaced once.

Rear rotors were starting to go bad.

Horn relay broke. Dealer fixed once, then it broke again after about a month.

Parking lamp day-time running lights had to be replaced three times (very difficult to do yourself)

There was a short in the alternator, causing volt meter to dip when I applied the brakes - this caused my clock to run slow and had to be reset every week to the correct time.

Passenger-side seat belt installed at factory twisted.

Fog light burnt out.

General Comments:

This car was supposed to be a blast to drive, but it was a money pit. Every time something was fixed, another thing broke. I got to the point when I stopped fixing things. The car looks great - nice wrapper, but the candy inside stinks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1st Sep 2001, 07:35

See my 1998 Z28 review (A defective piece of garbage); I would get rid of the car now before you have to start spending big bucks. Save yourself the money and the aggravation. Trade it in before it cleans you out financially. The car still falls apart even if you treat it with the care you would give a newborn child. Camaros just stink now. It's a shame.

5th Dec 2006, 17:44

I do not know what you guys are talking about, if your still guys! I have had my Camaro SS 99 now, since 2001!

Only thing that has happened to her was, I blew a front speaker, my rear end leaked, fixed it myself! If you do not like working on cars, then do not buy a muscle car!

20th Nov 2007, 10:21

Don't hate on the camaro. I got an 11 second 2001 ss and haven't had a problem that can't be fixed on its own. Lights burning out are not a problem that needs to be worried about.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews