1999 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1999 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Definitely the most bang for the buck

Faults:

Trip odometer resets every time the car is started.

A few rattles (usual for F body cars.

General Comments:

This car is hands down wins 'the most bang for the buck' contest.

With only minor modifications to the car, it has gone 13.4 @ 105mph (1/4 miles.)

The handling could use some improvement, it rolls a bit excessively in turns, however it is extremely predictable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

30th Jun 2001, 07:31

You may want to try replacing the springs with Eibachs, that's what I did with my '88 Iroc-Z and kept the stock struts. This minor drop in height and increase in stiffness made a world of difference in handling. Make sure you have upgraded tires like a "V" or "Z" rating. There's also all kinds of bars and sub-frame connectors, I did not bother though. Save the money for the gas.

1999 Chevrolet Camaro SS V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

The fastest most unreliable car produced for around $30,000

Faults:

F-body cars come unaligned from the factory with the camber not set right so the outside of the front tires wear fast in, which the dealer refused to fix.

Rear end leaked - fixed.

Rear end bearing seized and damaged the rear end - the dealer will not fix correctly.

The car has on 7500 miles on it.

General Comments:

The GM F-body cars are the fastest thing on four wheels for under $30,000; however GM can't build quality in a car for anything. Very unreliable, never know when something will give up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

24th Feb 2001, 17:48

The people who bought the SS probably owned a rice burner previously to acquiring the SS. They need to learn how to drive with an American clutch.

12th May 2001, 01:58

Rice burner, good one. The guy had a Honda Prelude so I guess somebody had a few V-tech stickers on the car with quad-exhausts and Japanese writing.

24th May 2001, 21:52

Why should people have to get used to poor quality american cars? I love the manual tranny in my Talon. Don't get me wrong I love v8's (I've owned 3 classic Mustangs), but new american cars are junk as far as quality.

18th Jul 2001, 20:53

I agree with myself in that last post. But now, I don't think foreign is ALL that bad.. I been checking out some of these Nissan Z's and Preludes and Suzuki bikes, and Isuzu's with Lotus suspension.. I dream of driving these cars, sometimes I drool.. Like the Nissan 280ZZ - whoa, that's a cool looking car, you open the hood and all that is under there that you can see is the massive inline 6.

Then Mazda RX7's, very inovative, the rotary engine... And FAST.. It's also a very cool looking car. So foreign isn't all bad.

1st Nov 2001, 20:30

I had nothing but problems from the rear differential in my Camaro and the dealer could never fix mine right either. I loved the car though, but I would not keep it very long.

16th Dec 2006, 18:08

I would like to add that I love driving my 2002 Z28.

The only problem is since I bought it new in 02', I have had the pistons, hatchback glass, headliner, window motors, rear bumper cover and yes, the bearings in the rear end replaced.

All under warranty I might add.

I think it is important that when you are dealing with Service Managers, do not take no for an answer. Tell them what you expect and make it clear you will settle for nothing else.

If all else fails, Small Claims Court is always am option.

Don't rule anything out.

Anyone driving a newer Camero payed a good price and deserves to get what they payed for.

1999 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 305hp 5.7l V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 305hp 5.7l V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

The most car your money can buy

Faults:

It was totalled when a guy hit me broadside, passenger side, doing about 45mph. The interior spaces held up surprisingly well, given the speed of the crash. Passenger would have been hurt, but not severely or mortally.

The only other problems I had (minor, minor stuff) is the factory CD changer would frequently jam up and the fuel gauge would occasionally stick.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. Luxury and performance in one low-priced package. Monsoon system is amazing. This is truly a driver's car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews