1991 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 2 of 7

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 5 litre from Saudi Arabia

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

Built to last a lifetime

Faults:

Air conditioning is now new. Everything else is OK.

General Comments:

Not a very high torque considering its engine size. Top speed could have been more than 80 miles/hour.

Still runs great, and feels like it will go on for another 200000 miles. Very reliable.

It should be retained in the family, even if you buy another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Good and Safe daily driver

Faults:

The TCC lockup started to fail, causing the transmission to be locked up in all gears. This caused the engine to run rough. I removed the TCC connector until the weather warms up to replace. The 305 burns a little oil - bad valve seals. I check it every two weeks and add as required.

General Comments:

I bought this car with only 68k miles on the clock for my wife to drive as her daily - I've heard some good things about the reliability of b-bodys and wanted a safe car for my family. This car can haul all of our luggage, our son, my wife and my own tall body - and there is still plenty of room.

Performance with the 305 is not bad - but this is no performance car. Someday I may throw in a 350/383 - but I know mileage would suffer. If I bought another Caprice, I would look for the 5.7L LT1 engine.

Parts for replacement are cheap in comparison to the Hondas I have owned.

With the deep blue color, performance tires and 9C1 wheels - it gets some looks. This Caprice has temporarily been mistaken as a police cruiser. The sheer size of this car keeps tailgaters and other bad drivers far away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2007

25th Feb 2007, 13:15

What was you gas millage like?

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Faults:

Brakes front and rear replaced at 110,000 miles.

All 4 shocks replaced at 110,000 miles.

Frame had to be re-welded on the drivers side due to a 6 inch crack.

General Comments:

I nicknamed this car the Enterprise-A mainly because every time I turned the key it was ready to go.

Never had an issue with mileage. In fact it actually hit 27 mpg once on a long trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2006

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 350 police interceptor from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 350 police interceptor Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance133987 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A muscle car in disguise

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is an ex cop car so the suspension is performance grade A indeed. It has full power and can keep up with the competitive Buick Roadmasters. The brakes are of note. I enjoy the roomy interior and the "big boss man feel" I truly believe these cars broke the mold in todays classic history making of vehicles. I wouldn't hesitate to keep a corvette or a mustang in the dust. This car is sleek and stealthy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.7 Liter V8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carChrysler Shadow

Summary:

My car is my girlfriend

Faults:

Horn doesnt work.

Power locks are starting to get weird.

Other than that nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This is the best car in the world. I hit a car and wrecked it. But all my car had was a scratch on the bumper.

I also got hit by a car real hard and it bent my fender. No serious damage though.

I took it off road it Riverside County at night, uphill and down real steep and bumpy with crevasses too! The wheel got caught, but I fought through! This car is the most reliable car there is. I sleep in it and I will die in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

8th Jul 2005, 17:25

The "die in it" may happen sooner than you think if you keep driving like that.

1991 Chevrolet Caprice V8 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance140200 miles

Summary:

Great car, very fast and reliable!!!

Faults:

Nothing so far has gone wrong with my caprice, other than normal wear & tear. Example:needs paint job, just got a new windshield for it.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of pick up and power, could be better on handling, but it's fair. Very good on gas my dad just bought this car for me and it's my first car, and I'm loving it and planning to keep it for a while!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

13th May 2005, 00:46

Wow, this review tells me a lot about the car.. NOT.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews