1991 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 305 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100300 miles
Most recent distance103310 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

American craftsmanship at its finest

Faults:

The water pump gave out at about 101000 miles. It cost me $45.00 and a six pack of beer to get it fixed.

General Comments:

Bought this car in 2001 and it has never given me too much grief. I reside in Minnesota, and while other car owners are having trouble starting their cars in the cold, my Caprice fires right up. It is one of the most underrated cars ever made in terms of quality and reliability. I was in a head on collision in this car, and while the other car was totaled, my Caprice started right up and I drove it home. The only issue I have with the Caprice is its not an Impala SS..

If you have the chance to buy one of these monsters, DO NOT HESITATE!!! It will be some of the best money you ever spend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2004

20th Jan 2005, 00:41

I'll attest to that, I bought a coupe version not knowing anything about Caprices and I love the car. The only other car I'd like to have as a second car would be a Camaro/Fire bird since I'm 21 but this thing is just fine. Great in the winter (rear wheel drive is predictable in snow) and so comfortable. I wouldn't trade it for anything else! It sure beats the competition, like the ugly Mercury Grand Marquis of the same era.

21st Jan 2005, 06:05

Hey, I have a Caprice too, and my only issue with it is that it's not a Corvette.

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 Liter from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance106300 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

Most reliable car I've ever owned

Faults:

Replaced the alternator at 76,000 miles.

New A/C system at 105,500 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever owned, It's big and roomy, and gets great gas mileage for a large car.

My car is equipped with trailer package so it has front and rear stabilizer bars which makes over steer not much of a problem, plus heavy duty trans and oil coolers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Gran Fury

Summary:

Great choice for families

Faults:

I have just had the usual repairs. The alternator, battery, water pump, fan clutch, etc.. The transmission has been replaced three times in the last eight months, due to transmission shop incompetence.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and has plenty of power. The interior is the most comfortable of any car I have ever driven. There is plenty of room for three adults in the back seat. I would have to say that the car is ideal for a family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 9c1 5.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A great Luxury & performance Car at a Great Price

Faults:

I had to have the Suspension Repaired (recall), I had to replace one rear shock mount bolt, and replaced the muffler.

General Comments:

I was able to purchase this car without any "detuning" that is normally done to retired police cars. The performance has been great. It runs great, and always has plenty of power when needed. It still has that "luxury car" ride, even though the suspension is modified for police work. The interior leaves a lot to be desired, as it came with the standard vinyl seats, and the interior was blue. Unfortunately, blue was not used much in non-police caprices, so it has been difficult to find cloth seats to replace them, but I'm still looking!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 305 CID TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 CID TBI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

A Sunday driver with lots of room if you don't mind spending $50 to fill your tank

Faults:

As soon as I picked up the car I knew it needed exhaust work, and I was right, it had several holes in the exhaust system, but the catalytic converter and the muffler were okay so I was able to get the holes welded and the tailpipe replaced for a total of $135 for parts and labor.

When I got the car it also had pretty extensive surface rust on the quarters right behind the rear wheel wells, and I got that fixed for $100, which is not too bad considering the seller took about $600 off the ebay auction price for that rust.

The Delco bose radio does not work very well at all and needs to have either the amplifier or the head unit or both replaced. I think this will be in the neighborhood of $300-$500.

General Comments:

The car runs and drives very well for a car with 150K miles on it. I has every option available except CD player and sunroof Leather seats are about a 9.5/10, very soft and supple, no tears just a few small scratches. Acceleration is not a thrill ride, but adequate for a comfortable roomy Sunday driver. Also blows Meat locker air conditioning (original R-12, I believe) and blast furnace heat. Pretty bad gas mileage compared to my Park Avenue, the caprice gets about 16-18 MPG, but I guess that's not all that bad for a car of this length, girth and weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

30th Jun 2005, 23:39

How can just this one person say that the car has bad gas mileage when all the other reviews say it has great gas mileage?

7th Oct 2006, 12:35

My 1991 Caprice was very good on gas. On a trip from central NY to Titusville, Florida I only filled the car 3 times. That trip is 1200 plus miles.

The only reason why I got rid of it was because the frame was rotted out in two areas. It is very hard to find someone down here in Florida that does any kind of rust repair let alone a rusty frame.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews