1991 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 9C1 5.7 350cid from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 350cid Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Good deal

General Comments:

The car is moderately "quick", but it's nothing to brag or boast about if it is stock.

Modifications i.e. cold air intake are near impossible.

The car handles well at almost any speed due to its weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Caprice from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

The most reliable car ever

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This car is the first car I have owned. It seems to have quite a bit of motion when it's turning, but its reliability is second to none.

I have always taken care of this car and it has taken care of me. This car is still running strong and even though it may not have the looks of some of its sister cars, I still haven't had anything go wrong with it. This has been by far my most reliable car ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired214000 miles
Most recent distance217000 miles

Summary:

Most dependable car

Faults:

Power antenna quit after 215,000 miles.

Alternator needed to be replaced after 216,000 miles.

Radiator needed to be replaced after 216,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car rides great!

I really depend on my Caprice as it runs great after 200,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Kick ass power, not a whole Viper in looks, but insurance costs are low

Faults:

Air conditioner hose blew and leaked water out in back right seat.

Wears through tires fast if you are an aggressive driver like me.

General Comments:

Good low-end torque for easy merging/passing as well as brisk getaways!!! 5.0L helps when a certain Mr. Miller is chasing you around (for your license plate numbers) the city for wiping cookies at the fairgrounds.

Plenty of room, about 190-200 HP. Very responsive steering. Can do a full 360 on cement. When all is well with the motor and is running at maximum power, you can do a 10 second burn-out with smoke covering about a full block. Don't think that it can to it? Well put a little oil under the tires and try it yourself!

Looks aren't that great, but if you shave the doors and really pimp it out to look like an Impala SS it looks sweet!!! :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 L V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 L V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic Hatchback

Summary:

Super sleeper muscle car!

Faults:

Power antenna failed at 75,000 miles.

Seat pivot pin broke at 121,000 miles.

Front end parts replaced at 130,000 miles.

Exhaust replaced at 110,000 miles.

Alternator failed at 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable seats.

Decent if not impressive power.

Mileage has been 18 city, 35 highway for the entire time I've owned the car.

Easy to work on and upgrade.

Large 94-96 Impala community willing to help with any question I've ever had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

20th May 2003, 15:03

Hi! I was wondering if you replaced the power antenna yourself. If you did, how did you get to the antenna to remove it? I have recently bought a 1991 Caprice with 42,000 miles on it and the only thing that does not work is the power antenna. Any help would be appreciated.

12th Dec 2003, 21:35

Just wondering how you do your MPG calculations- are they estimates or calculated from trip miles divided by gallons filled? Really 35MPG highway?

7th Aug 2005, 21:07

35 MPG is true, once you drive a caprice/roadmaster/impala, you'll understand that the 350 is the best.

1991 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 (305 c.i.d.) V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 (305 c.i.d.) V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

An overall nice car with lots of power

Faults:

I bought the car from a small time dealer (which has now been shut down).

The starter was going when I bought the car. Also, the valve cover gaskets needed to be replaced and the dealer was supposed to do an oil change before I picked up the car.

I drove the car for a month with no problems, then all of a sudden the heater core went($400). After that, I replaced the bad starter. I also discovered that whoever changed the oil before I bought the car had stripped the oil plug, so I had that fixed and also a new oil sending switch put in.

Only a month after that I came out of work only to discover all of my antifreeze sitting in a big puddle under my car. It needed a new water pump and a new radiator ($500). But I have to consider that the car has almost 130,000 miles on it and these things happen at this mileage.

General Comments:

I enjoy owning the car now that I got it to run right. It is fully loaded with power everything and leather interior.

It has plenty of power from the 305 V8 and it gets right up to speed. It doesn't look like a fast car, but it really is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

1991 Chevrolet Caprice 9C1 police package 350 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 350 TBI
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Thermostat replaced.

General Comments:

With the handling of a Camaro, the roominess of a living room, and a top end of 137mph!; What else could you want!

Heavy Duty tranny, suspension, oil-P steering - tranny cooler. You can beat the bag out of it and it will never bust! Smoke the local hero in his Mustang 5.0 (sorry, it's really a 4.9)!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

22nd Feb 2001, 23:33

The 1991 Caprice Police Package did not come with an external tranny cooler stock. This was added in 94 along with the option of the LT1 engine. Further, I doubt very much that a stock TBI 350 Caprice would be able to beat an equally stock Mustang 5.0 in an acceleration test. An LT1 Caprice, yes, but not a 1991.

Otherwise, I highly recommend the Police Package for durability, and own a 1990 myself.

20th Jan 2002, 11:58

FOOTZ has a 1990 9c1 also. The baddest car around here is my 9c1. The fastest I've been is 137mph. It will go 0-60 in 5.5sec.

5th Feb 2002, 15:38

I have just installed a five speed in my 1991 Caprice 9c1, it hauls...

10th Apr 2003, 09:58

I just bought a 93 caprice and just stuck the basic bolt ons, on it and it made a huge difference. Very happy with the car oh yeah it hauls.

1991 Chevrolet Caprice STD 5.0 L 305 cid OHV FI V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 5.0 L 305 cid OHV FI V8
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

68K miles of problem free driving. Flat out acceleration is mind-bending. It makes one wish they were driving the sister car - Impala SS. Style is frumpy, but overall, a great, dependable, reliable car. Body sway in turns puts the "B" in boat. Too bad Chevrolet dumped the Caprice in 1996.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

22nd Jun 2001, 11:38

Hi I'm Marlon,

Maybe you should try 9c1 sway-bars in the front and rear for your sway, that should improve your handling a whole lot!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews