1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Best car ever

Faults:

A transmission tube broke open at just over 55, 000 miles.

The brake pads need replacement more often than other cars, but they are cheaper to replace than in most cars.

General Comments:

It has excellent handling.

It is a very comfortable car for one or two people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance143500 miles

Summary:

Simple, efficient and sporty

Faults:

Power transmission leaked. Radiator hose leaked. Nothing major so far.

General Comments:

This car handles well. It took some time to get used to a front wheel drive, but it it very responsive and hugs the road.

Seats are uncomfortable with little padding.

Overall is a very sound car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired245000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres

Summary:

Slick ride

Faults:

The clutch went when I first got the car.

Heating core went not long after that.

Brakes were very worn.

Lots of rust in the wheel wells.

General Comments:

This car has amazing pick-up and loves be out on the open road.

I must say, Cavaliers are a beautiful car to drive.

The only frustrations I have had thus far, are changing the spark plugs. The rear cables/plugs are in a very difficult place to reach and get a ratchet into.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 Convertible 2.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

They look great, but are not built very solidly

Faults:

Engine toast at 25,000, rebuilt it myself.

Transmission is slightly weak now with only 37,000 on it.

Total rattletrap. Avoid GM convertibles made in the 80's. They "farmed" them out, and didn't do the work themselves.

You get a nice breeze with the top up or down. Bring a Parka if below 20 degrees.

General Comments:

Decent economy, around 25 mpg.

Very good performance for a V6.

Z24 aerodynamics make for a sporty looking car.

Rides fairly well, with decent suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

17th Apr 2004, 19:03

Steven, I have to disagree with your statement of the 88 Z24 Convertable being a rattletrap. I have one that I love. My first Convertible. I was hesitant to buying one for the exterior sound difference between a Convertible and a hard top, and also that breeze that I was warned about with Convertibles. I live in Michigan, I bought mine in Feb. Sure you have a little whistling as it is hard to get a tight seal around the door windows. But It doesn't rattle and I do not lose heat or get cold when its arctic outside. I would recommend a 88 Z24 Convertible to anyone. I have the Met. Blue with silver Ground effects. They look tough and stylish and sound great with the right exhaust. Ride is quite nice also. Corners almost like my BMW 325i used to.

27th Oct 2004, 09:43

Just got a z-24 10/23/04 love it it's a convetiable. drive, s nice. It is also blue. looking for a boot.

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles

Summary:

A great reliable sporty little car for the money.

Faults:

2 fuel injectors went out at 70,000.

Torque converter clutch relay went out at 89,000.

Front lower ball joints went out at 95,000.

Heater fan went out at 130,000.

Drivers side seat is wearing out.

Air conditioner compressor had to be replaced twice.

Other common problems for a car of such age.

General Comments:

I have enjoyed this car very much. Though the list of problems looks long, I have had this car for 8 years. The only real problem with the car which would not be general maintenance is the air conditioner compressor. I replaced the original one at about 90,000. A year and two weeks later it went out. I had not used it much because I live in North Dakota, but Chevy would not cover it, because it was 2 weeks past warranty. That is why the low mark in dealer.

All in all, I have been very satisfied with this car. It is very sporty, and I still love driving it after all this time. It is a great investment in a sound little vehicle. I would 100% recommend purchasing one. My pal has the exact same car and beats on the poor thing and it still runs fine at 192,000. I take care of mine and have no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 24 reviews