1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z 24 2.8 MPFI from North America

Summary:

For the price, I love it!

Faults:

Dirty fuel injectors. It holds a rough idle.

General Comments:

I must say the Z24 really sticks to the pavement. This car will take some corners! The acceleration is good for only 130hp. The body effect looks very nice, however the granny racks could go, and a nice spoiler, like the 93's would make a difference. If you own one watch your valve cover gaskets, they will leak. When your driving the z24 it really dose fell like a v8, and you almost think you are with the nice rumble from the engine. You also get a nice digital dash and bucket seat, which look very cool. It feels good driving. I know that the ladies will not shy away from your ride. For the price you can pick them up for, I say go for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8L V6 from North America

Summary:

Nice quick car...cheap

Faults:

Clutch went out of it two times. Alternator was replaced 2 times.

General Comments:

Really fun car to drive. A great car for the new driver. Quick and easy on gas. Just an all around great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8L MPFI from North America

Summary:

A perfect first car for a teenager

Faults:

The weather stripping on the windows has started to crack.

The spark plugs have been replaced.

The throttle body needed to be cleaned.

Other than that, no serious problems.

I have only owned this car for 4 months, so there should not be that many problems yet.

General Comments:

This car is extremely fast for the price, especially with the 5 speed manual transmission.

Z24's can easily lay 3-5 feet of rubber on pavement if you drop the clutch.

The handling on this car is amazing, especially with low profile performance tires.

Tons of torque!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier 3.1 from North America

Summary:

An inexpensive, reliable car

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 135,000 miles.

Fan needed to be replaced at 150,000.

General Comments:

Purchased this coupe as second car. We had to replace the head gasket upon purchase, but after that it ran like new. It's great on gas and started up every single time. We sold it about 6 months ago to a friend and hear it's doing well with it's new fan. It's very reliable and safe. It has excellent visibility! The only drawbacks I see are it's small cabin size. Very difficult to get in and out of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

28th Feb 2002, 10:43

Happy with my cavalier. Head gasket blew at about 140,000, but that's the only problem I've had, of course I'm the 3rd owner though, so I don't know what happened to it in its previous life. She runs great though, and what I like most about it,...ITS PAID OFF!

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.8 litre V6 from North America

Summary:

Fast, cheap, sleek, easy to modify

Faults:

Clutch warped, but was easy to replace.

Alternator stopped charging, battery was running at 12.01 volts.

Belt for car started to crack (was very hard to replace without instruction, but after I figured it out it was a breeze).

Seats have started to wear badly, springs are piercing the material.

Trunk seal needs replacing.

Door pins needed replacing.

The steering wheel will not come off.

General Comments:

Very quick car without the air conditioning.

Very stylish if repainted (I repainted mine with a quasar blue metallic with 1998 Chrysler silver trim).

Tons of room in trunk and seat area's.

Very affordable for such a sleek car.

Cheap and I mean cheap on gas (even at present gas rate 76.9). $35 to fill the tank with middle grade gas (hint to other Z24 owners, use middle grade gas, it will make a lot of difference in the way your car runs).

Keeps others on their toes. I've been racing for about a year now and I've kicked some serious Mustang GT 5.0 litre buttskee. Learn how to drive your car, it's the driver not the car that wins the race (in English if you learn to drive your car well you can beat almost any car).

Very easy to add modifications to.

If you would like to see my car all done up drop an email to me at Frostbyte555@home.com and I'll give you the present web site where my car is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

20th May 2001, 17:37

I have a 88 cavalier, 2.8 v6 with 112,000 miles on it and it runs perfectly on 87 octane, (USA) lowest grade gas. On a recent long trip I got 32 miles per gallon on the highway. Using higher octane gas may cause excessive carbon deposits, which may be the reason why you are going to higher octane. I use fuel injector cleaner in the tank regularly, minimum every 2,500 miles.