1993 Chevrolet Cavalier plain jane 4 cylinder from North America


A great car for a person that has a long way to drive to and from work and or school


I never had to replace anything since I.

Had purchased the car after it had been.

Wrecked. I did, although, repair the.

Body damaged body panels. Other htan that, the car was in good running order.

General Comments:

The car is small yet comfortable.

Considering the size. I would easily.

Put 100 miles on it a day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan 2.2L from North America


Good student car


There have been enough repairs to perform on this car, but seeing that the car is so cheap, its expected.

-Front Brakes (2X)

-Head gasket leaking at 140k, but fixed

-Exhaust (from Catalytic converter to the rear)

-Radiator and hoses

-Water pump

-2 alternators (it's a Cavalier thing)

-Wiper relay kicks in and out.

General Comments:

I bought the car for cheap, and have put about $2300CDN worth of repairs into it. All in all it's a great car for going to school. Its only left me stranded once, when I blew a radiator hose. I do my oil changes every 5,000km, and it never burns a drop, and the oil stays a goldish colour even after 5,000km's. It handles great, the brakes are a bit too sensitive... not good in snowy conditions, because the ABS always wants to kick in. For what I put it through, it's a pretty good little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier VL 2.2 liter from North America


Reliable and inexpensive


The clutch stopped working at 99,000 miles. But I consider this normal wear and tear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2002

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2-liter 4-cylinder from North America


Economical and affordable, but boring


Air conditioning went at 120,000 km and I haven't bothered to fix it (I don't care).

Heater begun to fail once in a while at 150,000 km. I haven't bothered to fix it either.

Ignition module replaced at 155,000 km.

General Comments:

The inside is kind of lousy, the upholstery is mediocre.

The car isn't very fast, and with the automatic transmission it's very slow (it won't downshift to pass or anything). If you are considering this car, I recommend the 5-speed manual transmission.

This car has been extremely reliable and if you want cheap transportation, the Cavalier may be your ticket. Total costs on repairs the past six years have been very low, especially since it wasn't maintained properly (oil changes every 15,000 km!) I don't really care about the air conditioning and heat, since I don't drive it that much anymore anyway.

The car is kind of boring compared to the V6-powered Z24 I used to drive. Its styling is very conservative and if looks could kill they undoubtedly will.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier LS from North America


Great first car


Air Conditioning light stays on (but still works).

General Comments:

Great first car.

Worked great until I crashed it.

Handles Good (except when on ice).

GREAT crash rating for compact car - I hit a 1999 Chevy Tahoe going 45 MPH and walked away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS Wagon 3.1 V6 from North America


My favorite car of all time


Positively the most trouble free car I ever owned. It had the original spark plugs/exhaust/shocks/struts in it when I sold it at 182,900 miles and it was still running and driving great.

The alternator failed and was replaced at 160,000 miles - that was the only failure in 7.5 years.

General Comments:

If they brought this model back I'd order one. I still miss mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.0 L 4-cyl. from North America


Very worth the money...


The alternator failed when we first got it, but after that... flawless.

General Comments:

A great car! Never let me down... that thing started at 17 below (not counting the wind chill) once when I forgot to plug it in.

I love my Grand Prix now, but I still miss the Cavalier... they've both been good to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

24th Feb 2001, 16:03

I bought my 93 Cavalier in 97 and I have had no problems with it. Always starts even in 40 below weather, fun to drive, and chixdiggit.

9th Sep 2003, 15:29

We still have our 93 cavalier. It now has 240.000 miles and is still running. It is still on its original clutch and muffler! My 16 yr old son is driving it now.

It has needed only minor repairs and replacements, alternator, starter, brakes etc. This car started every cold morning during New England winters. This was, and still is a great vehicle!