1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 3.1L V6 from North America


Most reliable beater you can buy


Starter went at 162k.

(Original) Exhaust is rusting badly.

General Comments:

Very good car for its age. I bought it off my high school back in May of 2008 and it has been EXTREMELY reliable ever since. Equipped with the gutsy 3.1 V6, driving my car is never a dull moment except in the gridlock of Detroit highways.

It's a shame how it has a rust problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2009

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 3.1 from North America


Get what you pay for



Replaced brake sets, rotors, pads (often), hoses.

Power (assist) steering (still not working)

Water pump.

Rad hoses.

Water leak in trunk, cannot find!!

Ignition module.

Gas smell.

Sensors O2 & TPS replaced.

Wiper mech/linkage.

General Comments:

Very quick, comfortable 2 door. 5 speed shift is very slow/long travel. Linkage popped off.

Cheap to run but, annoying little problems.

Latest prob, bucking when foot off gas, cannot find problem.

On board diagnostics not working properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2009

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS from North America


Wonderful little car!

General Comments:

We bought this car from a teen so my husband would not have to commute with his pickup or my SUV. It's a cramped car but it is very fun to drive and the mpg is outstanding! My little SUV can't even compare. It gets roughly 35-40mpg. We only paid $1,400 for it about 2 months ago and we feel it has paid for itself by a long shot, since my husband only has to fill it up once every-other week, where his truck was once a week at $100+ (diesel).

If you want a very fun little car with amazing mpg, I definitely recommend this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2008

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L OHV 4 cylinder from North America


Great car for those who don't need speed and are strapped for cash


Glove box's metal clip broke before ownership.

Bumps cause the map light assembly to fall out. Started around 109,000 miles.

Starter had to be replaced at 101,000 miles.

Crankshaft sensor and coil module needed to be replaced at 107,000 miles.

Trunk doesn't close securely, it vibrates.

Control switch for AC/Heater is malfunctioning, started around 104,000 miles.

Front Passenger side headlight assembly adjustment screw holder broke around 110,000 miles.

Full audio system replaced with a 52Wattx4 Sony Deck, new speakers all around and a pair of 12in subwoofers in the trunk.

General Comments:


Front seats are very roomy.

All doors look automatically when moved from park.

Different keys for door and ignition give extra feel of safety.

Trunk can be opened from inside car, this feature can be disabled.

Trunk very large.


The stock audio system was just a cassette deck and bad speakers. Whole system was replaced. The 3.5in speaker on the driver side is half under the dash so it was difficult to replace. The rear 6X9 speakers were easy to replace, as the brackets were just clip on.

Back seat cramped.

Tail light assembly not secure, held together by black silicone.

Lacks acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2007

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 V6 140hp from North America


Fast, Efficient, and Reliable; it's the whole 9 yards


The Radiator leaks antifreeze when you pick it up past 60 quickly. The front lip has become weak and looks like it will shatter with only a small collision.

General Comments:

The car is one fine piece of automotive technology. She handles like a dream, due to the factory installed strut bar, and rear spoiler. Plus, she is incredibly fuel economic for short trips. I only have to fill it up with gas every two weeks if I only go to school and back.

Handles corners ridiculously well and burns rubber like an import.

The steering wheel is quite nice and has a racing feel to it.

3.1 fuel injection equals a lot of starting power, this baby will rocket to 65 before you can even blink.

I took it against a 99' maxima that was heavily modded and she was able to outrun it on a short track.

Plus has a stylish feel that few others have for it's price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2006

12th Dec 2006, 13:32

Actually, the spoiler helps to stabilize the car at speeds lower than 100. Drifters accredit their spoiler to stabilization, and yet, they rarely exceed high speeds. As far as the antifreeze is concerned, that was only a small problem with one of the hoses, as long as I don't overfill, no coolant leaks. Plus, that problem only occurred during the first weeks I had the car, which I suspect is because the previous owner (a little old lady, nonetheless) never took the car to very high speeds.

12th Dec 2006, 13:38

Also, I say the car is reliable because:

-She has never failed to start

-She has never failed me in a race (except once, but that wasn't my fault)

-While driving the car I never have the feeling that the car will slip out of gear, lock up, or fail me in any other way.

If you have any doubts about purchasing a Z24, I highly recommend test driving one.

7th Nov 2011, 14:00

A 140 hp 1993 Z24 is not fast. Stop "racing" it. It's a waste of gas.