1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 6 of 17

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90210 miles
Most recent distance102380 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Awesome Little Car

Faults:

Car was a salvage, so I had to replace.

Both the brakes.

The water pump.

The steering column.

The front axle.

Soon I'll need to replace the belts.

The car needs to be repainted from sitting and rusting.

The interior door panels and seat belts need to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car can really handle sharp turns because of the tight suspension.

It gets really good gas mileage for a cheap sporty-type motor vehicle.

For $1600, you couldn't ask for a better starter car, especially when it booked for over $2k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier LS Convertible 2.4L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Very comfortable ride, fun and reliable- Bring back the Chevy LS Convertible!!

Faults:

Car has performed great for over 150,000 miles! Minor issues only and not yearly issues.

Wheel bearings and alternator and most recently catalytic replaced at 170,000 miles.

General Comments:

Love this 1997 Chevy Cavalier LS Convertible! Have put on 150,000 plus miles. Wish Chevy still manufactured the LS Convertible. Great car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

29th Mar 2006, 15:12

Well not only the convertible, but the entire cavalier has been discontinued along with the Dodge Neon. The chevy replacement is call Cobalt and the dodge is Calier. I guess the days of the Neon, Cavalier, and Escort are long gone-

8th Jul 2007, 03:50

Nah; they'll be back; in the last few years we learned that even the Camaro has to be taken off the shelves for a few years sometimes. But don't worry; I'm sure we'll have them back soon enough.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Not too bad, but not great

Faults:

Had a couple recalls on a few things. No big deal.

Had an annoying rattle coming from the back ever since I owned the car I believe.

Muffler always had to be replaced.

Alternator went, but that wasn't much of a surprise at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

This cavalier wasn't actually a bad car reliability wise. The things I didn't like much about it is how underpowered it was and how rough and loud. It's a good first car/kid car. Or commuter car, which I used it for until I couldn't stand the rattle in the back and how uncomfortable it was. I ended up getting a Scion tC which was a good buy, but anyway. The dealers didn't know where the rattle came from so we just had to leave it. Otherwise it wasn't such a bad car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 89 olds ciera

Faults:

97 Chevy Cavalier, 2.2 engine. At times when I step on the gas it seems not to have the power it should. If you back off the gas then step on it again, the power may or may not come back. It does not do it all the time. Anyone else have this problem? It has a fresh set of plugs, wires and fuel filter.

No codes have ever come up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 11:30

Turned out to be the fuel pump. Way too much money.

I am looking for a front passenger fender. Brite Red. Anyone have one for sale?

j.kalinsky@prodigy.net

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier LS Sedan 2.4L from Hungary

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

The car you can rely on

Faults:

The battery had to be replaced when I first bought the car. The fuel level indicator has problems, it does not reflect the right level, so at first I ran out of gas a couple of times before I figured out how it works. In a year the ignition died, so I had to replace that. Currently I have problems with the suspension, and the horn does not work. I will also have to change the brakes in the back.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable, very low running costs, the A/C is still working properly, runs great during winter or summertime. Gas mileage is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carFord Topaz

Summary:

I can't believe how long it has lasted!

Faults:

About 46,000mi, the alternator and battery was replaced. The refurbished alternator works great and was less expensive.)

The driver's side seat belt's plastic guide broke.

Leaks clutch fluid and I have to replace it about every two weeks.

Serpentine belt replaced at about 75,000mi.

There's a ball bearing or something clicking in the front end. Like I've run over a nail, but it's not with every rotation. Tires are fine.

General Comments:

The car was way too expensive for what it's worth compared to other cars its type, but I plan to keep it until it dies-it's paid off and reliable.

Gas mileage is great!

Great for long AND short trips although cruise control would be a plus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

6th Dec 2010, 18:59

I have a 97 Cavalier, and it has 225K miles.

The clicking in the front wheel can be two things: one is nothing the other is serious. Take off, clean and put back on the wheel cover. Make sure it it secured tightly. If this does not fix the problem it is a wheel bearing and you should get it into the shop right away. I took mine to the dealer and it cost about $450 dollars to get fixed.

This has been a good little car - I drive nearly 100 miles per day, and haven't had much trouble with it. As long as you keep up the oil changes and any repairs/inspections that come up - you'll have this car a long time!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 66 reviews