1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Coop 2.5 from North America

Summary:

Superior

Faults:

Replaced power window motor on drivers door.

Driver floor carpet has worn badly.

Seatbelt covers have popped off.

Drivers seatbelt latch cover has broken off.

General Comments:

I love my car, plain and simple.

I can do 70 miles an hour easily with the air conditioner running.

I'm 53 and it's the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

12th Nov 2004, 06:50

A "coop"?

Did it come with chickens? hahaha.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.0L from North America

Summary:

A great low-budget, dependable car

Faults:

Some plastic trim around the driver seat broke a couple times.

The power steering pump had to be replaced.

Fuel pump had to be replaced at 60,000 miles due to intermittent starting.

Those were the only major issues in the 8 years and 100,000 miles I had the car.

General Comments:

Overall, this was probably the best car I ever had as far as reliability. It ran just as strong at 100,000 miles as it did when it was new. The only repair that it needed that was disappointing was the fuel pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 liter from North America

Summary:

I love it, I would never ask for a different first car

Faults:

My front tires were balled when I purchased the car causing me to get into a car accident when it was raining.

My battery and alternator had to be replaced at about 80,000 miles. Not completely due to the manufactured I had an after market stereo system installed after I purchased the car.

The horn stops working periodically or clicks when it is working.

Expensive to have parts replaced and fixed.

Blinker and tail lights went out two or three times since I have had the car.

Have had breaks replaced twice.

General Comments:

After a rainstorm the brakes jerk for the first few minutes.

The car takes a long time to warm up.

Going at fast speeds the interior gets very noisy. A loud stereo system is required to drown out the noise.

Windows aren't completely sealed, letting air in.

There are minor problems with the car, but all in all I absolutely love it.

It is an amazing first car.

The gas mileage is amazing, I always have money left in my pocket for a little something extra.

The car has a quick take off the line.

The transmission shifts gears high.

The seats are extremely comfortable. However, the car is set low to the ground. After a few years of getting in and out of the car your back will hurt.

The car was a little pricey to fix, but I love my car, it is extremely durable, comfortable, and heads definitely turn when you drive down the street.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2004

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Decent first car, but can't wait for my second

Faults:

There have been about 4 recalls on the car since I purchased it 4 years ago.

The passenger power window is non-responsive at times, though it seems to have fixed itself.

The interior isn't really aesthetically appealing, but it's not offensive either.

The brakes "hiccup" the first few minutes after a rainstorm. Very dangerous.

Back seats aren't meant for anyone of average adult height or taller.

General Comments:

I'm always more impressed with the power after filling it up with 93 octane. The car literally flies.

Handling is better than average.

The power moon-roof seems to allow much more space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2004

20th Nov 2004, 07:11

Man, the power moon roof is junk, I just bought a 97 z24, first thing I did when I got it home, was opened the moon roof... "CLICK CLICK CLICK" the damn thing seized, and now its stuck open, know how to get it closed?

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L from North America

Summary:

Overall great starter vehicle with minimal Maintenance costs

Faults:

Ignition Switch Replaced at 160000km.

Brakes replaced at 160000km.

Fuel Pump and Fuel Filter Seized at 180000km.

Throwout bearing Going at 210000km.

General Comments:

This car is not an all around good handling car, but is quick enough for day to day driving and has enough torque to get you buy.

Excellent Fuel Economy 46mpg highway, 36 city (5sp)

Cheap Interior Quality, but you can't expect too much for the price of the car.

Easy to work on.

Very minimal Maintenance costs for how many k's are on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004