1987 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport 2.5 Liter V6 from North America


Very reliable and longlasting if properly taken care of (Try to beat my mileage someone I dare you)


1998- Fuel Injection replaced

?-air conditioning stops working

Horrible paint job, It's rusting a lot

2001- muffler replaced

Ceiling fell down, eventually I just ripped it all down

Linkage always slipped and I couldn't shift into park, which meant I had start it in Neutral and always had to have the parking brake on when I parked.

2002- transmission went out (caused death of the Celebrity : () It was given away to a local mechanic.

General Comments:

This was a very reliable car. I enjoyed it. It was my first car and I liked it much better than my current car, which is an 1989 Ford Tempo.

The biggest problem was the linkage slipping. The only way I could put it into park was by reaching under the hood and manually doing it. Big problem at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

11th Apr 2003, 14:03

The title of your review says to try and beat your mileage... I don't have a celebrity story to beat it with personally, but I saw another review in this forum that had over 600,000 km! Still, 536,000 or so km is damn impressive for ANY car!

2nd Jun 2003, 22:04

I also have the same car and had to tear my roof down as well. So far its still hanging in, but I may have to replace the CV joints soon, along with the exhaust system.

27th Jan 2010, 19:10

I have a 1987 Chevy Celeb with only 96,000 miles on it. Beat that.

17th Aug 2010, 16:56

I have a 87 Celebrity with 170,000 on it, just babying it along.

22nd Sep 2011, 11:17

I have a Chev Celebrity wagon with V-6. It has 91,000, everything original, and everything works great.

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.5L FI from North America


Perfect for getting you from A to B


1. Alternator died.

2. Battery died.

3. Exhaust system had to be replaced.

4. Ignition problems which caused a new ignition coil and sensor to be replaced.

5. Radiator leaked.

6. The gas meter's full point is at the halfway mark.

7. New struts only.

General Comments:

This car was first owned by my dad for 11 years, and then was passed on to me. None of the repairs listed above were done during those 11 years. This was a huge plus to the car. The car is not the fastest car, but has just enough power. I like box-shaped cars, so I actually liked the look of it.

While living in Canada, there was no way to keep this car from rusting. This is also a very comfortable car. The bench seats are awesome.

Despite the repairs needed on the car, none of them were really major, by this I mean they were all under $150 (canadian) dollars, except for the exhaust system replacement.

Not once has it given me trouble starting in the winter. It is a perfect car if you want something that will drive you places.

Lastly, a down side to this car is the fact that it can't really handle speeds over 120 km/h very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity CL 2.8 Multiport Fuel Injection from Netherlands


A real American car for a low budget


The board computer had crashed.

New computer had troubles learning in.

Lambda sonde had to be replaced.

Paint is quite poor.

Air conditioning does not work.

Cruise control does not work.

Cassette player (Delco) sometimes does not start.

Dashboard poorly lightened.

General Comments:

According to American standards it is not a very big car, but in Holland, where streets are narrow and parking space is few, the size is very suitable.

Seats are very comfortable, also for long trips.

Fuel consumption, especially on highway, is quite economic (in conjunction with high fuel rates in Holland).

6 cylinder engine runs quietly and has sufficient power. If I wanted to have a jet start, I should have bought a Corvette.

I feel very safe in this Chevrolet Celebrity. It is reliable, also in winter (winters are not so harsh in Holland).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002