1987 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity Plain Jane 2.5 LT from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 LT Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Coolest car in the world!

Faults:

When I got the car, it didn't like to turn to the right. I had to replace the rack and pinion unit. I replaced the tires and got an alignment at the same time. The battery went dead, but that's to be expected, I suppose. I replaced it with a larger size than OEM. It was a tight fit, but it works fine. I now have plenty of cold cranking amps!

General Comments:

This is my third Celebrity, and it's doing very well. It used to belong to my Grandfather, then my Mother, and now it's all mine. It's a dependable car that draws little attention. I feel secure knowing that nobody would think that this car is worth stealing. It is the perfect commuter car. And, I am currently turning it into the coolest Celebrity on the planet. I am turning it into the only Celebrity Super Sport in the world. Every other Celebrity owner will be green with envy when they see my awesome car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity Sedan 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90546 miles
Most recent distance94843 miles

Summary:

Perfect first time car

Faults:

The first day I bought the car in early August, the entire brake system blew out (including the masker & brake cylinders).

The only other major defect was the huge amount of rust around the bottom part of the doors.

The interior was a little bit dirty, but it was easy to clean out.

General Comments:

For a first time car it is extremely reliable, but don't even think about trying to soup it up. I've tried to many times, but performance parts aren't designed for this car.

I did buy this car off an old person in my neighborhood for about $750, but I've spent about $350 extra on trying upgrade the car.

I've also spent somewhere around $300 on paint, primer, and buffing parts for the car & it still looks like garbage.

I think around a month ago I tried to replace the radio with a CD deck, but that was impossible. You basically have to remove the entire dash to get to the deck.

The other thing I never liked about the car was it seemed to die when travelling up a hill or steep road. It has no guts whatsoever.

Overall it's very cheap to maintain & with a little care the car can run forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

8th Jan 2002, 12:28

This is an OK review, one there are two things that are exactly true in it and that is this is not a car to be souped up, it is not for performance parts and the part about taking the tape deck out, that is a real pain, but it is possible.

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Great car if you don't mind driving an ugly beast!

Faults:

Paint job is, as usual on this car, rusting everywhere.

I replaced the water pump at about 140k miles.

The ignition module has gone bad twice, about 40,000 miles apart.

Transmission replaced at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

The interior is very comfortable to drive in. I've driven from Colorado to Ohio about 3 or 4 times, and I'm still able to walk!

Good gas mileage, 24-28. Not bad for the acceleration that this car can offer.

Engine just won't die. The outside has died though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2001

9th Sep 2003, 13:34

This is very accurate. My 87 Celebrity has followed that maintenance pattern exactly...except, I'm still in my first transmission at 148,000 miles...I'm a pretty conservative driver, though. Just replaced my first ignition module at 148,000 miles and the water pump is going bad for the first time. Only bad thing about this car is the paint job... oh well.

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.5 - 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 - 4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles

Summary:

An excellent commuter or first car

Faults:

1997 - Driver's door lock stopped worked - I repaired that easily.

1998 - Power steering hose blew apart.

2000 - Cigarette lighter was blowing a fuse - I disconnected it and viola - no more problems.

2000 - Rain leaks in from the top of the windshield.

2001 - Driver's door lock (outside key entry) stopped working - I just leave it unlocked.

Continuous - The paint job looks terrible and is getting worse.

General Comments:

I purchased this car in 1997 from a state vehicle auction for $2000 for use as a commuting car.

This car, although it looks crappy because of the deteriorating paint, has been extremely reliable. It gets over 30 miles per gallon. I have had only minor repairs.

This front wheel drive vehicle is a great snow car - it just plows right on through. Whenever there is a snow storm I drive this car rather than any of my other vehicles.

It has a noisy engine, which is typical for that type of engine.

Great amount of truck space, even with a full size spare.

Good acceleration for this car, it bucks sometimes when I come to a stop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 17:18

I have a 1987 Chevrolet Celebrity, it runs great and it has 200,000 miles on it.

The only problem I had was the power steering leaked. Easy to FIX.

I love this car.

27th Nov 2009, 17:31

Well just bought the 1987 today so was reading reviews.

Mine was a little old lady's car, 33,000 miles and is in show room shape. Drives very nicely and I like the fact that the interior is spartan, not a lot of "extras", just a nice car to get around in.

1987 Chevrolet Celebrity Wagon 2.8L Multi-Port FI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8L Multi-Port FI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles

Summary:

A reliable, long-lasting vehicle

Faults:

About 1997 the cigarette lighter stopped functioning.

Around 1999 (155,000 miles) the thermostat broke.

The same year the top rear taillight and rear defroster stopped working.

In 2000 the air conditioning compressor would frequently blow fuses.

Now (2001), the compressor does not turn on any more.

The car has a significant amount of corrosion, especially along the bottoms of the doors.

General Comments:

Overall, this station wagon has been a very good car. The only problems which have occurred have been minor and/or common for any aging vehicle.

Most of the problems haven't cost much to repair or could be fixed by myself. The broken thermostat was replaced by a mechanic, and the cigarette lighter, rear defroster, and top rear taillight were caused by detached wires which I easily repaired.

To sum it all up, I am very surprised how well the Celebrity is holding up. Exterior-wise, it is falling apart, but mechanically, it is in great shape. I have gotten my money's worth out of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 20 reviews