13th Feb 2014, 12:12

This is the year to save for and keep absolutely forever. Nice examples are expensive, but well worth it. Go with the manual trans. If you have to pass on others to raise more money for this year, it's the one to get. If I were to pick only one to own, this is it. Even over Corvettes, which I have owned.

29th Apr 2015, 15:47

Original Reviewer. It is now 2015. Just changed the oil and filters. I keep this car on a battery maintainer. There's been zero issues. I waited a very long time to find a really nice one with a 4 speed and A/C. Buying the best you can afford is well worth the wait. Value has steadily escalated while being a really fun car to own and drive. 1970 is the pinnacle Chevelle year. Great ride and performance, and it's comfortable on trips as a mid size model. I highly recommend buying one. You will not be disappointed!

7th Jul 2015, 17:28

I must be going to the wrong car shows.

Where does one find these clueless people with money?

8th Jul 2015, 11:29

If you own a 1970 Chevelle SS 454 LS6 or a 1970 Cuda Hemi, you are not clueless. They're the top 2 recognized muscle cars of all time.

A good place to find one to buy is Barrett Jackson or Mecum, after seeing if they are even in the catalog first. Hemmings is another. Then hit the car show circuit. It's not as easy to buy a very rare car at a car show vs an auction. Other rare Chevelle models such as Yenko or Berger Brothers with 427 transplants are wise investments. Ordered brand new from the factory with a 396 and sent out to perform these transplants. The main concern is to watch out for clones or tribute cars when paying out high sums. There are more 454 Chevelles on the road today than were ever built. Great cars to drive and own. Authenticated 70s, followed by 1967 SS are the ones I am after. Great - just keep going up and up in value if real vs clones.

Good luck.

8th Jul 2015, 20:29

One of the cars mentioned is a 6 figure car with the LS6. The Cuda Hemi 7 figures. Condition matters. If you own either one of these great cars, people will find you. The neat thing is rarity combined with desirability. Extremely popular rare models are a great combination. Very unusual cars can be, but the further you drift from the norm, the less ready buyers there are. Took me a while to figure this out. Emotional attachments and over restoring unpopular models can be costly.

9th Jul 2015, 09:21

In 1970 GM also offered the GTO 455 Ram Air IV, and also the Judge, 4-4-2 W-30, Buick 455 GSX. All sharing the same frame as the 70 Chevelle SS, but typically with heavier curb weight. The 454 LS6 was underrated HP at 450 stock, but actually 500 plus, add on the Muncy Rock Crusher 4 speed and it is quite a car. The LS5 is a great find, as is a 396. All of these also could be ordered as a convertible.

In 1970 it was an amazing year seeing all these models in showrooms. Cost wise somewhere near 5k. I could have bought a 70 Superbird for 5k brand new on a dealer lot as well. A bit too wild, and the rear spoiler would have not cleared my garage door.

In 71 the Chevelle changed the front end and the HP dropped due to insurance pressure. The single front end lights were not as well received. Some liked the round tail lights that year, but I prefer the 70's lights. The 70 has a great muscular front end design. It's a real head turner. Of all the American muscle cars I have owned, this is one I plan on keeping. Now I just need to find a original 69 Z/28 as well to stash away and drive. I am certain it's a very good investment over time as well.

10th Jul 2015, 04:50

Good point about the GTO; also you are correct about the '61 Impala. That car with the 409 and 4 speed was a real screamer. Another forgotten early muscle car is a '61 Catalina with the 421 heavy duty package.

10th Jul 2015, 12:59

I am the original reviewer. I had 4 Impalas along the way. 2 were Super Sports and 1 was a Convertible. The Impala and Catalina are full frame, full size models. The GTO 442 Buick GS and the Chevelle are mid sized. It's a big difference on mid size vs full size as far as the suspension handling aspect. All of these cars are heavy. Much can be done to the mid size suspensions. I put a great deal of time into upgrading mine.

I also really like the early Pontiacs. Beautiful cars and even great interiors. The 421, even in a full size, flies.

The 61 Impalas are hard to find in my area; very prone to rust, especially that year. It's not my favorite looking year. The 409 Impalas with 4 speed are high performance. Appearance wise I like the bubble top. 62 to 63 are really good looking as well.

My favorite picks now are genuine 4-4-2 69-72 and Hurst models, and nice Big Block Chevelles 66-67-70. These ride surprisingly well and the performance is there. Restoration parts are very easy to obtain.

In the end everyone has their own personal favorites. I appreciate many other models. I even like 67 Fastbacks, and wouldn't mind having one in my GM garage.

10th Jul 2015, 16:02

Opinions vary, I personally like the looks of the '69 Chevelle better than '70. The thing that made 1970 so popular was the 454 power plant.

10th Jul 2015, 20:05

Clicking on the option box for the 70 LS6 was an extra 1000. If you did it is a very big deal today.

I like the looks of the 69 front end, not the rear angled side windows.

There a major price difference on the 69, 71 and 72.

The 70 was recently on a new set of 6 top muscle cars or all time on the US postage stamps. There's no mistaking one coming towards you on the open road. The cowl induction vacuum hood is a nice option to have specified. You could even order a rear window defogger.

I have factory air with a 4 speed. They can be a bit thirsty on a long distance run to car shows. But it's worth it. My friend's 66 427 Corvette gets 7.5 MPG and my economy Chevelle is at 8.5 MPG. But who cares, it was just checked for fun. They aren't daily driven. I like burning the tanks out and adding new gas anyway.

11th Jul 2015, 06:40

Pretty serious money is changing hands on these 70 models on http://blog.hemmings.com/index.php/2006/01/26/ex-racer-chevelle-rakes-in-1-2-million/

Especially the LS6.

If you are into collectible 1969 Chevelles, the 1969 mentioned with the COPO 427 is the one to go after. It's not as readily known as the 70 454 SS. If you are going to make the really big investment in an epitome true big block SS, why not a 70? It's the most recognized with the broadest appeal of all Chevelles. It's like buying a 56 Chevrolet vs a 55 or 57 if you get the analogy. If it's your favorite car and you don't mind putting way more into a full costly restoration, any year works. It's what you like.

I like finding a brand I like, plus what most people like when it's completed. It doesn't have to be a Chevelle. But I like owning a nice car and easily getting out of it later. If you make money or break even, it equates to free ownership. That's a pretty good feeling. My relatives collect Mopars and explained the big difference on what a single year difference in significant value is on cars like Barracudas, like a 69 vs a 70, or even Chargers. It pays to do your homework before taking a big plunge, and authenticating carefully during the process of buying.

28th Jul 2016, 13:45

Taking that comment a bit further. A 70 SS 4 speed is simply the one car that you never sell. I have bought other cars, really nice around it since, but this one stays. Mid size is perfect. Three cars have a great tight ride. Compared to Camaros it rides better. I have had first and second gen Camaro SS. The full frame far better ride than the unibody. Performance is the highlight, one of the top 6 muscle cars of all time in 1970. It falls in either the number one or 2 spots on reviews from that great era. The other was the Cuda Hemi vs the 454 LS6 Chevelle SS. I suspect the Chevelle has a better ride on this as well. This is a nice car to take a few passengers to shows etc. Although not cheap to buy, it affords tremendous satisfaction to drive and own. These cars are relatively very simple to own and maintain. No smog or pollution devices. No sensors or cats. Go to electronic ignition. They have disc brakes. Power steering and power brakes are a must. Reliable classic. I take off the car cover, unhook the battery maintainer and turn the key and go. It doesn't take long to get to a given destination. Overall very nice cars. Mine is also a great investment.

28th Jul 2016, 21:06

The 64 GTO would be on a top ten collector list as an early muscle car. Not 65-67. Remember top ten even though the latter years are muscle cars as well. The 70 Chevelle SS LS6 and 71 Hemi Cuda lead the list.