2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 2 of 9

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt LT3 2.2 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A poor buy

Faults:

Seatbelt issues from the start of ownership.

Car has pulled to the left since I left the lot, and have taken it back multiple times for them to tell me nothing was wrong.

Control arm bushings were replaced at 37000 miles.

Brake pads, rotors, and calipers were replaced at 45000 miles.

Wheel bearing hub, front passenger side, replaced at 67000 miles.

On third set of tires.

Power steering pump replaced at 45000 miles.

Wheel alignment done at 10000, 30000, 45000, and 65000 miles.

General Comments:

The car handles terribly. I have replaced thousands of dollars worth of parts, and still cannot solve the issue on why the car pulls to the left so bad.

The dealerships I took the car to were extremely unhelpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2010

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 Base from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Base Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carMazda 6

Summary:

Had to downgrade vehicles, but it actually cost more to run this vehicle

Faults:

Torque converter lock up relay needed repair, possible transmission needing overhaul.

Brake fluid very dirty.

Blower motor noisy.

General Comments:

Zero feel for the road with through the steering. (bad thing).

Transmission issues never resolved.

24 mpg on highway.

GM only honors Powertrain warning if error code is received.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2009

13th Nov 2009, 15:47

It's too bad people get stuck with bad cars like these. I always knew Cobalts were crappy vehicles, but I figured they could last more than 42,000 miles.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt LTZ sedan 2.2 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired800 kilometres
Most recent distance48300 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I like this 'Cadillac Cimarron' :)

Faults:

Some rattles from the back seat during winter only (cold temperature).

Front rotors begun to shake at 14000 km, they've been turned under warranty, but they seems to be doing it again.

General Comments:

100% reliable. Very low maintenance due to the computer looking at the oil degradation. So we change the oil every 15 000 km. We had no problems at all with this car so far. Nothing! Good on gas for highway trips. Simply OK in the city.

The LTZ is fully loaded with leather, heated seats, XM radio, etc... for the price of a cheap Yaris... Thanks to GM discounts and rebates!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2009

4th Nov 2009, 15:55

The discounts and rebates HAD to be there. The car would never sell otherwise.

5th Nov 2009, 17:36

I agree, American car-makers are in serious financial trouble and with all the discounts and incentives, there's a lot of bargains to be had out there. I'd have gone with the Cobalt SS, for a little over $20k brand new that thing'll probably outrun a GT Mustang! Saw the specs in Car and Driver magazine (or was it Road and Track?) ..Anyway the SS Cobalt smoked the much higher-priced WRX STI and several other pricier cars they put it up against (Acura RSX, etc). A true performance bargain.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2L 4 cylinder 5M from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder 5M Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

If you need a good, cheap vehicle - this is it

Faults:

At the moment, I am unsure what problems the previous owner had experienced with this vehicle.

However, in my case... we bought this vehicle used from a local dealer.

At around 35,000 miles, I lost the stabilizer link.

General Comments:

This car is speedy; easily handling the speed-up onto freeways, and passing other vehicles with ease.

Gas mileage is incredible; I do mostly highway driving from home to work, and have a general range of about 33mpg. A lot of freeway driving can put me anywhere near 38mpg.

Unfortunately, the interior design of this vehicle doesn't meet its performance rating. The seats get dirty VERY easily - which to many (myself included), isn't a big deal. I can, however, see it impacting the re-sale of this vehicle in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2009

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 Liter from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance16600 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Besides the defects, the car handles and drives rather well. I am satisfied with it

Faults:

At 14,000 miles the front end needed bushings and ball joints put on.

At 14,500 miles the battery went dead.

At 16,000 miles the front struts had to be replaced.

Also, at 16,000 miles the rear manual door lock mechanisms had to be replaced.

At 15,000 miles the drivers seat started to wear badly.

General Comments:

Otherwise the car runs fine.

Thank goodness for the warranty, it covered everything.

The car drives and handles very nice, besides the minor setbacks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2009

12th Jul 2009, 11:31

I applaud your patience.

13th Jul 2009, 19:04

How do you tell if the front end needs bushings and ball joints? Struts I know about because I had a Rabbit that those went bad on.

- Concerned owner of 2007 Cobalt.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews