2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn L200

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This car is awesome to drive. It has a lot of pick-up, and handles very well. I have a base model, that is - roll-up windows, no air-conditioning, no power door locks, but the stereo is really good :).

I do find it hard to see out the rear window, because of the way it is built (to look sporty), and am quite nervous backing out of parking spots etc.

The seats are not all that comfortable, but I do expect that on a base model like the Cobalt. Also, the cloth material gets dirty looking very easily. Mine is a light grey colour, and the texture of the cloth seems to attract dirt.

All in all though, I love my car! I haven't found too many cars I can say that about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2008

1st Aug 2008, 10:24

Check again... all Cobalts have A/C as standard.

3rd Aug 2008, 22:07

All Cobalts delivered in North America have standard A/C. There is a button on the panel on the lfet side of the defroster button below the radio that engages and disengages the a/c compressor.

That being said, I find my 07 Cobalt to be a great car and have had NO complaints beyond those minor ones I gave in my review last year. The foreign car fans say all kinds of stuff, but when you add up the total cost of ownership, the Cobalt is very affordable and durable. When a Cobalt costs $5,000 less than a marked up Civic or Corolla, that's money I can spend elsewhere, like on my 66 Bug!

30th Sep 2008, 11:01

Wow!

I was really excited when I read the two comments above. I ran out to my car, and looked for the a/c button... alas there was none. I also remember the salesman asking if I wanted to pay the extra monthly payment for a/c and I declined that at the time. So it appears, a/c is really not standard on all Cobalts in North America. I am in Canada, and I think that qualifies as part of North America.

Darn!

8th Dec 2008, 11:20

I am from Chicago area and I had an option to buy cobalt without A/C and with manual trans, but I went for Aveo with A/C and auto for equal money. I think I made a good choice, but MPG's are in range of 18-20. Sad isn't it?

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance9300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A high quality car that is often overlooked

Faults:

Absolutely nothing... and besides normal wear and tear I plan on it staying that way.

General Comments:

I purchased my Cobalt LS coupe on New Years Eve of 2007. It was one of the last 07's so I got a really good deal on it. After trading in my 01 Cavalier Z24 ($1000), GM Red Tag discounts and having a former GM employee (my grandfather) with me, which gave me another $1000 off, the car was $10,300. So far I have to say that I couldn't be happier. I have only taken it back to the dealer twice. Once for an oil change and another because I hit a pot hole and bent the rim (my fault of course).

With 148hp there is plenty of power for any situation. Acceleration rivals that of my Z24 which had 150hp. The transmission on the Cobalt is tuned more for economy, so it doesn't shift as snappy though. The best fuel mileage I have gotten was about 38MPG. I could beat on the car the whole week and still usually get above 30MPG.

The handling is also very good, it would be even better without the cheapo tires. The variable electric steering takes a little getting used to, but once you do, you don't notice the difference. Plus, since it's not a hydraulic system, it adds MPGs.

Overall I like the styling of the exterior on the coupe. It makes even my base LS stand out. I get compliments all of the time on it... especially from women ;) The coupe definitely has better rear styling than the sedan which kind of looks like a Neon from the rear.

The interior is very well put together and is a huge step up from the Cavalier. I have no idea why people say the interiors are bad on these cars. I was in a 2003 Honda CRV which had just as much hard plastic, and even had squeaks and rattles.

The stereo head unit looks better than previous GM designs, and I like the AUX jack. The speakers don't sound bad for a basic stock setup.

I do miss the power features and keyless entry from my Z24, but that's my fault for not getting the LT.

I find the DIC to be very useful, and appreciate the extra touch of having the steering wheel buttons lit. I like the height adjustable feature since I like to sit higher.

I don't have any trouble with rear visibility or seat comfort, which seems to be a common complaint for some people. Note that I also didn't get a rear spoiler.

With all of this good, I also have a few gripes. The biggest is the lack of ABS. I know you can get it on other trims, but GM took a step back here since all 1992-2002 Cavaliers had this standard.

Another thing is that my power steering sounds a bit loud. I don't know if this is normal for electric steering or not.

Also, my hubcaps make horrible squeaking noises. It really detracts from an otherwise well made car.

Finally, while I think they overall did an excellent job on the interior, Chevy should have made the door panels two-tone instead of the solid gray color. From what I've seen, they only did this on the LS model as the other trims have the two-tone.

Overall I am very much satisfied with my Cobalt and GM in general. I think that more people should realize that just because it's domestic doesn't mean that it's junk. If I did it all over again, I would still get the Cobalt, but I would spend the extra money and get the LT, which has all of the power features, slightly better interior, ABS and alloy wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2008

21st Aug 2008, 16:32

Great review! You really sound like you know what you're talking about, unlike most who leave reviews on here.

This may sound dumb, but the hubcap noise can be easily fixed. I don't know what causes the problem, however my friend's '06 Cobalt made the same noise. Take them off and put them back on. IT WORKS!

Please keep us undated on your car.

13th Oct 2008, 00:09

I agree with this review but have some complaints of my own along with some good things about the Cobalt. I'll make it simple and list them.

Negatives:

1. Interior is a light grey which allows for very noticeable stains. The plastic is hard to clean especially around bottom of door.

2. The trunk opening is small and most medium to larger-sized coolers fail to fit.

3. Windshield isn't very resistant to even the smallest of pebbles. I have four chips in the windshield and the cold weather caused a crack to form across the passenger side and along the bottom.

4. Hubcaps squeak as well so I just decided to remove them.

Positives:

1. Fuel economy is surprisingly better than what it is said to be. I can get from 35-39 mpg while going 45-75 mph.

2. Engine is rather peppy for being a 4-cylinder.

3. Plenty of front seat leg room!

I believe that's all I really wanted to add...

27th Nov 2008, 15:07

Is there anyone of you that have a brochure for Cobalt 2007 LT that indicates if the ABS is optional or standard? Because I bought my Cobalt 2007 LT last November 2007 and I thought that ABS is already included. I just want to verify.

Or may be you can give a website that I can see the specification of Cobalt 2007 LT, because I went to the Chev website and the only thing there now is for Cobalt 2009 model. I also called the customer service of GM and told me that it is optional, but I asked if they can send me the documents or brochure that it is optional, they told they can't, I smell something fishy going on.

I hope you can help me guys.

Thanks.

Guiller.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews