2006 Chevrolet Colorado LS 4 cylinder from North America


Total piece of crap


Reduced Power light comes on. Dealer tried to fix it 6 times. The dealership cannot seem to fix this problem. It is almost impossible to drive.

General Comments:

I will never buy a Chevy again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2009

12th Apr 2011, 20:08

Man, if you write off a manufacturer because of one problem, you will run out of vehicles to buy very fast.

Better just go buy a bicycle.

2nd Mar 2012, 11:06

Thank you. Chevy has a lot of very good vehicles, and every dealership has problems with vehicles. My mom has had one since she bought it brand new in '06. It has a few problems, but has treated her and I very well.

27th Oct 2012, 09:54

It's GM period. What do people expect? The President had to save them for a reason. Pure junk.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Z71 I5 3.5 Vortex from North America


Great mid-sized truck with awesome performance


I have replaced the blower fan twice. The original fan and it's replacement chirped like a cricket and would get louder the longer it remained on.

General Comments:

The In-line 5 3.5 Vortex engine has a lot of punch, and yet gets pretty good gas mileage. I average about 22 mpg.

Just turned 20,000 miles, and notwithstanding the blower fan, no problems whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Colorado LT 2 2.8 from North America




Honestly, the only complaint I have about my Colorado is the windshield has needed to be replaced twice. That's really not Chevy's fault, unless they could use thicker glass or Lexan.

General Comments:

I bought the Colorado with the ZQ8 suspension package, this thing handles like a corvette! I don't suggest the sport suspension if your going to cry about the bumpy ride, but I'm a car guy and it's all about the performance!

Great gas mileage with the manual transmission!

Tons of interior room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2007

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Crew Cab 5 cylinder from North America


Looks good and runs good, but do not want to have to use an umbrella and wear boots when I drive


Water leaking from Sun Roof... water leak from firewall. Gas mileage nowhere near what was on sticker.

General Comments:

Vehicle is plagued with water leaks. Dealer was unable to fix on first or second attempts.

Sun roof leak was fixed on the third attempt by replacing the entire unit, which should have been done first since vehicle was brand new.

The next leak is from somewhere along the firewall. Dealer has had the fender off, dashboard pulled apart and it took one week until they said they had found the problem and repaired it. However as soon as the next rain came the water poured in again. Dealer has since (in the past two weeks) not attempted top repair it again.

Going to the attorney very soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2007

27th Apr 2007, 08:04

Find the where the leek is coming from your self and put some ABC gum in the hole. Problem solved. (ABC gum = Already Been Chewed"

18th Jul 2007, 16:28

The seats in the Colorado I have are not adjustable so if you have long legs your knees will be in the dash so you can reach the steering wheel. If you strech out your legs you will be over extending your arms and creating a pain in your back. Other than that I'd say the vehicle is fine. If fully adjustable seats were installed I'd proclaim this to be a very fine ride.

8th Apr 2011, 19:17

Water leak... go to a different dealer. This one isn't interested in fixing the problem.

Dealers prefer NOT to do warranty work, as they don't make the same rate of pay $$ as non warranty $$ repair work. When they are busy, they will rush you through and hope you go away.

I work at a dealer, and am not allowed to suggest any warranty repairs when I see an extra "warranty covered" problem when working on warranty covered vehicle. I am to just do what the vehicle is in for and get it out. Water leaks do not make $$.

11th Jul 2011, 14:08

Wow, I'm not sure where the 4/11 commenter works, but hopefully I never do business with that dealership.

A buddy of mine services at a GM dealership (I won't say which one, but they're located in southern Vermont), and they suggest warranty work whenever he brings it in for service. Too bad every dealer isn't that attentive.