1996 Chevrolet Corsica 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America


This is a great family car, and cheap to own


Our brakes were bad when we bought it at 120000 miles, cheap and easy fix.

Its starting to leak some oil at 140000 miles, replacing gasket and a missing bolt.

Power steering fluid leak.

Possible exhaust leak, we have been noticing a smell while idling.

General Comments:

This is a great car, we paid 700 and it runs better and is more reliable than my last car, a 2001 Chevy Malibu.

Everything on the car has been very inexpensive and easy to fix.

Great cars if you keep up with routine service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

1996 Chevrolet Corsica 2.2L (4 cylinder) from North America


Great car on gas, 2.2L a better choice than the V6


Replaced the head gasket once.

Replaced the alternator once.

Replaced the fuel pump once.

Replaced the A/C pump once.

These repairs have been done over a 6 year period.

General Comments:

Car is very reliable.

To this day, at over a 104,000 miles, I still get almost 30 miles to the gallon on long trips.

Seats are becoming uncomfortable to sit in for very long, but the car is over 10 years old which is understandable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

1996 Chevrolet Corsica 4 door sedan 3.1 from North America


Nice car, when its running!


The fuel line hose split at the connection leaking fuel. I replaced it and had nothing but problems. The car would chug and die when accelerating, so I changed the fuel pump, fuel filter, throttle position sensor, fuel pressure regulator, oil sending unit, and now it doesn't hold fuel pressure. You can turn the key on and the fuel pressure is good,then start the car and then the fuel pressure drops and the car dies with in 30 seconds.I'm at a lose! Could my computer be bad, or my fuel injectors?

General Comments:

If anyone knows please email me at scdhooker@yahoo.com I'm out of ideas. Thank You.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

1996 Chevrolet Corsica 4 cylinder from North America


A SOlid reliable vehicle


The head gasket blew, but was driving the car on three cylinders for 3 months, so this car must be reliable!!!

General Comments:

I love this car! it has no body rust, has over 200,000 miles, and it keeps going and going. aside from needing an egr valve, I don't have any complaints!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

1996 Chevrolet Corsica from North America


This car ran very well until it hit 100,000 miles


All of the following problems occurred after 100,000 miles.

The transmission had to be replaced.

The head gasket blew.

The entire coolant system had to be replaced.

The paint job has begun to flake off and large rust spots are appearing.

The periodically, the service engine light soon has gone on and off and now will not shut off no matter what is done to the car.

Finally, the on board computer is dying.

General Comments:

This car ran great for the first 100,000 miles and required only normal maintenance.

The bucket seats caused my back to be thrown out after long trips (I am not old, only in my twenties), however a special back cushion solved that problem.

Last year alone, I had over $3,000 worth of work done besides the cost of normal maintenance.

I will not sink any more money into this car and go without for a while until I can afford a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

3rd Mar 2004, 17:46

Well, I agree that it is a pain in the butt about getting these repairs done. I had a Japanese car with 100,000 miles on it and it needed the exact same repairs except the computer and the paint, although it wasn't the best anyway. It's normal, once a car gets to be that high of mileage, those things start to go, I know, it's been like that ever since I've driven cars. But if you're up to the replacement of those parts, you can drive it for many years to come and yes even for GM's. I've driven them for years too and have encountered the same things no matter what make.

9th Mar 2004, 13:53

Baloney. My 1996 Accord just rolled 170,000 miles having required nothing more than fluid changes, belts, a battery, CV boots, set of brakes, tires, tune-up, hoses and belts. a GOOD car should not have any major mechanical problems for at least 200,000 miles. There are more good cars built today than there were 15-20 years ago. Today, 100,000 miles on a modern engine is just getting started. Unfortunately, the Corsica was not known for it's quality or technology (it was based on a 10 year old design)

9th Mar 2004, 17:06

TO the last comment: Your right there are more, better cars on the road now then in the 80's and early 90's, but the best cars ever produced were in the late 60's and throughout the seventies. If a car were taken care of it could go for 200 000 miles. Here is the big reason though, After the motor went, you could rebuild the motor yourself or have it done cheap and drive for another 200 000 miles. Oil changes half as often, every part was and is cheaper. There were no necessary, routine repairs such as timing belts and CV boots. There were no computers that had to be reset, only the simplest of electrical and mechanical systems. My 79 Impala and my brothers 70 Pontiac Strato Chief (like the perisienne, Canada only) both recently had drive train replacements and will be on the road for a great deal longer. Todays cars are throw-away Ten years and they' re just about ready for the Junkyard.