2004 Chevrolet Epica Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2004 Chevrolet Epica from Korea

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Regrettably unreliable

Faults:

Always same problem - STALLING = without notice. It seems to be a code computer problem - but extremely hazardous and dangerous.

General Comments:

We love the vehicle and the dealership is great, but the car is extremely unreliable with this always unexpected stalling problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2010

19th Feb 2013, 00:39

Does your stalling problem occur when decelerating or braking?

2004 Chevrolet Epica LX 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

EXPENSIVE to keep running

Faults:

My rear wheel bearings.

My right rear spindle bushings.

My transmission lines rusted out.

My brakes, which is basic wear and tear.

My converter.

My wipers have a mind of their own.

My heater is on hot and will not come back to cool.

My valve cover seals leak oil into spark plug wires, causing a miss.

General Comments:

I like the car to drive. It seems OK, but have had a lot of issues and spent a lot of money on repairs compared to my old 1996 Lumina. It seemed to go forever without any issues, unlike this piece of crap car. I done some research, and the car is NOT AT ALL A GM product!!! The actual make of the car is DAEWOO (made in Korea). If this had of been brought to my attention in the first place, I would have not purchased this crap car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2009

2004 Chevrolet Epica LT from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

Wheel bearings.

Traction control.

Brake rotors.

Steering.

Electronics.

Stalling.

General Comments:

I've had this car for 5 years, 120,000 kms. It started stalling just after the warranty was up.

It's always been serviced by the dealer. The service people are always ignorant and extremely rude when we try to have it fixed. I can't believe GM allows their service departments to treat customers so poorly.

I've always been a die hard Chevrolet guy, but I'll never buy a GM again due to this junk car and ridiculous service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

14th Nov 2009, 20:06

Another Chevy fan chased off by the obvious fact of poor GM quality and customer service.

2004 Chevrolet Epica from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27 kilometres
Most recent distance61000 kilometres

Summary:

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!!!

Faults:

Engine sputters.

Had to replace transmission and gear shift.

When shifted into Drive, it sometimes went into reverse and vice versa.

Replaced rear drivers side brake light 4 times.

When parked for long periods of time (24 hrs),the engine would not turn over until one played with the gear shift for several minutes.

General Comments:

Biggest lemon on the market.

Tried as all heck to get GM to buy it back. We didn't succeed, and now we're stuck with a $26,000 sour lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2009

2004 Chevrolet Epica from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance38000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Nice, but not reliable

Faults:

While driving normally, the throttle will start acting very erratic, revving up and down approx. 800 to 1200 rpm. If you stop and turn off the ignition, it will then reset itself and drive normally for a couple months.

I have had it to my dealership on numerous occasion, and am told every time, there is no other Epica in North America experiencing this type of problem. They say they cannot get a code unless the car is having the problem at that specific time, and have not been able to duplicate it. I have explained to General Motors the importance of reliability of our car due to health problems, but I am told that's why I have roadside assistance.

General Comments:

This is a great car when it is running properly, but it's not very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

2nd Jul 2007, 15:34

Unfortunately, I also own a 2004 Chevrolet Epica LT. Your comments are a carbon copy of what I have experienced with this vehicle. Don't worry, you are not the only one! I think this car should be recalled and taken off of the market.

It's really too bad, because the general esthetic's of the car is great!

6th Apr 2009, 10:02

Not very happy with my Epica, every month it is in the shop for numerous problems. Will not buy a Chev again.

15th Apr 2010, 05:08

I have a same problem with the rpm. It's acting funny when the car is engaged in D or R. It automatically goes up and down. Need help. Dealer cannot do anything about this..

15th Apr 2010, 10:39

Need help for my Epica regarding the RPM going up and down. domnic009@hotmail.com

Please please please help.

20th Sep 2012, 07:24

I have a 2004 Epica, and the fuel pedal is very erratic. When you turn your key on, the fuel pedal goes up and down, and when you drive, you can feel the car speed up and slow down, but there is never a code.

26th May 2013, 22:34

You guys need to understand a little more about how an engine works. I noticed the RPM issue when the car was still under warranty, and immediately knew it was a defective throttle body. I believe they should have made a recall for this, because all 2004's had a defective throttle body; the car would press the gas on its own or just stall. The car is equipped with an electronic throttle body, so it just isn't the same as a mechanical one. The only thing you have to do about the RPM acting up is get your throttle body replaced with a non-defective one.

28th Sep 2013, 00:12

These vehicles also have computer memorized driving habits for the best fuel economy, and that may affect engine concerns or RPM fluctuations due to different driving conditions or habits.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews