2004 Chevrolet Epica Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2004 Chevrolet Epica from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission  
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

3 sensors.

Engine light stays on.

Engine blew at 89,200k.

Pistons/new engine at 122,000.

Stalls all the time.

General Comments:

This car is by far the worst car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th March, 2011

2004 Chevrolet Epica LT from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres

Summary:

I should have bought a Plymouth Reliant (K car), because it's more reliable

Faults:

Three transmission lines started leaking just after I bought the car.

The power sensor went the following month, causing the car to chug when I tried to accelerate.

The positive battery terminal corroded, causing the battery to run down.

The check engine light came on after I could smell like someone lit a match, and the car started shaking and sputtering.

I haven't had the car checked out yet, but it costs a lot of money to fix each time.

General Comments:

The car looks nice, and it's comfortable.

It gives a nice smooth ride.

It costs me more money when I get an oil change, because it takes 7 litres of oil.

When I accelerate, I noticed it doesn't pick up right away.

Tired of the check engine light coming on, and it's costly to fix.

The car requires a radio code, which my car didn't have, and it cost me to get one.

Not a reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2010

28th May 2011, 12:47

Have had the car for a few years now, bought it used and can't really complain, other than the strange transmission it has. The code when you try and install a new deck is common in new cars based on car stereo theft. The light bulbs never seem to last all that long, and if you go over 3000 rpm, gas mileage isn't a factor. I enjoy the car; it has pick up and has been reliable for me. Taking care of your car tends to avoid all these faults.

2004 Chevrolet Epica LS 2.0 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres

Summary:

Think about it twice if you want to buy an Epica!!

Faults:

I am from Halifax, NS, Canada and I purchased a Chevy Epica in summer 2008. It was great until the warranty was up in January 2009, when the problems started to appear.

First it started with the check engine light; I asked to get it checked, but the dealer told me to check the gas cap and drive it for at least 60k and the light will go off. It did go off.

After 2 weeks, I had to play with the key to make it turn in the ignition, then after doing that for a week, which was annoying, the key wouldn't turn in the ignition at all, so I had the car towed to the dealer and they replaced it for a cost of $877.19.

When I got my car back, the check engine light was on, the trunk light was on while the trunk was closed, the clock was not working, and not to mention all the interior lights were not working as well. I went to ask why all that happened while the car did not had any problems except the ignition; they told me that when they got the car in, the light for the trunk was on and they had to replace the trunk paddle, which will cost me, and replace the clock and check the fuse for the interior lights. To scan the engine light, it's not funny; just to scan the engine light to get a code cost $200, so I got really sad and disappointed, since I did not have those problems when I took the car in.

I spoke with the chairman of the dealer, and he told me "sorry, I can't help you if you won't pay". It's their mistake, they fixed something and ruined something else!! Not fair, I never ever had any problems with any dealers like GM in my life. I will never buy a GM car or fix my Epica there again.

I did not had any option except to go to a garage, and they just replaced one fuse and the whole car is working, and when I drove for 5 minutes, the check engine light went off..

The car was working amazingly until the summer where the check engine light came on again, and the car shakes and won't turn on in the morning except after 3 tries. So I went to the same garage, and they told me it's an O2 sensor problem, so I told them to fix it, and it cost me $264.83. The check engine light went off.

Next day the check engine went on again, so I did the gas cap thing and it went off again, and it never came on again.

In the fall, since it rains a lot, I noticed a loud noise coming from the left side of the car when I turn left, so I took it to the garage and I had to change the front left wheel hub for $356.88. In the following week, I had the same problem in the right side, so I had to replace the front right hub for the same amount. I started to get frustrated with this car..

There were no problems until December 2009 when it's too cold and wet. The car would shake after 50km/h or when I am slowing down. I took it to the garage, and I had to change the 2 front rotors for $278.99 each. I noticed all these car parts are expensive!!! :(

Then when I drive the car, the shakes went off the wheel when I drive up to 50km/h, but when I slow down it shakes, so I took it to the garage; they told me they have to replace to 2 rear rotors, and I did and it cost me for each $315.64.

In January of 2010, the check engine came up AGAIN. I got really sad, disappointed and frustrated with this car; I hated the car after all that. I took it the garage, and they told me it's possibly a converter or an O2 sensor, so I told them I would think about it, and I will get back to you. I never did.

In May 2010, the left headlights and the right fog light had humidity in them, since it rains a lot in NS. I went to ask if they can open them and clean them, but they said I have to replace the whole thing, which will cost me a lot, so I was like nope, I will not pay a penny more for this car. In June however, the left headlight humidity went away, which I am happy about, but the right foglight is still full of it, and I am thinking about replacing it...

And I kept the engine light, because the car is working fine except sometimes it hesitates, especially after I fill up with some gas, but now I fear what is going to go wrong with this car the next day.

General Comments:

The car is very luxury and for its price it's amazing. I love my Epica LS; if I did not have any problems, I would keep the car forever..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2010

11th Jun 2010, 02:20

Why do you think this car is called Epicrap in some quarters?

4th Sep 2010, 22:35

I've had the exact same problems with my 2004 Epica - the car shakes at high and low speeds, shuts off sometimes when starting or when slowing down (it cuts out sometimes in rush hour traffic in Toronto - not exactly safe).

I've decided to cut my losses and get rid of it. It's had problems for years and I've wasted money trying to hang on to it. It really is a bad car - it looks nice inside and out, but I've learned that you really get what you pay for.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews