2004 Chevrolet Epica Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2004 Chevrolet Epica LT 2.5 inline 6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired46 kilometres
Most recent distance550 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A nice luxury car at an affordable price, but with serious quality problems (at least the lights)

Faults:

There is massive water condensation in both headlights and both taillights. Up to half the lenses are covered and water droplets collect and run down on the lens. The car has been in the shop 3 times already. First, GM advised that this is "normal" and would clear with driving, but it got worse. Today, I got new taillights. One is fine, the other started to fog up again. The headlights still need to be replaced.

Engine performance is a bit low, but acceptable for my driving needs. Fuel consumption is much higher than the promised range of 7.9-11.9 liters/100km. I get about 14.

General Comments:

Despite the headlights, I really like the car. It is fully appointed with luxury options and very smooth to drive.

It handles very well even in the city and parking lot.

It is a great steal at the price.

There seem to be quality assurance problems. I have seen other Epicas with excessive condensation in the lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

12th Sep 2006, 16:15

I have my my 2004 Epica LT for just about 2 years now. It was a wonderful car until about 6 months ago. It started backing off when I was driving it almost like it was not getting gas. Then it started stalling. I have had it in to the dealership now 5 times for this problem. Most recently today. The dealer does not know what is wrong with it. The most recent time it stalled was last Friday. But it happened at an intersection then and I could not get it started again right away. It took about 5 tries before it would start. I was on my way out of town and was just happy that I was able to make it to my destination and back again. Anybody else have a stalling problem with their car? I have also had the check engine light problem off and on and have taken it in to have that fixed. After the 3rd try, they finally got it to turn off.

2004 Chevrolet Epica LS 2.5 litre DOHC inline 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre DOHC inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired600 kilometres
Most recent distance1100 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

Great car for a great price

Faults:

There have been no problems with this car to date.

General Comments:

This car is a great value. It feels like a luxury car for the price of a mid-size. There is very little cabin noise, and it rides extremely smooth.

The only down-side is that the engine is perhaps a little underpowered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

5th Dec 2005, 08:37

While a great car, the Epica is no longer being made. As a result, there is no used car market for it. Thus the value has dropped in half in less than two years.

2004 Chevrolet Epica LT from Kuwait

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Epica

Summary:

Unreliable and a bad Investment

Faults:

The car vibrates. The dealer tried to fix it a couple of times, but was not successful. I believe it's a manufacturing fault. A number of other cars have been brought in with the same problem.

General Comments:

Chevrolet should resolve the issue or call back the cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

12th Oct 2004, 03:40

Well said. It is true with me. The GM should take back the car. The trouble is more at 5000KM itself. The Engine Check sign is on display all the time and the dealer Service Dept. do not have the proper knowledge about the fault. As per the dealer in Kuwait it is Manufacturing fault of GM. They simply replace the sensor and solve the problem temporarily. GM should take this matter seriously and replace the vehicles which are having this defect immediately.

2004 Chevrolet Epica GX 2.5 L6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 L6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1200 kilometres
Previous carToyota Sequoia

Summary:

Sexy and smooth

Faults:

Nothing at all. I just bought it yesterday.

General Comments:

It's smoother then a Lexus 6 cylinder. But it is not as powerful. I realize that it felt like a bargain price.

I love the car and recommend the car to anyone that's looking for a car that is smooth, cheap and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

6th Jul 2004, 14:41

The Epica is a nice looking car, but I agree it does need more power, and GM should supply one of their engines in it. The new 2.4L ECOTEC that's coming out would be a good choice as it has 170 HP. Otherwise I think it's a nice car and very affordable, enjoy yours.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews