2001 Chevrolet Impala Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2001 Chevrolet Impala 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Large and affordable

Faults:

Good performance and fuel efficiency from the 3.8L engine. Comfortable seats and quiet interior make this vehicle a joy to own. My vehicle is equipped with the optional premium sound system with eight speakers and sound quality is weak.

Sure it has lots of bass but one can tell that it doesn't have good sound reproduction.

General Comments:

This vehicle handles well for a sedan.

However, it needs higher speed rated tires and all models should be equipped with a tachometer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

2001 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Awful, bland car - maybe the Intrepid is a better buy

General Comments:

Wanted to see if any new sedans are decent to drive. Like the rest I drove, this was no exception -- NO!

Very un-nimble, poor handling. Even though the LS has the "sport suspension"! Acceleration equally bad, with the weak 3.8 hindered further by the awful-shifting automatic, which doesn't downshift unless you hold the pedal all the way to the floor for 5 full seconds.

Average comfort (better than Buick Century, though) and average everything else.

How could police departments possibly use a crappy car like this?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

18th Aug 2001, 14:36

Man, get yourself a Corvette. For me though, I've got kids and a wife and we have a budget.

I've done a fair amount of research and from what I can see, this looks like a reliable, safe and affordable car. Nice intersection of attributes I'd say.

28th Aug 2001, 16:46

How could you possibly say this??? :

(Very un-nimble, poor handling. Even though the LS has the "sport suspension"!)

The one thing I am most impressed with about the new Impala LS is the handling. It has excellent handling and road holding ability for a car its size. It's really just about as good as my '94 Camaro. Considering that the Impala weighs a lot more, I am very impressed by its outstanding handling and feel of the road.

Acceleration is not great. It is pretty good, but not as good as the Camaro, of course. But it does downshift right away when you push the pedal down; it is quite responsive.

If you meant your comments seriously, then yours must have something wrong with it. Mine's a whole lot better than what you describe.

1st Jan 2003, 18:52

Hey, the thing drives like a Buick, unless you're the sort of person who does doughnuts in the parking lot for fun, how much agility do you really need?

It does excellent on the highway. I didn't notice any road noise, but I had the radio on.

In the city, compared to most sedans, it's similar to a Sherman vs. a Willys (I exaggerated a bit), it's big (as I said, it's a Buick), and a little sluggish, but its got a V6.

Basically, it's a Buick in everything, but price, a great family car, and a great date car (the front armrest folds up to make a bench, as I said, a great date car)

15th Apr 2003, 10:57

The Impala LS handles quite well for a car this size. Yes, it is a bit underpowered, yet peppy enough on the entrance ramp and the passing lane.

The transmission is a different story though - total piece of crap. After several trips to service, it's still shuddering, slipping, grinding and slamming into gear.

Hey, it's a chevy...oh, did I mention it only has 15,000 miles on it?

2001 Chevrolet Impala Standard 3.4L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A road noise amplifier!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I wanted to buy an Impala, so I rented one for four days. Thank God I did!

I really liked everything about the car until I took it on a road trip. The road noise was amplified through the floor of the vehicle. It has to be the most annoying car I have ever driven in this regard. Don't think I am confusing tire noise with road noise, on a smooth highway the car was quiet. Don't buy one until you have a chance to drive it on a sustained trip at least 100 miles one way. OR, be sure to get the supreme radio/cd package and use it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

25th Jan 2002, 21:07

I purchased the base model 2001 Chevrolet Impala 10 months ago. I have driven the car for just under 9000 miles. Overall I am quite satisfied with the Impala. My family took the car on a 3500 mile vacation trip this past summer. The car had a comfortable ride, and the large trunk allowed us to easily pack all the gear we needed. No one in our family found the road noise that some reviewers complain about to be a significant concern. The car accelerated nicely when merging into freeway traffic or when passing at highway speeds. We averaged 32 miles per gallon for the entire trip. We drove the posted speed limits ranging from 55 to 75 miles an hour with the air conditioning running approximately 80 percent of the time. In my opinion the Impala is a good family sedan. I believe the vehicle provides a solid value for the average family sedan buyer.

2001 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1742 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Finally an affordable luxury car!

Faults:

Nothing yet! It's still brand new! Hopefully it will stay that way!

General Comments:

This car is super! Very sporty (in the Torch Red color) and very roomy. Lots of space for the child's car seat and stroller, but also sporty when out on the town!

The stereo is great and does not have to be upgraded like most cars! Lots of bass! It has the On Star System for safety and security which works like a charm!

I feel like I bought one of those expensive foreign "status" cars!

I just can't say enough about this car. It is truly wonderful! I had a Camaro before I had my first baby, so I was upset to have to get a four door car. Not anymore! I would love this car even if I was single! SUPER!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

2nd Jun 2001, 07:15

My wife and I also traded a Camaro for this same car, and we rate it a 10, the car rocks.

Marc & Rose.

24th Mar 2003, 14:38

How are feeling about your Impala, now? Have you been faced with the maintenance issues others have been only 1 to 2 years later? I loved my car for the first 12,000 miles too. But, I drive 70 miles round trip a day to and from work. If my problems in under two years are what the rest of the 2001 owners will be facing at 56,000 miles, you better start saving for car repairs. Or better yet, trade it now!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 30 reviews