2006 Chevrolet Impala LT from North America - Comments

27th Nov 2008, 01:42

We had no problems with our 2006 Impala until my daughter destroyed it in a collision last month. Ironically, I had the same problems you had with my 1993 Toyota Corolla. We had it for 3 years and replaced the transmission. The thermostat got stuck and left my wife stranded. It had electrical problems with turn signals and lights. The tires wore in 15,000 miles, and the alternator failed.

Luckily the warranty covered everything but the car had no power, floated and wobbled on the highway and got the same fuel economy as the Impala. I really missed the VW Jetta I traded for it.

3rd Dec 2008, 15:47

Are you talking about the correct year? How could you own a 2006 for 3 years, its only 2008.

22nd Dec 2008, 16:29

I am having the some of same problems that the 1st person is having with my 2006 Impala. Both of my front windows are making noises and I have a transmission leak. Also my heater/ac fan works when it wants too. I am very disappointed with this car. I have even filed a complanit with chevy. Don't know what good it will do. It is a lemon!!!

28th Dec 2008, 19:38

I too have a 2006 Chevy Impala LT with 55,000 miles. I have begun having problems with the vehicle. I first had an air pocket in the heating lines which needed to be flushed in order for the heater to work. Then after taking it to the dealership the car began having problems with accelerating/stalling in the first gear. Now, I just got back from the holidays (4 days) and the "check battery charging system" light has come one. I figured the battery must have been drained somehow due to the fact that it was in the cold during the time I was gone. I started the car and ran it hoping it would recharge the battery, but the indicator has not shut off. I am second guessing Chevy and this vehicle as I shouldn't be spending money fixing it as it is only 2 years old.

28th Jan 2009, 04:48

I have the 2006 Impala with 50K miles. I too experienced the noisy windows and found they were due to defective exterior belt line weather striping. A local dealer was willing to do the repair free of charge outside my warranty window, but I wound up replacing them myself due to scheduling conflicts.

I also experienced an air pocket in the heater core early on and had it fixed by the dealer, but it happened again a year later...again, another easy fix I performed myself using some simple instructions I found on the internet.

I do not consider the car a bad one given the mileage I have on in and the few repairs I have performed. What I don't like about Chevy (or Toyota or any other manufacturer) is that most all know of minor problems like the ones I mentioned, but do nothing about it unless you complain. There are sites you can subscribe to that list technical bulletins for a vehicle, but that is just another added expense to the consumer.

27th Mar 2009, 01:51

In my humble opinion: The problems you guys are having with the impala may not be so much the cars fault (all cars break! Come on!) but YOU GUYS TAKE YOUR CARS TO DEALERS TO SERVICE!!! Talk about expensive and crappy service! Just because it says Chevy on the sign out front don't mean they are the best! My 06 Impala has been perfect, besides minor stuff, And the heater issue? 5 bucks at a local shop. How bout' you guys stop complaining about stuff and take your cars into a shop that isn't only worried about stealing your money???

11th Apr 2009, 13:15

I just purchased a 06 Impala 3 days ago... and I must say that at this point I'm nowhere near pleased with my purchase.

The first day I had it... I noticed a noise coming from the steering column... like a popping noise of some sort when you turn the wheel to the left or right. I called the dealership and found out that they are notorious for that. I guess the grease or lube had leaked out of some type of bushing...

I woke up this morning to find a big puddle of anti-freeze on my garage floor.

I'm starting to think that I bought myself a pretty piece of CRAP!!!

I traded in my Camry for this domestic vehicle... and I think that has been a MAJOR mistake on my part!!!

THEY ARE PLEASING TO THE EYE, BUT NOT THE POCKET!!!

11th Dec 2009, 12:12

I too own a 2006 Impala. The car is beautiful, however it has suffered some problems. The power steering lines failed, it has suffered an antifreeze lead from the intake manifold, a blown head gasket, failed master cylinder and a failed water pump. This all took place in 18 months from the purchase date of the vehicle. It was purchased under GM Certified program with 32,000 miles. It now has 75,000, and now the rear defogger no longer works. I like the car, but wish it did not have all these problems.

14th Dec 2009, 22:40

I have a 2006 Chevy Impala. It's a complete lemon. Let's see where can I start.

At 20k I had to replace an outer tie rod.

At 40k I needed to replace the steering shaft.

At 60k my AC heater blower needed to be replaced.

And now at 69k, my transmission is slipping. What a piece of CRAP.

4th Apr 2010, 15:02

I have a 2006 Chevrolet Impala, and I have been having the same problems that many people mentioned.

My front passenger side window stopped working around 25,000 miles.

At 40,000 miles the sprayer on my window washer stopped working.

The power steering lines failed at approx. 60,000, however they were fixed by the dealer under recall.

Now, my transmission is slipping at 90,000.

It was a dream to drive for the first couple of years, but now it's nothing but a headache.

26th Apr 2010, 01:13

I have the 06 3.9L LT Impala and had the low pressure side of my power steering line burst at about 55000 miles. It also has the popping sound in the steering column. Other than that it is fine with 96500 miles on it. It runs great! Very fast (stupid speed limiter at 113 mph sucks!)

13th May 2010, 04:34

I also have the 06 Chevy Impala and I have had to replace both wheel bearings, the left window regulator, the rear defrost doesn't work, the transmission is slipping, two coolant sensors, and I have to get right in front of the car for the remote start to work...

I was in love with the car. It was really pretty, but now having to read all the comments from other people, I feel like I have bought a complete lemon... I think we should sue Chevrolet for the malfunctioning 2006 Chevy Impalas...

23rd Aug 2010, 14:59

I have a 2006 Impala LTZ with 41,000 miles. I love this car and it has been great to me. The only complaint I have is sometimes there is a noise coming from within the dashboard. It sounds like a fan is ticking against something. It even happens when the car is turned off.

15th Sep 2010, 19:53

I have a 2006 LT V6 3.5L Impala and I've been having a noise coming from the dash area where the AC is located. It sounds like a fan is ticking against something. This happens when the car is turned off or when I open a door. It stays on for about 30 minutes or so, then it goes off. The noise comes and goes.