2006 Chevrolet Impala Reviews

2006 Chevrolet Impala LTZ 3.9 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

It's not a lemon, but the transmission has never been right.

Faults:

The transmission has never shifted right, and the dealers have never been able to determine why. Now that it is out of warranty, it is slipping more often and more severely. Like my last two GM cars, I'll probably have to replace the transmission soon. The engines in these cars are great, but the transmissions are too light to match the power (per a trusted, certified mechanic with 40 years of experience).

General Comments:

I had a 2001 Impala LS, which is the reason I bought my 2006 Impala LTZ. The quality has gone down slightly, and the fuel economy has dropped.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2011

2006 Chevrolet Impala from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance77500 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

This car is a lemon

Faults:

Outer tie rod end.

Front end.

Power steering pump.

Idler.

Ignition switch.

Electrical problems.

2 front end alignments.

Complete transmission.

Water pump.

Got 75,000 extended warranty when purchased. Started using oil between changes at 70,000 miles, dealer said to bring the car to them for changing oil, so they can actually monitor the consumption. Took it to the dealer for an oil change at 73,000 miles, they said the oil sending unit is possibly leaking. They did not remove the exhaust manifold to inspect, they ordered a sending unit, returned for next oil change at 77000 miles and 1 quart low, they replaced the sending unit, but the oil filter housing is cracked, and they say it is no longer under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2011

2006 Chevrolet Impala LS from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Nice car if they would fix the steering, rear defroster and improve the distance on the remote start

Faults:

Rear Defroster quit working.

Remote start doesn't work from a very far distance.

Intermediate shaft went bad on the steering.

Rotors warp fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2010

29th Dec 2010, 20:45

The Intermediate Steering Shaft problem has been going on since the 2000 model Impala rolled off the assembly line. You have a 2006 Impala. Why has the problem continued and not fixed permanently? GM was supposed to have a new and revised steering shaft, that was supposed to cure this problem.

The Impala steering problem does not just involve the intermediate steering shaft. I have had steering problems on my 2003 Impala LS. During my ownership and 30,000 miles, I have been through three rack and pinion steering shafts on the front end. The rack and pinions seem to last two and a half years, and then they leak all of the fluid. After the fluid leaks out, the steering is harder to turn, squeaks when turning and clunks. The rack and pinion is a very poor design on these cars, and I have never replaced any rack and pinion units on any car owned until at least 100,000 miles. No more GM cars for me; they are poorly made.

2006 Chevrolet Impala from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles

Summary:

This is the most dangerous car I've ever owned

Faults:

Engine power reduced and traction control comes on constantly.

General Comments:

My traction control comes on, and if I'm driving at a speed of 50 mph or above, the engine power reduces and traction control comes on, and my car's speed will automatically drop to 25 mph or less.

I had to stop driving on the highway, scared of being rear ended and possibly killed. I have to keep pressing the traction control button to maintain my speed of 40 mph, and drive with my hazard lights on, to keep from being hit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2010

16th Dec 2010, 15:09

To the poster with the traction control problem.

There is no car made that has that kind of "feature" where at normal highway speeds (60-70 mph) the car will just slow down to 25 mph due to the traction control. Not as a "normal operating feature". I recommend you take it to your Chevy dealer immediately as there is a serious problem with that system! It is probably a speed sensor mis-reading, but could be a number of problems. Again, this is not a normal feature of the traction control!! That is assuming of course that by highway speeds you mean what I previously established as typical speeds (60-70) and not 100+. These cars do have a speed governor ya know!

Besides, why does anyone need to go 100+ unless you are on the track? The roads in this failed country (US) are by far extremely sub par, and not designed to take speeds of that extremity. Be safe out there folks!!

16th Dec 2010, 16:02

So take it in and get it fixed. Sounds like a computer problem, but not an impossible one to fix.

16th Dec 2010, 19:07

"This is the most dangerous car I've ever owned"

- Get rid of the deathtrap before it kills you!

26th Oct 2012, 16:58

Had same issue 4 times; twice it was throttle body issues, both repaired under warranties, both GM and purchased warranty. The other two times it was "wheel sensors" that went out. Once was covered under warranty, the second time it was $1500ish out of pocket expense.

Good luck. After the repairs, it turned out to be a great car.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 36 reviews