2006 Chevrolet Impala SS from North America


Handles nice, should have waited a couple years until Chevy worked out the kinks


Motor ticking at idle. Dealer said "that's normal".

Have replaced the A/C because of noise, still doing it though. Dealer said this is normal too. Good thing the doors aren't coming off because this would be " normal" too!

Steering gear squeals when turning, dealer IS going to replace this.

Paint peeling on rear fenders.

Also leaks or uses oil... nothing on dipstick when I checked it between changes.

General Comments:

Nice color --- Pearl white.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2008

3rd Apr 2010, 07:27

Same engine in the Grand Prix GXP. Also noticed, by accident that I had no oil on the dipstick once before. Not cool at all. Apparently it's common for the 5.3L. I don't buy it though. I switched to full synthetic, but it still did it.

2006 Chevrolet Impala LT 3.5 V6 from North America


The 2006 Impala is beautiful but it's a mechanical nightmare!


The first month I got the car something went wrong with the charging system. The dealership changed a sensor and replaced the battery.

About 5 months later only 7,000 miles on it... the transmission was slipping. The dealership kept it for a month the had to rebuild the transmission.

A Year Later 15,000 miles again having problems with the charging system and the battery was replaced.

When the dealership had the car I had them check 3 of they 4 windows because the were making weird noises when rolling them up.

All 3 Window motors were Replaced.

I've now had the car for 3 years. It's Beautiful but it's a lemon...

The transmission is slipping again the dealership will not help me because the warranty has expired.

My Impala will not drive in reverse and again charging system is out. Car won't even start. Starter is bad.

General Comments:

My car is beautiful and luxurious but it's a lemon... I have had nothing but problems with it for the last 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2008

20th Sep 2008, 23:24

I'm sorry to hear about the problems you've been having. It sucks when something serious goes back out of warranty.

My dealer somehow offered a lifetime-unlimited mile power-train warranty for my 09 Camry. That was a big plus because I honestly don't wanna repair something I'm making payments on.

On another note, I'm surprised there aren't any domestic radicals typing their hearts away like they do any in Honda, Nissan or Toyota review.

2006 Chevrolet Impala LS from North America


Good car, but has issues


The power steering pump went out at 48,000 miles and the head gasket had to be replaced.

The wires on the harness were burned out and my heat and rear defrost would not work.

There were other minor repairs that were performed once I took the my car to the dealership.

Currently, I received a message to tighten the gas cap.

Now my engine light is on.

General Comments:

I was so happy when I leased my Impala.

It was fast and drove smooth.

I love the car, but I have experienced trouble with it.

Highway mileage is good, but city mileage isn't.

With gas prices increasing, the Impala is not economical.

The dealership was very friendly and accommodating when I took my car in for the many issues.

The repairs were covered under warranty and I was given a free rental.

When I took my car in for repairs, other consumers were there who had experienced the same problems.

I can't wait for my lease end, but I have enjoyed my Impala.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2008

30th Jul 2008, 21:32

Sometimes if the gas cap isn't tight enough, the engine light will indeed turn on. I'm not sure if it will automatically clear itself or not. Hope so. Anyway, good luck.

2006 Chevrolet Impala LT 3.5 from North America


This car is awesome! Best bang for your buck!


Engine light went on: was some type of egr tube on the engine. Replaced at dealer no cost under warranty.

Back trunk lid developed a small rust spot. Dealer fixed no charge under warranty.

Ignition key barrel went bad causing the car to make chiming and dinging noises when exiting the car. Replaced by Dealer no charge under warranty.

General Comments:

All of the problems with the car were all minor and fixed under the warranty.

The dealer was fantastic, I dropped the car off in the morning they drove me to work, picked me up at work, drove me back to the dealer and gave me a loaner car to drive. The next day I picked up my car with no hassles what so ever.

This car has plenty of power out of the 3.5 engine (211 hp).

With gas so expensive I turned in my Dodge caravan from lease and bought the Impala used.

This car gets great millage (approx 29mpg) and seats 6 passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

23rd Apr 2014, 11:52


This was my post a few years ago. I had some major issues on the car that led me to trading it in.

1. My battery harness connection corroded away.

2. My oil pan was starting to leak.

3. Trans was starting to slip.

4. Rear trunk lid where the chrome strip was started to rust again, even after the dealership repainted it.

Traded it in with 80k miles for a new car. I leased a 2012 Chrysler 300.