2006 Chevrolet Impala SS 5.3L from North America

Summary:

I would never buy another one, although I like the look and feel

Faults:

Parking brake not holding car when set, never stays in adjustment.

Transmission slipping at 50,000 miles.

Loud noise coming from AC blower even when the engine is off.

Paint job is very poor quality.

Passenger seat springs sound like they are broken

Burns oil, must add 1 - 2 qts between oil changes.

Seems to run hot, although the idiot temp gauge always reads in the middle between hot and cold.

Material sagging from sun visors.

General Comments:

Always have had issues with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2010

2006 Chevrolet Impala LS from North America

Summary:

I would probably buy another one

Faults:

Bought the car with the thump in the steering at 58K. Dealer replaced the steering under warranty.

Cream colored seats stain easily from blue jeans.

Battery needed replacing at 60K.

91K - Heat doesn't work and then the dash chime warned me my engine was overheating. Found white gunk under my radiator cap. I'm being told it's the head gasket going.

General Comments:

I fell in love with this car because of the styling. To me, it was somewhat reminiscent of the old GM boats from the 80's I love, except with a modern twist.

The interior is comfortable, very soft cloth. I love the two-tone dash: dark brown for the deep dash and steering wheel, and a light cream color for the rest of the interior, separated by a strip of fake woodgrain.

All controls are easily accessible and easy to use.

Overall, I loved this car up until the radiator/cooling system issues. Now I'm starting to wonder if GM's really are just built to break.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2010

2006 Chevrolet Impala LT2 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Disappointed

Faults:

Water pump is going out at 84,000 miles. Also the fuel/gas cap sensor had to be fixed. They replaced the gas cap; $18.00 and sensor; $30. It was $88.00 to hook up to computer and read.

General Comments:

I don't like these kind of repairs at 80,000 miles. A fuel pump should not go out that quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2010

2006 Chevrolet Impala LT from North America

Summary:

Love it, wouldn't trade it for anything, BUT some very annoying and concerning issues

Faults:

Right driver's side window makes a loud screaming sound when it is warm outside. Tried WD40 - no luck.

20 inch rims won't fit on the car, and air bags/lifting/knuckels etc. are not possible. Will scrape tires, causing them to bald.

The most important issue is the squeaking and straining of the steering wheel, and the slight vibrations. Have noticed that it squeaks the most when slightly turning to the right at higher speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2010

10th Apr 2010, 11:05

1) My windows did that on my 06 Impala. They have to take the door panel off to grease the gear.

2) You are going to need a new steering shaft.

I loved mine, too, but it was a lease and now I have a Cobalt.

16th Apr 2010, 21:52

If the steering squeaks when turning the wheel, grab some grease, and grease the tie rod ends. I used WD40 instant cure.

As for the steering wheel, WD40 where it turns a few times and let it soak. Clean it off everything else, you just want it in the area between the wheel and the plastic. Squeak be gone!

2006 Chevrolet Impala LS 6 from North America

Summary:

Love the car. Hate the tie rods

Faults:

I love to drive my 2006 Impala, and have done so quite a bit in the 3 1/2 years I have owned it.

However, at 52,000 miles, both front tie rods were so deteriorated that my tires were worn on the inside wall, not visible to me. After driving for an extensive period on the interstate, my sensor tire lights came on with a warning. I immediately pulled in. The tires were literally about to blow. $825 later, I was back on the road.

Now it is 64,000 miles and I took the car for inspection. It flunked because of my left tie rod. $250 later.

Are there any other Impalas with this same problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2010

30th Apr 2010, 20:38

Yes -- I own a 2006 SS Impala and just had the driver's side tie rod replaced at 52K miles. Went to JustAnswer Chevy website and the ASE Tech said he has replaced a few of them along with TONS of the wheel hub bearings!! He said to ask the dealer for GOODWILL consideration on the tie rod replacement. Now my new worry is how long before the passenger tie rod wears out, along with the hub bearings... GM needs to own up to these problems, as I have seen them listed on several other web blogs...

4th Feb 2013, 20:36

Why in the world did it cost you so much for a tie rod end?