2006 Chevrolet Impala Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2006 Chevrolet Impala SS from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I love my car, but I would give anything to keep it out of the shop

Faults:

My shifter would not shift. Took it to the shop.

My transmission went out, at 70,000.

My front end shakes every time you push the brakes.

Tires wear out very fast.

Signal light indicator, sometimes makes a loud noise.

General Comments:

I love the car, it is very comfortable inside.

However, after the first three days of owning it, the gear shift got stuck, and I had to have it towed. They said it was a wire in the shifter.

It had brand new tires on it. After 10,000 miles, they were rough and bald.

Every time you push on the brakes, the car shakes in the front end. We thought it was the tires, but it was not, had the brakes looked at, but they were OK, so I just deal with it.

I bought the car when it had 50,000 miles on it, after 20,000 the transmission went out. While it was in the shop, they told me that the transmission had been replaced at 29,000 miles and I can't understand why this is the third transmission for this car.

The signal light indicator makes a very funny roar noise when it wants to.

The car has been in the shop 6 times since June.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd December, 2008

5th Dec 2008, 14:14

If my car had to be in the shop 6 times in a 6 mo. period, I'd be trading it in, period.

15th Apr 2009, 13:31

If your front end is shaking when you brake, that's most definitely your rotors that need to be replaced.

3rd Apr 2010, 07:23

Same power train as in my 06 Grand Prix GXP.

The 4T65E-HD transmission is well known for its issues. Spent three weeks in Dec 09/Jan 2010 in the shop for some kind of solenoid. $2000. The Pontiac dealership hardly knew how to work on this car, seeing as they ordered the wrong part the first time.

I had all sorts of issues including hard starts, XM receiver stopped working, Stabili-trac went crazy and the center console lights stopped working, but couldn't figure out why. All happened after getting it back from the shop.

Didn't have time to pitch a fit because I had to go overseas. So now it sits in the States until I can pay it down to dump it!

Really loved the car's performance and looks, but it has been a complete nightmare. I've probably put a good $4000 into it in the one year I've owned it. Never again!

18th Feb 2011, 14:44

My 2006 Impala SS was wonderful for the first four years, then it started to fall apart. First, all the paint started peeling off the hood in chunks. Then the transmission exploded at 75000 miles. As I do the research, it has become clear that these are both known problems and GM intends to do nothing about either of them. The IS4-V8 engine is rated for 323 ft-lbs of torque, but the 4T65E-HD transmission is rated at only 280. The 43 ft-lb difference is likely the reason that these transmissions seldom survive 60000 miles in this vehicle. That engine-transmission combo should never have been mated together in any car, but GM denies it is a problem. Go figure.

2006 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.9 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

It's OK

Faults:

At 60,000 the power steering pump went up, but it was still covered under warranty because I bought the extended warranty.

The water pump is leaking and I'm at 83,000 miles, but other than that, the car is pretty good. I don't think I would get another American made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2008

29th Oct 2008, 18:17

So you've had an almost trouble free car (2 issues, one of which was covered by the factory warranty), yet you decided you don't think you'd buy another American car.

It's people like you that are the cause of the American auto industry going into the toilet.

18th Mar 2009, 10:21

I have to agree to a point with the previous comment. There is so much bias against American vehicles. If this were a Honda or Toyota you'd probably say it's been a good car. People have much worse problems with their Hondas and Toyotas and they still say it's a good car. Why do people hold American cars to a higher standard for them to be satisfactory?

1st May 2009, 17:18

The car you have seems to be running fine. You had to have two things replaced, big deal. I will tell you that all cars will break down and it does not matter if it is a Toyota, Honda, Acura, etc... You should be happy with your purchase because you have a car that is reliable. I have a 2004 Impala and the car is reliable. All I replaced were the brakes, a tie rod, a turn signal module, and of course tires. I bought the car used in the summer of 2007 and this is all that I replaced.

If you have hubcaps, I suggest that you take them off before you have work done by a mechanic. The caps that hold them on are plastic and the mechanic puts them on with a power tool and breaks them. It costs about $6 dollars for one plastic cap and $60 dollars for a hubcap.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 36 reviews