29th Oct 2009, 10:41

I recently purchased a 2006 Impala LTZ in GA and I am so disappointed. I am having the transmission issues that were previously mentioned. I too have experienced the jump in the transmission, the cold air coming from the heat while sitting idle, noise like a knock up front by the tire when pressing gas, and the steering wheel tightening.

My problem is, I just purchased the vehicle 3 months ago used from a dealership that prides themselves on conducting these 15 step inspections on their vehicles. I am a Toyota Camry owner for over 10 years, but like I said 10 years. The car has had no major problems. I am very upset. I had a Chevy Z24 and I loved it. I had that car for years and put in some repairs, but nothing like this. I am disappointed in the dealership and the car.

Feeling Ripped Off.

11th Nov 2009, 16:23

I have a 2006 Impala SS. It looks like I have some of the same issues you all have, squeaking drivers window, heater blower blowing just on defrost, steering column noises, but the biggest problem we have is the transmission acts like it is low on fluid. it kinda jumps briefly out of gear, then, slips back in. It doesn't do this all the time, but it is disturbing when it does do it. Dealer says they don't have issues with these transmissions. What do you think?? Oh yeah, I have changed the fluid, at about 30,000 miles. Car has about 55000 miles now. I can live with the small stuff, but I certainly don't want to replace the transmission. Any ideas???


25th Nov 2009, 13:14

2007 Impala LTZ. Current mileage 40,562.

1- Entire remote engine start system replaced

2- Driver door handle pulled off in wife's hand

3- Sunroof track broken

4- Warped front rotors

5- Rear bumper wasn't bolted on. (8 nuts missing)

6- Check engine light

7- Tire pressure sensors all over the map (false readings)

8- Intermediate steering shaft replaced

9- Headlights stay in night time mode all the time

10- Power steering pump moan

11- Have to add 3/4 gallon antifreeze every 15,000 miles???

12- Miss and vibration at idle

13- Heater blows cold air at random

14- Lights flicker when in 3 cyl. mode

I'm extremely disappointed in the product and warranty service on this vehicle.

15th Dec 2009, 14:25

We purchased a used 2006 Chevrolet Impala in November of 2008 for my wife, primarily to commute to-and-from work. It was a low mileage vehicle.

My wife was driving the car on December 12th, 2009 when a catastrophic failure occurred with the power steering, resulting in a near miss collision. Because of the time of day / week, we were not able to have a mechanic look at it until December 15th, 2009. We were advised that the return hose to the power steering pump came off, resulting in an untimely demise to the power steering pump and damage to the rack-and-pinion steering. We were advised by the mechanic that the cost of repair would be in excess of $1,200.00.

Upon checking this website, I can see that this is a common problem with this make and model of vehicle. I called the toll-free customer service number and was given a case file number. I was then told that at my expense, I would have to take it to a dealership far away, since some of the local dealerships had closed. This makes no sense. I asked if this was a recall issue. I was advised that it was not. With all the apparent complaints in this one specific area, one would wonder why it would not be.

Anyone have any help on this? Any class action law suits pending? I can be reached at dadconner3@aol.com

16th Dec 2009, 16:17

We own a 2006 Impala, purchased in June 06. The car has 55000 miles on it. To date the only repairs have been 1 set of tires (51000 miles) and an air filter. After reading all the complaints, we are very very lucky. We have the 3.9L engine and love the gas mileage. We have had as high as 27mpg with 3 adults and lots of baggage. Our passenger window squeaks (annoyance) and we have developed the clunk in the steering column, but otherwise we have been extremely happy. I hope our luck continues.

17th Dec 2009, 21:48

2006 Impala with 60k on it. Replaced lower steering column shaft myself, at 48k. Cost around 70 bucks and took about a 1/2 hour. No window squeak or weird electric gremlins. Trans shifts correctly. Much more dependable than the POS Camry it replaced. Been a great car, and would recommend to anybody.

19th Dec 2009, 13:42

I have a 2006 Impala LT 3.5L and have had nothing but issues the last 8 months that I have owned it.

I bought it with 40k, and now have 53k, and have had the transmission repaired because it would rev high and shift hard when shifting from Reverse to Drive and taking off. After a week it started doing it again.

Have had both the passenger and driver side windows replaced and trim replaced.

Had water pump replaced and engine crank gasket replaced to help with the oil consumption (not quite sure if that fixed it or not).

You would think this car has 150k on it with the amount of issues.

I love the ride, hate the stupid cupholders, and love the interior.

The remote start works, but you have to be 10 feet away.

I do get really good gas mileage on the highway (32-34mpg @ 70Mph). I just don't think GM is what it used to be. I have had more than 12 GM cars, and this one is by far the most problematic.

If anyone else is having the same transmission issues and have had it fixed somehow, please e-mail me! troywhite76@gmail.com

21st Dec 2009, 00:25

Found what I thought was a cream puff in November of 2009. A 2006 LTZ one owner with less than 30k on it. Carfax showed the owner had it at the dealer he originally purchased it from constantly. An older gentleman. Thought that meant he had nothing better to do than baby his Impala as it is super clean in and out.

The day I bought it and ON THE WAY HOME with it, I stomped on it coming off a rolling start wanting to see what kind of juice it had. The tranny gets caught between gears, the motor revs and then it slams into a gear with a loud clunk and now it has a vibration anytime you push on it. I also found out after the fact that the steering column has been replaced, and after reading these posts, I know why the factory Goodyears are already worn out especially along the edges with so little mileage on them. I haven't even gotten the title to it yet. Great!

You can e-mail me and cry on my shoulders if I can cry on yours. pure29@aol.com

21st Dec 2009, 20:51

I've had my 07 LTZ since the beginning of July, It's a GREAT car! I bought it with around 25k, it was in an accident prior to buying it, which was a rear end collision, and the whole back end had to be replaced, but it looks new.

No problems except for the radio randomly shuts off.. but after a brief moment it works fine again, and the Remote Start doesn't work.. it blinks the lights and clicks like it wants to work but it doesn't.

This is my first car and I am very happy with it!