1991 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 2 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Lumina from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8970 miles
Most recent distance420000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

A great car to drive every day

Faults:

.

General Comments:

This car probably holds the record for miles on a Lumina with the original engine. The motor does not use or burn oil and I drive the car 80 miles every day. These are not exclusively highway miles, as the car has plenty of city and country miles on some rough Louisiana roads. The car's original transmission lasted until 380,000 miles. This has been a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

18th Jan 2006, 06:55

That is awesome---My 1991 Lumina had 320,000 miles on the original engine, but the body became too badly rusted for it to pass inspection up here in the snow belt (Buffalo, NY.), which is a shame considering it still ran like a champ showing no signs of quitting. The Lumina certainly is a superb, reliable vehicle!! They should start a 300,000+ club for Lumina owners, since it seems to be a common theme. I personally know 4 people who have early 90's Luminas, with well over 300,000 miles!

17th Mar 2006, 17:10

The lumina is great a tough reliable car. I bought one from a guy that has been sitting all winter in Michigan cold (-20 below.) One turn of the key she fired right up and drove off like a champ. This car never let me down, only minor problems such as oil leak 2 drips a day, to minor rust, power steering loses fluid, but hey what can you expect from a 91 that's over 15 years old. very good car. fun to drive.

4th Jan 2007, 17:04

Good to hear, I might buy one soon! Thanks;)

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired187000 miles
Most recent distance212000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

This car is very reliable and cheap to fix

Faults:

Before I owned the vehicle I know that the alternator was replaced along with the reservoir for the windshield wiper fluid.

I had to replace the rack and pinion at 188000.

Front brakes all redone at 192000 ($65 for parts).

At 195000 the exhausted was replaced from front to back.

Rear brakes replaced at 208000. There is a problem with the rear brakes for all Lumina's (I'm told). When the parking brake is inactive, The brake calipers freeze up and need to be replaced.

Much of the suspension was replaced at 206000.

General Comments:

Although this car is the typical American clunker, it got fairly good mpg (26) on the highway. It handled well (after the suspension was replaced). This car had a very solid engine and transmission. With extreme temperature changes, the car would sometimes stall while idling. I was not able to find someone that could accurately determine the problem. It was very well maintained, and it's still running. I'm just not the current owner. One nice thing about the car is that it has always been cheap to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

1991 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Nice car, affordable luxury

Faults:

Had a lot of problems with the EGR valve, had to be replaced about 3 times in the span of 2 months.

Had to replace the computer.

Had to replace the brake calipers often.

General Comments:

This car was a very nice ride with a lot of smooth power.

The engine ran very smoothly with hardly any noise.

The transmission changed gears very smoothly.

Liked the interior, very well laid out with ease of control and very comfortable... affordable luxury!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2005

12th Jan 2007, 03:18

I just bought a 91 Chevy Lumina. I agree the interior is really nice and plush, luxury. I hope this car holds up as good as the reviews said it does. Maybe it will go more miles then my Chevy Beretta went, only about 163 or 167,000 miles. Then it needed a newer engine. This Lumina I got has 130,000 on it, so I'll see I guess.

1991 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChrysler dodge omn

Faults:

I have replace fule injectors, had back calipers replaced twice. I have had this car now 10 years and plan to have it a few more years.

A.C. is starting to give me trouble, but otherwise has been an excellent runner even though some repairs were costly.

General Comments:

I would buy again if it was still made, but I am in no hurry to get rid of old betsy yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 40 reviews