1991 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Euro Coupe 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45600 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

One of the best overall cars built

Faults:

Aside from having to put new brake pads on it every 20,000 miles, it's on its third starter.

General Comments:

Can't ask for a better car. Sharp looks, exceptional handling (for a front wheel drive), and a decent engine. I've run mine real hard speed wise, yet take care of its needs, and I can say that this was one of the best cars built. I never intend to sell it :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cordoba

Summary:

Reliable, powerful, and safe, what more could you want?

Faults:

Had to replace the water pump.

The brakes have been completely redone twice but the first time the shop that fixed them didn't replace what I was charged for.

The trunk leaks with this year of Lumina somewhere around the tail-light assembly.

Had some problems with spark plugs burning out due to improper spacing by the shop that did the tune-up.

General Comments:

First off, the car is not that hard to work on, get a book and most repairs you can do yourself.

GM had a law suit for the brakes because they didn't tell people they had to set the parking brake. set the parking brake even if it is an automatic when you park it. This is supposed to adjust the calibers and keep them running right. Trust me, a brake job can run up to 1600.00.

This car offers great mileage and has never left me stranded. I have added a lot of accessories that run straight off the battery and it hasn't run the battery down yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

10th Oct 2001, 10:33

The trunk doesn't leak around the tail lights normally. It leaks around the outside seal, and also, there is a little place where the metal is mended by the seal, that's where I found most of my leaks were from...

19th Apr 2003, 10:50

How did you end up fixing your trunk leaks, or did you?

Ross.

26th Apr 2003, 13:35

A 1600 dollar brake job!!! What country are you from???

Loaded rear calipers with pads 100 each with 50 core value.

Rear rotors 17.99 each.

Front calipers 48.99 each with a 25.00 core value.

Front pads 34.99 for a set.

Front rotors 24.99 or so each.

400 dollars plus tax out of pocket after a core value return of 150 that's 250 or so for a complete brake set.

A good ASE mechanic can do these brakes in less than five hours.

Five hours times a typical labor charge of 50 dollars equals 250.

Even then a complete brake job can and should be done for no more than 600 dollars.

15th Aug 2004, 12:11

This car seems to run great. I bought mine used, around 117,000 miles. It was a, get-back-on-your-feet-after-wrecking-your-dream-car car. It sits 400 miles away from 150,000 miles and the only problems I have are: The notorious water leak in the trunk; lever on the turn signal has to be held down to get it to work; brakes got hard (i found out about the law suit on the rear brakes too, the hard way) and the acceleration seems weak due to worn timing belt or weak coil. I'm not sure of all of it yet. One HUGE problem I found was that the under body has a enormous rust problem. This should be a garage kept car.

Mike Kane

Tulsa, Oklahoma.

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Euro Coupe 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles

Summary:

Dependable, comfortable and safe

Faults:

The only problems I've had with my car is that the battery went dead and I had to give it a brake job.

General Comments:

I think the Lumina is a well built car. It's very dependable. It has a strong running engine, and the ride is smooth and comfortable.

The biggest thing is safety, it has been in two bad accidents, and the car held up a lot better than I thought it would.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

1991 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance155550 miles

Summary:

A very smooth, reliable ride

Faults:

Alternator.

Front rotors.

Brake calipers.

Factory hub caps fall off.

General Comments:

My dad bought my car brand new when I was little. I grew up with it. I got it last fall. We have never owned a car longer than this one. All my friends say it's the smoothest ride they have ever been in.

My only problem now is that they don't make the Lumina. But they at least replaced it with a compatible running mate, the Impala. If I ever get rid of my Lumina I would probably buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

4th Oct 2005, 18:33

I own a 1991 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1L 4D, and one thing that I must say is that for what it is, it is a quick little car (OK so it's not that little). The biggest problem that I have had with it is the TCC solenoid. It is a very common problem that causes your engine to bog down and snub out much like a manual transmition with an inexperienced driver. What happens is the Solenoid sticks open and thus leaves the clutch locked. This will only happen once the transmition gets hot, and the solenoid needs about one hour to release after it sticks. I just thought I would let all of you lumina owners know about this, as Lumina's are notorious for having this problem.

P.S. This is not an easy repair to do at home, as you have to remove one of the wheels and maybe drop the trans axle.

15th Nov 2005, 11:22

It may be possible to disconnect this solenoid and drive without it, preventing the lockup. Check with your local transmission repair place for some free advice. This worked on an '86 Skylark I had.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 40 reviews