1991 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 Double Overhead Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Double Overhead Cam Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Buy it only if you have money to blow

Faults:

This car has been a mess. I would not let anyone in my family ever buy a 3.4 engine, they are horrible. Just to pay someone to replace the alternator was going to cost me $400 my Grand Prix only cost 50. They made things way to hard to get to. Also, the engine is not blown and trying to find another engine for it is almost impossible, (new one cost ($3000). I have looked all over the place for a rebuild kit, there is not one out there. I believe that the 3.4 engines are junk and so does everyone else, I wonder why they never had a recall on this since almost all of them have had problems.

General Comments:

The only good thing that I can say about this car is that it handles like a dream around curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2003

13th Jun 2003, 23:29

Good news! GM may discontinue the 3.4 engine soon.

1991 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles

Summary:

A car that is worth my money

Faults:

Strut mount went bad.

Brakes fell apart all rusted when I went to change them for the first time.

Door handle busted off.

Engine mount rubber things tore quickly.

Transmission went out in it.

General Comments:

This car is a very comfortable one.

It is a pretty fast car.

Maintenance cost isn't too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Z-34 coupe 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance10600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Junk!!! have owned since new and babied it

Faults:

Front brakes - replaced 10 times, Rotors - 4 times.

Timing belt - 62,000 miles.

Front seats broken - 1st year.

Idle air control motor - 4 times.

Struts - 40,000 miles.

Coolant temp sensor - 2 times.

Front and rear calipers - 3 times.

Bose Silver Series Stereo- works intermittently.

Alternator - 2 times

Engine leaks oil badly.

Drivers side door handles broken 3 times.

General Comments:

The car is very fast and handled well when new, but fell apart after about 20,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

13th Jun 2003, 23:37

Looks like you should ride the bus. if you go through front seats in one year in a Chevrolet, it is likely that the seats in any other car will also go out on you. the seats on a bus are very rigid and won't break off. I have been in accidents where the seats in my Chevrolet didn't even break. you must torture your cars. A Japanese car could not take the abuse you put into you car, nor a dangerous Ford product. You know some Japanese cars last as long as American cars, it just comes up to how you drive your car.

4th Jan 2007, 22:37

Sounds like you got a lemon! Most of the other reviews have been really good, sorry for your luck! I might even buy one soon.

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Unbelievable performance, costly engine

Faults:

Timing belt snapped at 102,000 miles.

Something went wrong with fuel system, gas mileage cut in 1/2.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride, Unbelievable performance, you can beat almost anyone off the line, gas mileage isn't too great, costly engine, car runs smooth as butter, if you want a fast car this is your car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Lumina Euro Sedan 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81260 miles
Most recent distance150225 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A comfortable ride with uncomfortable maintenance costs

Faults:

1 battery replaced.

1 alternator replaced.

1 serpentine belt replaced.

Front brakes were replaced: rotors, pads, and calipers.

All 6 fuel injectors were replaced on two occasions, first at 100,000 miles, and second at 150,000 miles.

Service engine light comes on, flashes code "32" when checked, indicating the exhaust gas recirculation valve is defective. Valve was replaced, yet the engine light still comes on at random times.

Crankshaft positioning sensor was replaced.

O2 sensor was replaced.

Manifold absolute pressure sensor was replaced.

2 tune-ups done.

Trunk leak fixed.

Rear window resealed due to leak.

Interior upholstery on doors peeled and had to be re-tacked.

Oil pressure system replaced.

1 transmission fluid leak repaired.

Windshield washer pump replaced.

Windshield washer spray nozzles replaced.

General Comments:

My 1991 Chevrolet Lumina has served me pretty well over the six years I've had it.

There have been a few major costly repairs done, and it has been frustrating for me at times since it is my first real car (I shared the 1980 Toyota Corolla).

For a college student to get around town and make the occasional drive home to visit family, the Lumina is an ideal car.

It is a very comfortable ride with which to cruise around in.

I feel that my time as the owner is nearing its end as I am graduating in 5 months and am looking forward to a newer vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 40 reviews