1993 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1993 Chevrolet Lumina Z-34 3.4 twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired167600 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

Sometimes it shuts off if you let it idle for a while or if you're going slow.

General Comments:

Great snap, hammer down and won't shift till 7 g's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

1993 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1L multi-port fuel injection from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L multi-port fuel injection Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75500 miles

Summary:

Reliable, economical and fun

Faults:

Goes through batteries relatively quickly, and without warning (I do live in Arizona, so the hot weather partially accounts for this).

Center-seat drink holder broke last year; dealer wants $48 for a new one.

My mother sheared off the driver's side rear-view mirror three times because she can't see worth a damn.

General Comments:

This car is quick for a six-cylinder, and handles respectably. On the other hand, I notice a big difference after driving even a Firebird 305. Don't expect to blow by Mustangs (at least, not the 302s) in this one.

I think it's pretty sharp-looking, but that comes down to personal opinion.

I get about 23 miles per gallon while driving like a bat out of hell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

9th Feb 2006, 12:17

You are certainly right about the driving crazy part. I had a '93 that got about the same mileage. I now have an '01 Ranger with the the 3.0 and it gets about 12 to 13 when I drive fast. Yet my moms 2004 corolla gets at least 25 when I'm driving. Of course that does include going 125 last night.

15th Dec 2008, 16:12

I bought my 93 Lumina 3.1 v6 multiport in 08/07. It had 140,000 miles on it. It now has 158,000 miles. I had new rear rotors calipers and brakes at the time.

I get 33 miles to gallon on long trips, which I take frequently. It cruises just fine at 75mph.

Now I have to get the signal fixed cause my signal arm doesn't work. The shop I go to says they have to take apart the steering column. This should cost about $200 or so, but that is not bad for a car of that year.

Other than the brakes and signal, I haven't had any problems. I do wish I had power windows, but I really like it.

I'm on disability so can't afford more, but I really like it. My sister sold her 96 to her grandson and he loves it. My daughter has a 2001 as well.

1993 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Euro

Summary:

A car with refined manners, but potent if called upon!

Faults:

1 battery in 4 years.

1 alternator in 4 years.

1 brake job.

General Comments:

I love this car because it is FAST and handles like it's glued to the road!

Very comfortable on trips as well as easy on fuel.

Has been VERY reliable and fun whether cruising the freeway or puttering about town.

Still a head turner even though it is 8 years old. Great body style!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2001

12th Apr 2001, 18:55

Just wondering if your paint is fading because mine is fading really bad on the wing.

23rd Apr 2001, 11:03

I own a 93 Z34 and the paint is still shiny, but I think that before I acquired it a couple of weeks ago it had been repainted. But I also own a Formula Firebird and the paint is gone from the wing. If you have it painted, make sure the money is spent on a good flex agent for the paint and that the highest quality paint is used to ensure bonding and life of the shine.

1993 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.1mpi from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1mpi Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance103458 miles

Faults:

Only a couple things have really gone wrong. The first is my alternator went, but that will pretty much happen with any car.

My aftermarket (Razzi) ground effects also got smashed up, probably because I lowered the car too much and drove in winter, other than that no big problems.

General Comments:

The 3.1 engine is a great engine.

I have added a Tsudo custom exhaust system, custom ram air (although I'm planning on switching it for a cold air kit), 75shot nex nitrous oxide kit, put on 50 series rubber on the stock rims, Optima battery, Razzi ground efx, custom painted headlight covers, 35% tint, shaved the body molding, and dropped the car a good 2 and a half inches (the 50 series tires left a huge wheel well gap).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

8th Nov 2002, 08:58

Are you going to sell your ground effects, because I am in need of the front end. If you could, e-mail me at skeeterman17@hotmail.com. Thanks a lot man.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 43 reviews