1979 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic Wagon 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

They should build them like this again!

Faults:

There were no major problems with this car during the 13 years members of my family drove it. Minor problems were light rust on rear quarter panels and frame, and fading of the interior when the car was older.

General Comments:

I was given this '79 Malibu Wagon by my parents in high school, and drove it until I bought first new car in 1992, a piece of junk Hyundai I regretted trading this Chevy in on soon after. The Malibu wagon was not considered, "cool," or a performance car, but it never failed to get me to school and work and then some without an ounce of trouble or ever stranding me. It would always start easily even in extreme cold when my friends cars would not, therefore I was always the one who drove. It was built sturdy, was comfortable and had a great ride, and gave me a secure feeling, things most of the new cars I have owned since it have not given me. It was also very simple and easy for an owner to maintain themself, with inexpensive regular maintenance parts I could get at any auto store. It was just the right size too, not a big tank yet not compact, it was easy to park and maneuver. The back of the wagon with seat down could gobble up a lot of party gear. As I recall it was never a gas hog either. I just wish America would build something with all the great attributes of this car again! I recently bought a nicely preserved one of these classic wagons to bring back fond memories of what a non-disposable car is, and will use it as a summer cruiser hopefully to the day I die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2006

30th Mar 2007, 01:29

How do I get in touch with this person and what city, and state do they live in how much is the car?

1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 305 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The seats are a bit worn.

The rear window has a slight leak.

The carpet needs replacing as a result of the leak.

Other than that everything is in excellent condition.

General Comments:

I replaced the original engine for a bigger more peppy one.

The car is still excellent on gas.

It handles like a new car.

People stop and stare when they hear me coming because the engine is a little louder (by choice of course). The rims I recently put on the car gives it that sparkle it needed to make it stand out just a little more. I get offers almost everyday to buy my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2005

1st Feb 2010, 22:37

I love the 78-81 Malibus. They are the greatest. Build them, race them, cruise them.

1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

This car would have been a bargain at three times what I paid for it

Faults:

Needs all new upholstery (best estimate so far $1200).

Rear wheel cylinders failed at 80000 miles.

Air conditioner not functional.

Right rear tail light gasket needs to be replaced; fixture currently used as a rain gauge.

General Comments:

This car makes young and old alike stop and look.

Gas mileage is better than expected.

Body roll (under-steer) is bad, will need aftermarket anti-sway bars to correct.

Completely dependable. Never fails to start. I Would drive this car anywhere.

Rear window fogs up in cold or humid weather; takes a while to clear up.

Interior and trunk space is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 267 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 267 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

One of the most under rated cars of all time

Faults:

Replaced all the heater hoses which was expected for a car this year.

Replace broken door hinge from people leaning on the door.

Replaced worn out door latch striker a result of the broken door hinge.

Engine is starting to burn oil.

Factory clock is not working probably a bad ground if you hit a bump it works momentarily.

General Comments:

I love these cars, they are one of the few cars from the late seventies that are desirable. It has very aggressive lines if the stance is set correctly.

I am always complimented on the car now that I fixed the rust and installed new rear springs. The chrome five spoke rims make it look very aggressive.

The interior is a little worn the drivers side bucket seat is cracking. Other than that I have no problems with the car. Although it is a little lacking in the power department with the 267 a four barrel helped it a bit.

The car has never let me down it has always started when I needed it to.

It is soon to have a 350 installed because the 267 is very weak. I really do love these cars. I had been looking for a two door Malibu for over 3 years till I found this one and want more of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

5th May 2006, 18:45

I was reading that you had changed the door latch on your Malibu. I have a problem with mine that I can't get the door open anymore because the latch is either broken or stuck. I have tryed just about everything and was wondering if you have had the same problem and what you did to fix it.

Has anyone else had this problem.

21st Jul 2006, 06:53

I have owned my '79 for almost 18 yrs. It was my first car. I just turned 16 and my dad and I fixed her up. I at first thought it was a granny car. Back in the late 80s, who fixed up a 79?? But after working on her, it was love. Awesome from day one. 18 years and thousands of dollars later, its even more awesome. And you can get just about anything to rebuild it to perform. Suspension, fuel system, brakes, engine, you name it, I replaced it. The perfect foundation for anyone looking for the real muscle set up. And she looks mean with a hood scoop and more aggressive suspension.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews