1979 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 267 V8 4.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 267 V8 4.4L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles

Summary:

A perfect car for a young driver

Faults:

The carburetor was replaced before I had purchased the car, because it had been sitting for a couple of years.

The 267 V8 motor was a bad design and a sour spot in this Malibu.

The engine was burning oil when I bought it and continued to get worse. The rings are probably gone, but it still runs with a little less power.

Constant cleaning and replacement of the spark plugs because of oil deposits.

I always had a problem with the emission controls. I ended up unhooking a lot of it to make it run better.

General Comments:

This car is a nice cruiser, with comfortable seats and plenty of room.

It's not much on performance with the sour 267 motor, but for what it was, it was fast enough.

It's not as big as a Caprice so it's easy to drive and handle. A great size over all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

13th Jul 2004, 23:12

I agree with your review on the 267 size motor. My father recently received a 81 Malibu Classic with the 267 which is a dog, but is enough for what it is. Soon I plan to add a 350 and 4 speed.

29th Jun 2005, 23:21

Hey I have Malibu as well and I am dropping a 305 V8 from a 200 V6, but more to the point you really should replace those piston rings or have the engine rebuilt. One to get more power (ha-ha), two it will save you money in the long run. Of course this is all just my advice if you haven't done it yet.

30th Oct 2010, 23:38

Not all 267's are bad. We did put a four barrel on my wife's - a '79 Wagon, known as old faithful - and after 30 years and 500,000 miles (one rebuild at 340k), she's still purring away, gets 17/25 to boot. It's not a speed demon like the 455 or the 475hp 396, but they only get 6/10! The rear bumper did need shored up along the way, nothing a torch can't fix. Otherwise, everything is original and still works!

1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 5.0 305 4bl. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 4bl. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance420600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevelle

Summary:

One of GM's great classics

Faults:

Typical problems, trans went twice, various seals, brakes done at least a few times, gaskets, etc. After 21 years, & over 417,000 miles of service, these things are to be expected.

General Comments:

Very reliable machine. Well built, & feels like a small palace inside when driving it. The trunk space, & interior room in these are unbelievable.

For the year it was built, the acceleration is unbelievable. Offering a small block Chevy in a car this size was a stroke of genius.

GM needs to make cars like these again. I think they sold over 400000 of these (the entire Malibu line) in 1979 alone. There was a reason for this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

20th Oct 2004, 22:33

I have a 1979 Chevrolet Malibu Classic. It has 45.221 miles on it and to this date or October 20, 2004 still run like new and also looks and drives like it came off the show room floor. The car is Dark Red with Red Interior. I love my Malibu.

Thanks. Roger

workhardroger1963@yahoo.com.

5th May 2006, 18:38

I have a '79 malibu coupe w;267,auto, a/c.this is the best overall car that I have owned and I have owned everything from a merecedes to a rambler. You can easily liven up the 267 by changing the heads to I believe are 362# heads (58'cc) and use a shim gasket and remove all the pollution control equipment. I have also found that most have a vacuum leak from a/c switch to the sun dial which control the a/c vents inside of car, this alone will make a big difference in performance. But other than what I said keep it all stock and it might be worth something.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews