1999 Chevrolet Malibu 2.4 Litre Twin Cam from North America


Don't buy it, it will bring you trouble


EBCM (Electronic Brake Control Module) failed a few months after buying the car due to road salt intrusion, replaced with used unit ($250 cdn).

Fuel tank had to be replaced at about 100000 km due to rust perforation on top ($350 cdn).

Both front hub and bearing assemblies replaced with good aftermarket SKF brand units, $165 cdn each.

Had to drill drain holes in taillight assemblies to allow water to drain out.

Replaced right front strut bearing.

Replaced rotors/drums/shoes/pads.

Car is now on third blower control resistor pack, $60 cdn each time.

General Comments:

Comfortable car, has had it's share of problems, will definitely be the last GM product I ever buy. After suffering with a 1992 Lumina and then spending a fair bit of money on this one, my wife and I will be buying a Mazda 3 as soon as we can manage. No wonder GM is in trouble and Delphi is bankrupt, with the poor quality cars and components they keep producing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

20th Oct 2005, 19:43

If you've already replaced 3 resistor blocks, the cause for that is your blower motor is drawing too many amps. Replace it.

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America


Don't BUY


This car had so many problems and it is not a reliable car at all.

A/C doesn't work on 1 and 2 setting.

Brakes replaced very often.

Fuel pump replaced.

Fuel injectors replaced very often.

Front driver's side strut spring broke.

Crankshaft cracked (reason for getting ride of the car)

Driver's side window panel replaced.

General Comments:

Only get if you like fixing a car over and over again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 6 cylinder from North America


The 1999 Chevy Malibu LS is a Hunk of Junk


Intake Manifold, serpentine belt replaced at 65000 miles.

2nd serpentine belt, water pump, new wires and plugs (foreign cars need them at 120000 miles!!) replaced at 83000.

General Comments:

The only thing I expected to put into this car at 83000 miles was new tires and brakes since I only drive on the highway.

But I've put in a intake manifold (this should be a recall, but GM knows they blew it) and now a water pump, all new wires, plugs, and coils for a total of $1800.

And to add insult to injury, the dealer charged me $80 to replace a light bulb and socket!!!

The only thing I like about this car is the split rear seats. Other than that I always felt it was a hunk of junk and not worth the $19000 I paid for it.

Should have kept my 92 corsica. Had NO PROBLEMS with it.

Won't buy another chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1L from North America




What hasn't gone wrong with the car?

First thing, about two years after purchasing the vehicle; the electrical stopped working- couldn't roll the windows down, no radio, no air- nothing. Took it to the shop and the ignition switch had to be replaced. Cost $650.00.

Went to the beach and my car broke down. Took it to a nearby shop; had to have the alternator and the battery replaced. $450.00.

New problems!! Car is currently in the shop- Vehicle began overheating and when I tried to drive it, it would stall. Took it to one shop- I was told that the whole engine would have to be replaced and that it would cost a little under $3,000.00. I wasn't too happy with that; so I sat on it for two months. Last week I had it towed to a mechanic that I was referred to. He looked it over and said that the Intake Manifold Gasket had to be replaced. Fine, $629.88 later I picked the car up and drove it to work. It drove weird the whole way to work- called the mechanic and told him that it was still overheating and making a squealing noise. The mechanic sent a tow truck to my job to pick the car up. After the car got back to the shop- I got a call that it was the water pump that was out and needed to be replaced to prevent overheating. $113.00 Then, I got a call saying that after replacing the water pump- water is still spewing everywhere. Got a call about 10 minutes ago saying that the WHOLE radiator is going to have to be replaced. Wow, fun. Estimated cost to repair the radiator $450.00.

General Comments:

$2292.88 later and I still have a broken down Chevrolet Malibu LS, 6 cylinder, 3.1L engine. Oh what fun and I still owe a little over $5,000.00 for the stupid car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

11th Aug 2005, 08:00

Throughout the years, I have had to eliminate the thermostats on virtually all my cars, except my current 1997 Seville. Doing this seems to help with the overheating problems. Suggest it to your next mechanic. I hope your mechanical/financial woes disappear soon.

29th Aug 2005, 20:52

Well, I would have to say after I spent a bunch of money already and things were still going wrong I would get rid of it, and sell it. Well obviously you must be so attached to the car you want to keep fixing it and fixing it wasting your money. Some of the things sound a little fishy though that you might have been ripped off on. I suggest a new mechanic and selling the car. You can wait till 2007 and get a nice one. 2007 CAMARO!!! GM POWER BABY!!! Someones got to show those then and now Mustangs up. Hope they stick to the 6.0 L v8 in that bad boy too!

25th Jan 2006, 14:54

You need to find another mechanic, the one you have is ripping you off. There are very few cases where the battery and alternator need to both be replaced, one of the two probably ended up in someone else's car. The 1998 Malibu has a defective battery cable assembly which makes it look like the battery/altinator is bad. He probably replaced the alternator, then the battery, and discovered the bad cable after that so just sent you the bill for all 3.

The water pump may have burned up because he forgot to put fluid in it to prime it, a common mistake when replacing the manifold/head gaskets.

I find the seat belt plastic pieces that break off and the plastic trim plugs on the door that fall off to be very annoying on mine.

My 2 biggest complaints on mine are the AC unit shuts off when it feels like it, and the ABS light comes on when the brake pads are near to time to replace them.