1999 Chevrolet Malibu 2.4L 4 Cylinder from North America


Overall it's a decent car


Replaced the brakes around 50,000 miles.

Fuel pump died around 85,000 miles.

Fan doesn't work on settings 1 and 2.

Leaks coolant.

General Comments:

The only major problem I've had is when the fuel pump went and left me stranded for a couple days. The other problems have been fairly minor and only slightly annoying.

The car gets decent gas mileage (close to 30 mpg highway) and handles well. Pickup is acceptable for a 4 cylinder.

I make a lot of long trips in this car (6 hours or so) and it's quite comfortable. Based on some other Malibu horror stories I've heard, it seems I've been lucky with a fairly reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2005

18th Jul 2005, 00:57

Go to www.chevytalk.com

Great forums there, and there are people who can help you with your problems. They are Chevy enthusiasts, and some work at dealers and shops. You will love it.

They can even tell you how to fix the problem with your fan speeds.

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America


This car seems to have chronic problems and is badly engineered


Replaced brakes and rotors early on because of bad vibration.

Fuel pump replaced because gage was unreliable.

Passenger leather seat is worn and stained and hardly ever gets used.

A/C is intermittent.

Tie rod replaced.

Various seals replaced because of leaks.

Water pump replaced.

General Comments:

This car has left my wife stranded four times in the last two years. Now the theft light is coming on and the car won't start for 10 minutes. We are going to get rid of it as soon as possible (after we get the A/C switch repaired.) Every repair we've had done has been very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

21st May 2006, 17:54

I have the same problem. If the car does not start on the first try, the theft-light blinks on-and-off, and the car will not start for 10-to-30-to-60 minutes. I had diagnostics done and there are no codes. Does anyone have any advice for me before I end up spending lots of-cash for someone to NOT! find the problem.

10th Jul 2006, 13:49

My daughter's Malibu LS has the same problem with the theft light/car not starting. Had something to do with the custom car stereo she had put in. Is your stereo original?

1999 Chevrolet Malibu 3.0L inline from North America


One of the best cars I've driven, outside of those of the '70s


One the first day I purchased the car, the tail lights went out, due to a short. They were still under warranty and the car dealer repaired them without question.

Like many other reviews listed, my AC switch is faulty, it turns off and on at will. Inconvenient, yes. A reason for recall? I don't think so.

While sitting in bumper-to-bumper traffic, the engine temp gage will slowly move up, past the middle mark a bit, but once I start driving again, in the normal flow of traffic, it returns to it's usual spot just below the middle mark. Not sure what that is, could be just a theromstat, but, I'm too lazy to have it checked out, because it's very rare I drive in bumper-to-bumper traffic.

General Comments:

Overall, I am QUITE please with my '99 Malibu. I must have obtained one of the good ones, because I've really only had to have the usual "over-the-years" maintenance done to it. It rides beautifully, is very comfortable, accelerates rapidly, esp on the highway and has very little road noise inside. The only reason I would trade this car anytime soon, is to upgrade to the Impala, one that has a V8 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2005

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 6 Cylinder from North America


Never again will I make this same mistake!


The alternator on this Chevy Malibu was replaced 3 times. The brakes were replaced countless times and the head gaskets were replaced 3-4 times. Now the engine is shot b/c it had overheated too many times.

General Comments:

Buyer Beware! This car is a money pit. After the first 50,000 just open up your wallet. I now realize what Chevy meant by no tune ups until 100,000 miles. By then the car is falling apart and you don't want it anymore! I have put so much money into this car and now all I have is an empty wallet and no vehicle. For the same amount of money, I could have purchased a very nice used foriegn SUV, fully loaded! You cannot count on the Chevy Malibu when you really need it. My 1 year old daughter and I got stranded on the side of the highway. It was terrifying! If you have kids, don't buy this car! I love the USA, but the cars stink.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2005

28th Apr 2005, 11:21

I could not agree more. I have a 2005 Malibu that has been nothing, but problems! I am 51 years old and it is the worst vehicle I have ever owned. It has been in the shop four times with steering, suspension and check engine light problems that the dealership cannot seem to fix and Chevrolet refuses to do anything about. Just the repair documentation would take several pages to fill. The really sad thing is the car has less than 3000 miles on it and I am stuck with it. I would not recommend this car to anyone and am very disappointed with the pathetic customer service of Chevrolet.